Discs the LG BH200 has problems with - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1091 Old 03-27-2008, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

I personally am running the March firmware on a US player.

Thanks. I need to know particularly what Firmware it is so I can put it in the right category on page 1. Also because it maybe fixed in newer firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

The French version is a great package; opinions vary about whether it or the German version has better picture quality.

The forced subs on the Frenchie put me off.

I suspect there is little in it Picture wise between the French and German transfers, both have Studio Canal at the start. I suspect the German studio just tweaked the Studio Canal transfer. I do think it's an overall better package though, with lots of extras and I prefer the Extended Cut anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

I expect there'll be a new Blu-Ray "ultimate" version at some point in the future, with a new encode (hopefully a new transfer) and lossless audio.

Agreed. It may not be remastered if it's a European release but it will definitely be Remastered if it's an American release. The USA BD has as faulty DTS soundtrack and is only a BD25. I read the PQ is pretty good though and for those who like the Theatrical Cut (and don't want French subs) it's probably an okay release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Hope this'll be fixed in the real May firmware.

Fingers crossed. It isn't long now until May. Hopefully it won't be late. It has been great we've got a pre-release early though.
bradavon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1091 Old 03-27-2008, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Can we add this to the list and hope LG is still reading?

Done!

Please see the list. The list of serious titles has suddenly got much higher . Can I suggest someone fires off a support e-mail to LG.

It's not just one Studio Canal HD-DVD but all of them, and as they've been port all over Europe/Australia many other discs too. I only currently own The Graduate on Studio Canal HD-DVD (although it's the UK disc) but there are others I want. Mulholland Drive for example.
bradavon is offline  
post #93 of 1091 Old 03-28-2008, 03:07 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Done!

Please see the list. The list of serious titles has suddenly got much higher . Can I suggest someone fires off a support e-mail to LG.

It's not just one Studio Canal HD-DVD but all of them, and as they've been port all over Europe/Australia many other discs too. I only currently own The Graduate on Studio Canal HD-DVD (although it's the UK disc) but there are others I want. Mulholland Drive for example.

I think LG, at the very least, owes you a player at this point Brad. Thanks for the great organization and commitment on putting this information together.
5harkology is offline  
post #94 of 1091 Old 03-28-2008, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He he I agree . No worries and cheers for the thanks. I hope to have imported an American Player by May. I'm currently unemployed , long story.

I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist when I want something and have to know everything about it. As I know it I may as well pass it on and logging it like this also reminds me too anyway.

Now I think about it, has anyone told LG about this thread?

I presume Samsung Master knows but he doesn't work in Support (at least not 1st line anyway) and it would be good if members who can tell LG point them to this thread. I'm not North American based so cannot really do it myself.
bradavon is offline  
post #95 of 1091 Old 03-29-2008, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tristan & Isolde HDDVD (Dutch) - menu pops up fine, but unable to select anything which means the Dutch subs are stuck on
5harkology is offline  
post #96 of 1091 Old 03-29-2008, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't you turn them off with the remote?

Thanks btw.
bradavon is offline  
post #97 of 1091 Old 03-29-2008, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Can't you turn them off with the remote?

Thanks btw.

Not sure, I will try that and report back. Unfortunately I found 2 more


Babysitters HDDVD - Playback gets stuck in opening loop and unable to bring up menu. Pressing skip just starts the loop over again.

Transformers HDDVD Disc 2 - Does not play, same problem with my 360 Add-on.
5harkology is offline  
post #98 of 1091 Old 03-29-2008, 11:08 AM
Member
 
zombi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with Clerks II. The disc loads and the menu graphics appear, but no menu. So far I haven't figured out how to play the movie. I hit Enter a few times and tried to stop and restart the disc, but no luck. I think there may be some compatibility issues with this player and some Weinstein HD DVDs. When I tried Wolf Creek, the same thing happened - no menu, but if you hit Enter the movie starts and then you can then access the menu with no problems.

Go ahead, take a Chill Pill.
zombi3 is offline  
post #99 of 1091 Old 03-29-2008, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Tristan & Isolde HDDVD (Dutch) - menu pops up fine, but unable to select anything which means the Dutch subs are stuck on

What if you press the "Subtitle" button on the remote?

Edit: Whoops, Brad got there first (shoulda known).
peterjcat is offline  
post #100 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombi3 View Post

I am having a problem with Clerks II.

Thanks. I'll also add that too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Tristan & Isolde HDDVD (Dutch) - menu pops up fine, but unable to select anything which means the Dutch subs are stuck on

I misunderstood what you meant, without the menus you cannot access the extras. Can you access them any other way?

I was about to ask if they worked on your American Player? The same company (Dutch Filmworks) released 1492: Conquest Of Paradise but the extras on it are in SD PAL, not the usual NTSC.

I'll add that to the list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Not sure, I will try that and report back.

Thanks. I imagine you can. I understand they're not Forced subs.
bradavon is offline  
post #101 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 03:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if these problems are related to the Pre-release March firmware most are now running. Do LG know about all the issues raised here? So they can fix them for the next Firmware.

Can you guys please re-test your problem titles when new firmware is released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Babysitters HDDVD - Playback gets stuck in opening loop and unable to bring up menu. Pressing skip just starts the loop over again.

Transformers HDDVD Disc 2 - Does not play, same problem with my 360 Add-on.

Is Babysitters a USA HD-DVD of the 2007 film? I cannot find info about it anywhere. I'll add Transformers.
bradavon is offline  
post #102 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 06:51 AM
Member
 
zombi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another Weinstein HD DVD with menu issues to report here. I just tried playing Feast and instead of the menu appearing after the disc loads, the screen just goes green. The movie will play if you hit the Enter button on the remote, and then the pop-up menus can be accessed with no problem.

Go ahead, take a Chill Pill.
zombi3 is offline  
post #103 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the pop-up menus let you access the extras? Thanks.
bradavon is offline  
post #104 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 07:19 AM
Member
 
zombi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Do the pop-up menus let you access the extras? Thanks.

Yes, only the main menu seems to be a problem after the disc loads. Once you start the movie, you can access all menu options and bonus features with the Title/Popup and Disc Menu buttons.

Go ahead, take a Chill Pill.
zombi3 is offline  
post #105 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least that's something. So it's only Clerks 2 you cannot get working overall then?
bradavon is offline  
post #106 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 08:58 AM
Member
 
zombi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

At least that's something. So it's only Clerks 2 you cannot get working overall then?

Correct, but I have experienced some video dropouts when playing HD DVDs. I don't know if updating the driver will help, but I am currently running the March firmware and have had four video dropouts occur so far - 3 with HD DVD and 1 with BD.

Go ahead, take a Chill Pill.
zombi3 is offline  
post #107 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

I wonder if these problems are related to the Pre-release March firmware most are now running. Do LG know about all the issues raised here? So they can fix them for the next Firmware.

Can you guys please re-test your problem titles when new firmware is released.


Is Babysitters a USA HD-DVD of the 2007 film? I cannot find info about it anywhere. I'll add Transformers.

Yes, Babysitters is an adult film released in the US on HDDVD.

I have also been able to get rid of the sub-titles on Tristan & Isolde with your obvious suggustion of using the subtitle button the remote. I'm still unable to access any of the menus though.
5harkology is offline  
post #108 of 1091 Old 03-30-2008, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

Yes, Babysitters is an adult film released in the US on HDDVD.

Thanks. Ironically there is another film called The Babysitters released in 2007:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0796302/

I thought you might mean that one but that's not on HD-DVD. I've found the one you're referring to, there are some yummy looking women in that title. I'll add it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

I have also been able to get rid of the sub-titles on Tristan & Isolde with your obvious suggustion of using the subtitle button the remote. I'm still unable to access any of the menus though.

At least there is a work around. Does the LG BH200 have an option to access content by Title? Meaning you could get the extras to load that way.
bradavon is offline  
post #109 of 1091 Old 03-31-2008, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jm9843's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my BH200 today and, to my surprise, I have no problems with the menu on Clerks II [HD DVD] or playing the movie.

It's a December '07 build, beta March firmware, with the 701 driver.

I haven't used the player enough to comment on much else, but I'll likely be watching my first movie tonight (Enchanted BD).
jm9843 is offline  
post #110 of 1091 Old 03-31-2008, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JM9843. I think I'll remove Clerks 2 (but not the other Weinstein discs) until someone else reports a problem with it.
bradavon is offline  
post #111 of 1091 Old 03-31-2008, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 more to regretfully report.....

Interactive Sex with Bree Olsen, HD DVD - The multiple viewing angles flash/flicker (like across the universe/NCFOM).

The Triplets of Belleville, HD DVD - Green line issue on the right hand side of the screen.

I'm starting to realize this player has issues with PiP processing (the flicker issue).
5harkology is offline  
post #112 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 03:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5harkology View Post

I'm starting to realize this player has issues with PiP processing (the flicker issue).

I assumed the flicker was just the preview of the movie as you navigated menus, does it also happen when you're watching a PIP Commentary?

That I would consider more serious.
bradavon is offline  
post #113 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

I assumed the flicker was just the preview of the movie as you navigated menus, does it also happen when you're watching a PIP Commentary?

That I would consider more serious.

The flicker occurs when you select the option to view the scene from different angles. As you toggle the different angles, multiple PiP screens come up and those are flickering. I can post a video, do you think it would be against forum rules?
5harkology is offline  
post #114 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's probably not wise to post a video, just in case.

I meant though, generally speaking, I assumed the flicker was just the preview of the movie as you navigated menus and not a PIP commentary, does it prevent PIP commentaries from working too?

I've added both titles to the list btw.
bradavon is offline  
post #115 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

It's probably not wise to post a video, just in case.

I meant though, generally speaking, I assumed the flicker was just the preview of the movie as you navigated menus and not a PIP commentary, does it prevent PIP commentaries from working too?

I've added both titles to the list btw.

I haven't tried any commentary but it's the same concept as PiP commentaries on "regular" flicks.
5harkology is offline  
post #116 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We haven't noticed any problems with PiP stuff. Most recent was Pan's Labyrinth (HD DVD of course). Excellent movie BTW!

Only glitchy PiP was with Sunshine pre-March firmware (haven't re-tested as we had rented it). It was a little difficult to get the PiP audio silenced, but we eventually found a combination that kept it quiet without stuttering (Primary pass-thru, DD5.1). Presumably Profile 1.1 support is improved in the March firmware.
oilblue is offline  
post #117 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

I read Sunshine USA BD now works fine.
bradavon is offline  
post #118 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Transformers Disc 2 started up fine in our BH200. Properly recognized as an HD DVD, menu works, and I had no problem playing a special feature. Not sure if there was a specific action that failed, so I couldn't test that. Anyway, seems to work fine.

BH200 - March Firmware - Driver version 0702

Perhaps 5harkology has a bad disc...?

edit: we don't have any of the other "problem" discs mentioned to this point, so I can't test other titles. We might do a factory reset, in which case I'll test again against that firmware (and hopefully 0701...).
oilblue is offline  
post #119 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 01:21 PM
Member
 
suntanjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey - The Tax State
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had a problem trying to Play Hitman BD? I tried this disc on 2 BH200's and the player reads it as "data" then goes to the setup menu. Both players have the March firmware. 1 player has driver 702 the other has 699.
suntanjam is offline  
post #120 of 1091 Old 04-01-2008, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
5harkology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilblue View Post

Transformers Disc 2 started up fine in our BH200. Properly recognized as an HD DVD, menu works, and I had no problem playing a special feature. Not sure if there was a specific action that failed, so I couldn't test that. Anyway, seems to work fine.

BH200 - March Firmware - Driver version 0702

Perhaps 5harkology has a bad disc...?

edit: we don't have any of the other "problem" discs mentioned to this point, so I can't test other titles. We might do a factory reset, in which case I'll test again against that firmware (and hopefully 0701...).

That could be. I do know that there is a history of problems with the 2nd Transformers discs. I wonder why there is so many mixed results between our players.
5harkology is offline  
Closed Thread Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off