LG BH200: Mini-FAQ + Firmware Info (TrueHD 7.1, DTS-HD, 24p) + SD DVD Multiregion! - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 2819 Old 07-29-2012, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BH200 is happily playing a Fox disc that my Samsung can't. I'm pretty happy with it.
GizmoDVD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 2819 Old 08-01-2012, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No Audio via HDMI. It seems that ever since I played an HD DVD author on a DVD-R, I have lost audio via HDMI on my BH200. I've tried the following with no success.

1. Re-initialize the player
2. Re-set all factory settings
3. Changed HDMI cables
4. changed inputs on the receiver
5. Tried multiple formats discs (Blu-ray, DVD, etc)

I did manage to get it to play audio for a DVD yesterday, but since powering down the unit, I get no sound.

Ideas? Or is it just time for an Oppo?

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2793 of 2819 Old 08-01-2012, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I re-flashed the firmware back to the April 2008 version (I knew I saved those for some reason) and I have my audio back...at least for the moment. Now I wonder how many blu-ray's won't play with the old firmware. rolleyes.gif

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2794 of 2819 Old 10-22-2012, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
FunInABox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a really old thread but just in case someone is still using their BH200....

I've had one hanging around for quite a while but never used it much. Recently I bought a Pioneer VSX-827 and thought I would dust down the BH200 again.

I updated to the very latest 2010 firmware (thanks forum members for keeping this available) expecting to enjoy HD Audio. I connected the BH200 to the VSX-827 via HDMI and set the BH200 HDMI audio to bitstream but..... no joy. DTS is seemingly not being carried over HDMI. I thought I'd connect via optical and see what I get, so I did that and set the optical audio settings to bitstream and.... DTS shows up on the VSX-827 display.

Why am I not getting DTS over HDMI but am getting it over optical? What settings do you guys have on the BH200 for HDMI Audio to enable HD Audio passthrough?

Thanks in advance.
FunInABox is offline  
post #2795 of 2819 Old 11-04-2012, 12:55 PM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunInABox View Post

This is a really old thread but just in case someone is still using their BH200....

I've had one hanging around for quite a while but never used it much. Recently I bought a Pioneer VSX-827 and thought I would dust down the BH200 again.

I updated to the very latest 2010 firmware (thanks forum members for keeping this available) expecting to enjoy HD Audio. I connected the BH200 to the VSX-827 via HDMI and set the BH200 HDMI audio to bitstream but..... no joy. DTS is seemingly not being carried over HDMI. I thought I'd connect via optical and see what I get, so I did that and set the optical audio settings to bitstream and.... DTS shows up on the VSX-827 display.

Why am I not getting DTS over HDMI but am getting it over optical? What settings do you guys have on the BH200 for HDMI Audio to enable HD Audio passthrough?

Thanks in advance.

I have my HDMI set to primary pass-thru and get DTS-HD on my Onkyo
dustinw82 is offline  
post #2796 of 2819 Old 11-19-2012, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
nathanddrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinw82 View Post

I have my HDMI set to primary pass-thru and get DTS-HD on my Onkyo

Same here - except to a Yamaha AVR. Still love my BH200, despite the horrendous load and eject times...
nathanddrews is offline  
post #2797 of 2819 Old 11-22-2012, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My BH200 is my only Blu-ray player. My projector takes about 30 seconds to warm up, the BH200 takes about 30 seconds to load...no issues for me. smile.gif Especially when you don't know any different.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2798 of 2819 Old 01-03-2013, 07:05 PM
Member
 
PowerPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up one of these from Craigslist for $60. Applicable firmware updates applied.

Awesome little machine. biggrin.gif
PowerPC is offline  
post #2799 of 2819 Old 01-08-2013, 07:16 AM
Member
 
joeags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPC View Post

Just picked up one of these from Craigslist for $60. Applicable firmware updates applied.
Awesome little machine. biggrin.gif

Goofy me, I'm addicted to this BH200... I just picked up a unit with the "Please Wait" bug that couldn't be fixed just to get the disc drive. So of working units, that makes 4 at my house (even the 23" playroom tv has one), 1 at my parents, 1 at the vacation home, and 3 disc drives imported from China a few years back, one of which is in my desktop computer. I need to stop.

My name is Joe and I have an addiction...
joeags is offline  
post #2800 of 2819 Old 01-08-2013, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Itsdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 1,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, I still use and love mine. There are obviously a ton of other, cheaper machines out there but I don't think there are any better. This thing spits out a picture second to none.

"Life is a toy, play with it"
Itsdon is offline  
post #2801 of 2819 Old 01-08-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeags View Post

Goofy me, I'm addicted to this BH200... I just picked up a unit with the "Please Wait" bug that couldn't be fixed just to get the disc drive. So of working units, that makes 4 at my house (even the 23" playroom tv has one), 1 at my parents, 1 at the vacation home, and 3 disc drives imported from China a few years back, one of which is in my desktop computer. I need to stop.
My name is Joe and I have an addiction...

I hear you and understand. I have the same problem/addiction, only with the Sammy BD-UP5000. I have never had the LG in the HT. If I did I would probably be buying them up as well. I think I have 5 working units and enough spare parts from almost a 6th. My BH200 has been solid, but we don't use it that often. Used to be in our bedroom, now in the great room of our new house. We have probably only watched 3-4 movies at the most on the thing.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #2802 of 2819 Old 01-08-2013, 12:54 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Samdung loyalty can be hard to break. biggrin.gif I got rid of both of mine...and not for a cheap alternative (but for the Oppo...actually cheaper than both of these players at the time of their release).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #2803 of 2819 Old 01-10-2013, 07:46 PM
Member
 
PowerPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeags View Post

...and 3 disc drives imported from China a few years back, one of which is in my desktop computer.

If you don't mind; would you know the model number of the drive for this unit and/or where I could get one?
PowerPC is offline  
post #2804 of 2819 Old 01-10-2013, 11:59 PM
Member
 
joeags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPC View Post

If you don't mind; would you know the model number of the drive for this unit and/or where I could get one?

The model number of the drive is an LG BBR-L20N. I had purchased my lot of drives off of taobao.com a few years back, probably in 2010 or 2011. It's a bit of a pain in that you need to get an agent to do the purchasing for you - the seller ships it to the agent, then the agent ships it to you. That's been the only place other than ebay that I had seen these drives at, but I don't see any available now. You're going to have a seriously hard time on this one...
joeags is offline  
post #2805 of 2819 Old 01-13-2013, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My LG unit isn't playing HD disc's anymore but still plays DVDs. Unit is in great condition and I wouldn't mind fixing it. Anyone know what I might need to repair it?

My Samsung 5000 is still going strong too. These have both been great machines over the years.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #2806 of 2819 Old 01-15-2013, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by cws_kahuna View Post

My LG unit isn't playing HD disc's anymore but still plays DVDs. Unit is in great condition and I wouldn't mind fixing it. Anyone know what I might need to repair it?

My Samsung 5000 is still going strong too. These have both been great machines over the years.

Easiest fix would be to replace the loader/drive. Model number mentioned ^ if you can't pull that off you can try a couple of things to revive it. Use a variety of lens cleaning discs; I.E. Disc Washer dry brush system, BIB or similar tiny brush cleaner or even the Maxell wind tunnel one. If that does not work out you can open up the unit, pop the loader out, open it up and brute force clean the laser lens with a lint free swap and either 100% Iso alcohol or FreonTF. While you have it open grease up the drive rails with some clean white lithium grease on a swab (only a dab will do you). I haven't done this on the LG, but I assume the same principles apply to the LG drive. Others have revived Sammy 5K loaders doing this. Personally I have never been able to recover a loader once it goes bad so I just stick in another from my spare pool (which is pretty much drained at this point).
mr.kludge is offline  
post #2807 of 2819 Old 01-17-2013, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

It died doing a firmware update. HD titles worked perfectly fine until then.

It was so long ago and the unit had been in garage storage I had forgotten about it. I came across it the other day. The unit is in great shape, I'm wondering if it may be worth selling or better to fix.

60% of the time it works every time!
*Sprint HIGH Speed 3G/LTE Nexus*

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #2808 of 2819 Old 01-23-2013, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by cws_kahuna View Post

Thanks for the info.

It died doing a firmware update. HD titles worked perfectly fine until then.

It was so long ago and the unit had been in garage storage I had forgotten about it. I came across it the other day. The unit is in great shape, I'm wondering if it may be worth selling or better to fix.

60% of the time it works every time!
*Sprint HIGH Speed 3G/LTE Nexus*

In that case, did you try re-loading the firmware or taking it back to an older version? You may find that it will revive it that way. Is there a factory reset on the BH200? If so you may try that also. There is also an updated loader firmware that you can/should have applied. I think the info about that is in the top of the thread?
mr.kludge is offline  
post #2809 of 2819 Old 02-14-2013, 03:36 PM
Member
 
kevin_y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the BH200 able to update AACS encryption keys for Blu-rays, if necessary? I've owned it for 4 years and haven't really had a problem playing BDs, nor has it prompted me to update any AACS keys like other players, such as PowerDVD, PS3, etc. I do have playback problems with certain discs, like those mentioned in the thread for problem discs.
kevin_y is offline  
post #2810 of 2819 Old 02-14-2013, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
The bh200 is not capable of doing this. As I understand it with my limited knowledge there is code in the protection scheme to allow legacy devices to be backwards compatible thereby using the old protection. I may be off base there but there is no other way that my legacy players would be able to keep up since it has been many moons since either this one or the Sammy 5k has seen any kind of update.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #2811 of 2819 Old 07-10-2013, 03:30 PM
Member
 
PowerPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know where Julio's region free update can be downloaded from? SkyDrive says it's a dead link and the one on his original site is gone as well.
PowerPC is offline  
post #2812 of 2819 Old 07-27-2013, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
geeji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try this link and follow instructions.
geeji is offline  
post #2813 of 2819 Old 08-04-2013, 01:47 AM
Newbie
 
shldnfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears Fox's new Blu-ray releases are incompatible with the BH200. I've recently bought That Thing You Do, The Fly, and Niagara and none of them will load properly on the player. You get the 20th Century Fox logo and then a smaller Fox Home Entertainment logo but then it goes to a black screen and hangs there. frown.gif

I'm using the lastest firmware available.
shldnfr is offline  
post #2814 of 2819 Old 08-04-2013, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by shldnfr View Post

It appears Fox's new Blu-ray releases are incompatible...I'm using the lastest firmware available.
You might try reverting to the April 2008 firmware (file LG_BH_LV221BH_0402F.zip, which contains LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM) to see if that works. Many of us have never upgraded beyond this.

I don't have any of those Fox releases to test with, sorry.
Laserfan is offline  
post #2815 of 2819 Old 08-04-2013, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
shldnfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it turns out I wasn't running the latest firmware after all. redface.gif

I had the June 2009 fw installed and after updating to the March 2010 version, the Fox movies play just fine. smile.gif
shldnfr is offline  
post #2816 of 2819 Old 08-04-2013, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for reporting-back, and congrats...!
Laserfan is offline  
post #2817 of 2819 Old 08-06-2013, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does anyone remember which firmware was the last one to support BD-R's? I just got a new burner and want to burn some home videos and play them back this way versus the HTPC.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2818 of 2819 Old 08-07-2013, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

Does anyone remember which firmware was the last one to support BD-R's? I just got a new burner and want to burn some home videos and play them back this way versus the HTPC.
The Apr 2008 one I just mentioned, I believe.

Maybe I'm thinking of a different player, but it might be the BH200 that WOULD play BD-Rs w/firmware post 04-2008, but only after converting to AVCHD.
sivartk likes this.
Laserfan is offline  
post #2819 of 2819 Old 08-11-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post

The Apr 2008 one I just mentioned, I believe.

Maybe I'm thinking of a different player, but it might be the BH200 that WOULD play BD-Rs w/firmware post 04-2008, but only after converting to AVCHD.

Thanks, I'll have to check my player. I think I downgraded to April 2008 a while back. The only reason I upgraded was to be able to play my "back to the future" movies. So far no problem on a BD-RE with my current version.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off