LG BH200: Mini-FAQ + Firmware Info (TrueHD 7.1, DTS-HD, 24p) + SD DVD Multiregion! - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 2819 Old 04-13-2008, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
nikonjava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Second Life
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by namechamps View Post

Thanks and just to confirm before update the matrix it should be:
DD+: Complete (Decode to Analog, Decode to PCM, Bitstream)
TrueHD: Complete (Decode to Analog, Decode to PCM, Bitstream)
DTS-HD:HR: Bitstream Only
DTS-HD:MA: Bitstream Only
Analog: 2.0 only
PCM over HDMI 7.1
Profile: 1.1

namechamps, thanks for your effort in putting all the info together in one table. Just wondering if you are planning to update the table soon for BH200?

Cheers

No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and some may have enjoyed the experience.
nikonjava is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 2819 Old 04-13-2008, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Caanda45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A friend purchased a new BH-200 he successful updated to the March 14/08 firmware and updated to driver 702. His machine is now hung up and will go to the end of the status bar and stops. A disc is inside. He has re-booted to no avail and also unplugged from the power bar. I do not see this as a firmware issue as they were successful and played a number of times.
Any suggestions? Thanks

Western Canada
Caanda45 is offline  
post #423 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caanda45 View Post

A friend purchased a new BH-200 he successful updated to the March 14/08 firmware and updated to driver 702. His machine is now hung up and will go to the end of the status bar and stops. A disc is inside. He has re-booted to no avail and also unplugged from the power bar. I do not see this as a firmware issue as they were successful and played a number of times.
Any suggestions? Thanks

I have seen this a number of times, the software is corrupted and you will need to the BH200 repaired.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #424 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 06:20 AM
Member
 
Caanda45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

I have seen this a number of times, the software is corrupted and you will need to the BH200 repaired.

Thanks for the info, what causes this? He is in his window to re-place (30 days from purchase), he has the March 14/08 software but from LG Canada before it was pulled. Will this have any bearing if this happens again after his return window is finished?

Western Canada
Caanda45 is offline  
post #425 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caanda45 View Post

Thanks for the info, what causes this? He is in his window to re-place (30 days from purchase), he has the March 14/08 software but from LG Canada before it was pulled. Will this have any bearing if this happens again after his return window is finished?

The software update did not cause this.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #426 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

The software update did not cause this.

Dare we hope that the real May firmware update will fix it, or do you have any tips on how to avoid this issue? I bought my unit from 10,000 miles away so it's a bit of a hassle to drop it in to be fixed
peterjcat is offline  
post #427 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Me too, or at least I will have when I buy one. BD and it's bloody region coding
bradavon is offline  
post #428 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Dare we hope that the real May firmware update will fix it, or do you have any tips on how to avoid this issue? I bought my unit from 10,000 miles away so it's a bit of a hassle to drop it in to be fixed


A firmware update will not fix this, the unit will have to be repaired.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #429 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

A firmware update will not fix this, the unit will have to be repaired.

I mean can the next firmware prevent it from happening -- or is there something more deeply wrong with some of the units, a ticking time bomb that can't be defused by firmware before it goes off?
peterjcat is offline  
post #430 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would guess Samsung Master meant: HD Players are like computers so can break in the same way but unlike computers sadly they're harder to fix by us "joe public" type folk.

Thankfully it's rare for Players to brick but like anything it's possible. There's nothing wrong as such with any of the LG BH200's released (that I'm aware of), it's just nothing is 100% safe from breaking.

To clarify "Firmware". It's the core software of the player but not even it can fix a completely dead product, even Firmware has it's limitations or prevent a semi-faulty product from going wrong. That's not what it's designed to do. I wouldn't worry too much, it's rare for electrical hardware to go wrong, but there isn't anything even the LG engineers can do to make sure everyone sold is 100% clear of defects.

Coming back to my original "computer" point, even a 100% fine product can still brick, in theory. If there was a serious design flaw with the LG BH200 it would've been recalled by now and we'd certainly know about it by now.

You also don't want to go installing firmware on a product you think maybe flaky, you'll likely just make it worse.
bradavon is offline  
post #431 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fair enough, but Samsungmaster does seem to say that the BH200 is vulnerable to breaking in a particular way, ie the software becoming corrupted and needing to be reinstalled/replaced (and not by the user).

Now I would imagine that the software could become corrupted either due to its own fault (ie it writes over itself) or due to faulty hardware somehow scrambling it. If it's the latter then I agree there's not much that can be done except for crossing our fingers, but if the former then it could be fixed with future firmware.

I don't think we can know whether or not there's an endemic problem with the BH200s or a particular batch since there's presumably quite a small install base and any problem might not have revealed itself often enough to judge what's causing it. But I agree that we shouldn't assume there's a fundamental problem.
peterjcat is offline  
post #432 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Fair enough, but Samsungmaster does seem to say that the BH200 is vulnerable to breaking in a particular way, ie the software becoming corrupted and needing to be reinstalled/replaced (and not by the user).

Really? Maybe I'm wrong. I'll let Samsungmaster answer then.
bradavon is offline  
post #433 of 2819 Old 04-14-2008, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, maybe I'm wrong too. Just that:
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

I have seen this a number of times,

suggests it's not just a one-off, and
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

the software is corrupted and you will need to the BH200 repaired.

suggests that the software is corrupted

I know I'm being paranoid but like I said, there are significant distances involved.
peterjcat is offline  
post #434 of 2819 Old 04-15-2008, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Caanda45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caanda45 View Post

A friend purchased a new BH-200 he successful updated to the March 14/08 firmware and updated to driver 702. His machine is now hung up and will go to the end of the status bar and stops. A disc is inside. He has re-booted to no avail and also unplugged from the power bar. I do not see this as a firmware issue as they were successful and played a number of times.
Any suggestions? Thanks

Update, he went to the store and tried to return it, and they tested it as they should and it worked like a charm. He is back to enjoying his unit!!!! Thanks for all the tips

Western Canada
Caanda45 is offline  
post #435 of 2819 Old 04-15-2008, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Hey, maybe I'm wrong too. Just that:

suggests it's not just a one-off, and

suggests that the software is corrupted

I know I'm being paranoid but like I said, there are significant distances involved.

Keep in mind any piece of electronic equipment has certain "failures" that it will have. One of the most commnon with dvd type players is the laser. Least common would be a power supply.
The BH200 has to POST just like a computer and unlike a computer you cannot reinstall the OS to fix it, at least from the user end. Is this a problem for the BH200, no and of course I have seen it several times since I have personally looked at hundreds of BH200's.
I have seen the same issue with the BH100, and I do not recall if anyone has posted the same problem.
You will see the same thing with DVD recorders, these also have to POST.

Hope this helps.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #436 of 2819 Old 04-15-2008, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Samsungmaster. Don't DVD Players POST too?

For those who don't know what POST is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power-on_self-test

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

I have seen this a number of times

I think Samsungmaster was talking "generally" here, not specifically to the BH200.

I'm also not surprised an "LG Engineer" has seen the problem a number of times. A "number of times" out of thousands of products sold isn't very many. I'd presume.
bradavon is offline  
post #437 of 2819 Old 04-16-2008, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
guste's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I posted in the 'Discs the LG BH200 has problems with' thread last night, about it, but I thought it best to cross-post here as well.

Anyway, Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (not the US 'Sorcerer' version, but the Canadian version). Dolby TrueHD doesn't even work, when an attempt to bitstream it is made. If I set the player to decode, then it works fine. Hopefully it's a player problem that can be fixed.
guste is offline  
post #438 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The LG BH200 has "finally" been listed on LG's UK website:

http://uk.lge.com/products/model/det...er_bh200.jhtml
And the Irish site: http://ie.lge.com/products/model/det...er_bh200.jhtml

Even though it's mainly news for Europeans, it does also mean LG are forging ahead with the BH200 and continuing to support it.

Rather oddly the BH200 firmware has been on the Irish and UK Service sites for weeks, although it does say it's for USA/Canadian models:

http://gb.lgservice.com/ and http://ie.lgservice.com/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've also spotted a new firmware listing entitled "0402F" (presumably 2nd of April), on the Irish and UK sites but NOT USA or Canadian sites.

Go to either:

UK - http://gb.lgservice.com/
Ireland - http://ie.lgservice.com/

Follow the links:

Click: DEVICE DRIVER
Click: DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP
Click: Search

And you will spot a new listing called (this is listed above the regular January and November firmware):

[US, Canada Only] Software Update for BH200

You will see this isn't listed on the USA or Canadian sites: http://us.lgservice.com/ or http://ca.lgservice.com/

When you click any of the links to download the Firmware or PDF files, you get an error "No file exists" but maybe something is afoot. You can also spot this firmware has two PDF files, instead of the usual one:

Update Guide for BH200_Manual.pdf
Update Guide for BH200_Network.pdf


Thinking about it, it could be the 0702 Driver being made available to download, but the 0402F suggests something else. I wonder if, in a few hours the files for these links will also be added!
bradavon is offline  
post #439 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 03:52 AM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats going on

The files popped up on the swiss side too
Are they putting up the long awaited final new firmware??

But it's confusing, also on the swiss side it's marked "US, Canada only". But I think too, the file-name suggests a firmware dated 2nd of april

Only time will tell...........We will see............

Cheers
AlfaGT is offline  
post #440 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the files are there on the Canadian site! Firmware (BH02080402F), along with instructions for performing the update (a PDF for each method: "manually" (USB,CD,DVD) or via the network).

Anyone find a fix list?
oilblue is offline  
post #441 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 05:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Looks like the file is live on US site as well and downloadable. It's ROM file of size about 38MB. I guess it's the latest firmware.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #442 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 05:46 AM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Looks like the file is live on US site as well and downloadable. It's ROM file of size about 38MB. I guess it's the latest firmware.

Looks like its live now on every site (including the europeans).

But what's the point behind the "Canada, US only"

I am asking, because I have an european player and also want the newest firmware running on it Since I updated from january to beta-march I have video-/audio-dropout (once a movie) and can't access the network (web-enabled features on HD-DVDs). So I really want a newer firmware.

Will it blow up my player when I install the Canada/US-Only update

Thanks
AlfaGT is offline  
post #443 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
stpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilblue View Post

Well, the files are there on the Canadian site! Firmware (BH02080402F), along with instructions for performing the update (a PDF for each method: "manually" (USB,CD,DVD) or via the network).

Anyone find a fix list?

It'd be nice if they'd include a little doc with it listing what it addresses... I don't understand why they don't do this.

So either we have to hound them til they tell us what's in it, or test it ourselves and try to figure it out.
stpat is offline  
post #444 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 07:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by stpat View Post

It'd be nice if they'd include a little doc with it listing what it addresses... I don't understand why they don't do this.

Because if there is such doc, it will be in Korean. Can you read Korean?

Quote:


So either we have to hound them til they tell us what's in it, or test it ourselves and try to figure it out.

I bet some brave soul will jump on it real soon. By this evening, you will see a lot of discussion about it.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #445 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
stpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Because if there is such doc, it will be in Korean. Can you read Korean?

Good point.
stpat is offline  
post #446 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 07:44 AM
Member
 
morda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norhern Virginia
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to LG USA website

* Firmware version : BH02080402F

1. Bonus View (BD Profile 1.1) Update
2. High Resolution Audio Support Update
1) DTS-HD 7.1Ch output via pass through
2) Dolby Digital Plus 7.1Ch output via pass through
3) Dolby TrueHD 7.1Ch decode & PCM output via HDMI
3. User selectable Film Mode (1080p 24Hz) has been enabled
4. Firmware update via Network has been enabled
morda is offline  
post #447 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by morda View Post

According to LG USA website

* Firmware version : BH02080402F

1. Bonus View (BD Profile 1.1) Update
2. High Resolution Audio Support Update
1) DTS-HD 7.1Ch output via pass through
2) Dolby Digital Plus 7.1Ch output via pass through
3) Dolby TrueHD 7.1Ch decode & PCM output via HDMI
3. User selectable Film Mode (1080p 24Hz) has been enabled
4. Firmware update via Network has been enabled

The March firmware implemented internal decoding of DD+ as well as bitstreaming, would be strange if this firmware did not mirror those capabilities. I also dont see mention of DTS-HD MA specifically but that is also present in the March firmware. Since this looks like being the official release seems strange they would remove features that were working in a previous version. Translation issues perhaps?
efjay is offline  
post #448 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DD+ decoding worked from initial release (i.e. it's not a new firmware feature). Hence, decoding of DD+ is not mentioned as a fix/enhancement in this latest firmware.
oilblue is offline  
post #449 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Caanda45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody post if DTS HD MA is part of this sanctioned version. My senses tell me it is the same version as the pulled March one. Any thoughts on this? oilblue are u going to implement it?

Western Canada
Caanda45 is offline  
post #450 of 2819 Old 04-17-2008, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed that this has all the appearance of March re-released. Cool.

Will I install it? Oh yeah. Maybe later today.
oilblue is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off