LG BH200: Hidden Hacking Options - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 332 Old 05-07-2008, 09:41 PM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The easiest comparison is to jumper switches on computer MOBO - they have ON/OFF switches, so jumper 1 in off, jumper 2 in on, jumper 3 in on and jumper 4 in off would equal binary 0110, which happens to be HEX 6. So we are looking for the right combination of 1 and 0 and so far all variants of bits from 0 to 4 (each byte, that is HEX word such as 8D has 8 bits from 0-7, with 4 binary numbers representing each HEX half-word) in byte 4 of the EEPROM don't give us BD region free

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 332 Old 05-07-2008, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My further reckless testing shows that 90, C0, D0, E0 and F0 all remain Region A, though all preserve PAL playback and network update.

This is interesting because 90 (RA) shares the same first four bits as 96 (RB) which suggests to me that it's not as simple as the BD region info being somewhere in the first four bits only.

So what does 96 = 10010110 = RB have in common with A0 = 10100000 = RB but not with 90 = 10010000 = RA? I've got no idea.
peterjcat is offline  
post #93 of 332 Old 05-07-2008, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do they have in common? I'm glad I asked.

Having a look at the System Log after each of these changes, one thing emerges. So far, only official codes for Byte 4 give you Region B, all others default to Region A. As we know, 96 is the official code for Switzerland, and this is confirmed in the System Log. I don't know if we knew this before, but according to the System Log A0 is the official code for Spain. Both of these give us Region B. Everything else gives an "Unknown", which gives us Region A.

Now, information about the name of the code version obviously isn't contained within the EEPROM settings, yet it turns up in the System Log. So there must be an internal list of official codes in the BH200's firmware, along with the name of that code and maybe also the BD Region Code. Maybe for BD region coding the BH200 doesn't care what the actual bits are, it just tries to look up the code and apply the right region, and if it doesn't find it it defaults to Region A. So it's not the individual bits, it's the whole number.

I'm guessing that if we knew what the official code for Russia was, we'd get Region C. If we knew what the official code for Utopia was, we might get a region-free player

So far all the official BH200 codes we've seen are (in decimal) multiples of 10: 00 = 00 = US, 96 = 150 = Switzerland, A0 = 160 = Spain. But that's a pretty small sample, and AA = 170 = Unknown, and I haven't tried any more.
peterjcat is offline  
post #94 of 332 Old 05-07-2008, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More multiples of 10:

0A = 10 = Yugoslavia (RB)
14 = 20 = North Africa (RB)
1E = 30 = Austria (RB)
32 = 50 = Brazil (RA)
3C = 60 = United Arab Emirates (RB)
46 = 70 = Hong Kong (RA)
82 = 130 = Mexico (RA)
8C = 140 = Czech Republic (RB)

No sign of any Region C, and no "Test Mode" or anything promising like that.
peterjcat is offline  
post #95 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
peterjcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And not just multiples of 10 it turns out...

91=France, 92=Benelux, 93=Turkey, 94=North Africa again, 95=Egypt, 9A=UK, 9B=Italy, 9C=Greece, 9D=Germany, 9E=Austria again, 9F=Portugal.

Discovery! As we suspected, the first bit does seem to control PAL/NTSC, and the last seven make up the official code number. So 11=France NTSC, 91=France PAL, 14=North Africa NTSC, 94=North Africa PAL, 01=Canada NTSC as already reported, 81=Canada PAL, 02=Mexico NTSC, 82=Mexico PAL, and so on.

Further observations:

In the System Log, Byte 4 is called VIDEOTYP_HEX, suggesting what we already knew ie Byte 4 has a lot to do with the video type.

The variables in the "Player Option Information" part of the System Log are:

Model: which comes from the last 7 bits of Byte 4 (eg "SPAIN").
Country: which comes from Bytes 1 and 2 (eg "US", you can make it spell anything).
Option Code: which is just the whole EEPROM string, eg 55 54 00 B0 00 05 00 40.
Initial Language: which is English.
TV System: which comes from the first bit of Byte 4 (NTSC or PAL).
BDRE/BD/BD9/HDDVD/3xDVD: all enabled
Screen Saver: 5
Show Mode: OFF
Admin Mode: OFF
Auto Power Off: ON

Now I wonder whether the 5 in Byte 6 is the same as the 5 in Screen Saver; whether the positive value for Byte 8 correlates with the positive in "Auto Power Off: ON" -- and accordingly whether the Admin Mode, which sounds very interesting, has something to do with Byte 7.

But I'm not currently game to try changing Byte 7.
peterjcat is offline  
post #96 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 12:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
PeterJCat,

Thank you for your valuable testing.
Krobar is offline  
post #97 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 12:43 AM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks AlfaGT. I presume when set to 00 you couldn't play PAL DVDs?

Right, sorry I didn't mention because we are focussing at BD Region

So, it looks like 00 does disable PAL-playback on a Euro player too.

Following the last tests with A0 and B0, it looks like A0 is the better choice for a Euro-player, because it does not change the BD Region from B to A and does finally enable the web-update ? I will give it a try and when it's like this, I will finally change my 96 to A0. Thanks for testing this risky not official codes

Cheers
AlfaGT

P.S. I am also looking forward and think one day we will find a Code for setting the LG region-free for Blu's. This day I will make a BIG party, you are all welcome at my home
AlfaGT is offline  
post #98 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 02:05 AM
Member
 
dring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

I would guess that BDRE stands for recordable Blu-ray discs, ie BD-REs. But maybe that's too prosaic.

You are, no doubt, correct about that (as further suggested by bradavon). Spoil sports!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Is there a way to tell if HDCP is enabled/disabled?

I do happen to have a way. I have all my sources outputting to a DVDO VP50Pro scaler, which then feeds a JVC projector via DVI with HDCP. In the scaler, for each HDMI source I can specify whether or not that source requires HDCP. If I specify that a source does not require HDCP, but it really does, then I get a blank screen (because the source refuses to send on an "unsecured" HDMI link). Thus I can tell which sources are enforcing HDCP and which are not.

When I tried Krobar's sequence to turn HDCP on/off (from the BH100 thread):

PAUSE, 1, 2, 3, 6, 9

I did not get the expected screen message that he mentioned, and the HDCP behaviour of the BH200 did not change. However, it did cause the display on the front of the BH200 to read "NO USB".

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

The same dumb reason North American Players have PAL disabled I'd image: Stupidity!

Actually, it might not be entirely stupid. When PAL is enabled, the machine initially outputs 50 Hz video, until you fire up an NTSC DVD or an HD disk. Many TVs in North America do not support 50Hz video, so anyone owning such a TV would fail to see the initial splash screens or the "Home" menu that appears if no disc is inserted (to allow player set-up, etc.). It's therefore safer and friendlier to start up in 60 Hz mode when used in NTSC-land.
dring is offline  
post #99 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 02:56 AM
Member
 
dring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Discovery! As we suspected, the first bit does seem to control PAL/NTSC, and the last seven make up the official code number. So 11=France NTSC, 91=France PAL, 14=North Africa NTSC, 94=North Africa PAL, 01=Canada NTSC as already reported, 81=Canada PAL, 02=Mexico NTSC, 82=Mexico PAL, and so on.

Yes, I made the same discovery tonight. I'm sorry you beat me to it!

Another, smaller discovery: If you perform a Factory Reset by hitting PAUSE while viewing the System Information screen, the first two bytes of the EEPROM (the country letters) and the high-order (PAL) bit of byte 4 get changed to the default values for the model identified in the low-order bits of byte 4.

For example, I had my EEPROM set to 43 41 00 80..., which is:

Model: SMB_PLAYER_USA
Country: CA
TVSystem: PAL

(I was testing robertpierre's reported initial EEPROM string, which combined the "CA" letters with the USA model code, but I also happened to have PAL turned on.)

When I did a Factory Reset, it changed my EEPROM string to 55 53 00 00..., which is:

Model: SMB_PLAYER_USA
Country: US
TVSystem: NTSC

In other words, it "corrected" the country letters to "US" and disabled PAL, based on the model encoded in byte 4.

I discovered earlier that the factory reset also restores the DVD region, undoing the effect of the RMTM CD, presumably also based on the model encoded in byte 4. (I have only tested that the 01 Canada model code will reset the DVD Region to 1. Perhaps others can test their own countries.)

The DVD Region setting is evidently stored elsewhere, perhaps in an EEPROM built into the optical drive unit, which the program on the RMTM CD is manipulating somehow. Does anyone here know how that program works, or have the source code? Perhaps the BD region is handled similarly (or completely differently, in order to give us new challenges)?

The fact that the DVD and BD region settings are not listed in the "Player Option Information" section of the System Log is further evidence that those quantities are not directly encoded in the EEPROM string, and that achieving complete "BD Region freedom" will require poking elsewhere.
dring is offline  
post #100 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 09:00 AM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with previous post that ADMIN MODE sounds promising and the answer may truly lay in Julio's region hack program - after all the result of applying it is a Test/admin mode screen - maybe that is just a subset of the full Admin mode function?????

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #101 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. Outstanding work peterjcat and dring! Thanks!
oilblue is offline  
post #102 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpierre View Post

The easiest comparison is to jumper switches on computer MOBO

Thanks for explaining Robert. I know all about Motherboard jumpers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

No sign of any Region C, and no "Test Mode" or anything promising like that.

You can see the Region C countries here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray#Region_codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post

Both of these give us Region B. Everything else gives an "Unknown", which gives us Region A.

It seems Region A is default and then it changes to B or C when needed. That would make sense with The Far East being Region A.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

So, it looks like 00 does disable PAL-playback on a Euro player too.

Thanks for confirming it Alfa.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dring View Post

I did not get the expected screen message that he mentioned, and the HDCP behaviour of the BH200 did not change. However, it did cause the display on the front of the BH200 to read "NO USB".

Thanks Dring for the update how you know the HDCP hack doesn't work. That's weird about No USB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpierre View Post

I agree with previous post that ADMIN MODE sounds promising and the answer may truly lay in Julio's region hack program

I asked the LG Engineer what the RMTM CD is and how it works, their response can be read at the bottom of my discussion with them:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=152

If you ask me I don't think the answer lies in the RMTM CD but I could be wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oilblue View Post

Wow. Outstanding work peterjcat and dring! Thanks!

I second that. Excellent work guys.

It seems like we're getting closer and are working out how the EEPROM menu works but alas so far, the best two codes still seem to be:

8D = 1000 1101 = R4/RA/NTSC+PAL/Network Update
96 = 1001 0110 = R2?/RB/NTSC+PAL/No Network Update

Unless anyone thinks another two codes are the best "overall" ones?

Have we found a code that gives us? -

RB/NTSC+PAL/Network Update
bradavon is offline  
post #103 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 10:45 AM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes! A0 - it seems to be the official code for Spain.

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #104 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Robert. I didn't realise A0 enabled the Network Update too. Any idea what the Official Code for the UK (or GB) is?

It seems PAL means PAL + NTSC, but NTSC means NTSC Only.
bradavon is offline  
post #105 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just got my BH200 from Belguim and updated the firmware and loader

EEP Data is:
55 53 00 92 00 05 00 40
Krobar is offline  
post #106 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks Robert. I didn't realise A0 enabled the Network Update too. Any idea what the Official Code for the UK (or GB) is?

It seems PAL means PAL + NTSC, but NTSC means NTSC Only.

He said its 9A
Krobar is offline  
post #107 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:12 AM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would imagine that the string would start with 55 4B (UK) but to find out default country code for byte 4, more testing and checking entries in the player log is necessary.......

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #108 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Krobar.

WTF your Belgian BH200 has a US code (55 53) with it. I wonder if it was originally from America but then altered to Euro use.

Do 92 and 9A enable the Network Update?
bradavon is offline  
post #109 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:15 AM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, yes, PAL/ NTSC switch is the two-way single bit binary switch: binary 0 - default NTSC only, binary 1 - NTSC and PAL

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #110 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonjava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Second Life
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/lg-ht902tb/8451

I tried the 0000 trick, it didn't work on BH200. The RMTM CD thing is probably similar to what Julio came up with.

http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/lg-dv298h/8305

http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/lg-rc199h/7144
From this link :
"Click the home button on the remote, goto the Setup page, highlight the 16X9 aspect ratio and enter in this coded sequence: 1 3 9 7 1 3 9

To change the values of these options hit the enter button and scroll with arrow keys until you get to the option you want to change. For the region code hack replace the value of option 5 with the value of: ff

Changing this value will set unit to region code 0 which should allow any region to be played on the player. Hit the return button to save and exit. Reboot the device - all is well now."


Another drive link :
http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/lg-lda-830/8404

http://www.digitalfaq.com/downloads/dvdhackarchive/

I was looking to see if any of these have any other EEPROM values for PAL hack since 80/82/8D create resolution problems for me. I tried the 2 new values from one of these posts - D7 and D0 - but ended up having same resulution problems.

D7 and D0 were mentioned also for VCDs in one of the posts.

Just fyi.

No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and some may have enjoyed the experience.
nikonjava is offline  
post #111 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonjava View Post

From this link :
"Click the home button on the remote, goto the Setup page, highlight the 16X9 aspect ratio and enter in this coded sequence: 1 3 9 7 1 3 9

On the BH200 this is the Hack to display the Region Code Info.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonjava View Post

To change the values of these options hit the enter button and scroll with arrow keys until you get to the option you want to change. For the region code hack replace the value of option 5 with the value of: ff

I presume you cannot do this on the BH200? In relation to the above hack.
bradavon is offline  
post #112 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 12:36 PM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anybody tried FF as in the post above? Is that info screen even editable?

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #113 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Thanks Krobar.

WTF your Belgian BH200 has a US code (55 53) with it. I wonder if it was originally from America but then altered to Euro use.

Do 92 and 9A enable the Network Update?

It has a 240V PSU so was not destined for USA!
Krobar is offline  
post #114 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:01 PM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Do 92 and 9A enable the Network Update?

Unfortunately not! I tested some other codes on my EU player and I think it's time to present the whole result in a updated overview:

cd./DVD/BR/NTSC/PAL/ NW-update / country
00 / 1 / A / yes / no / yes / US
80 / 1 / A / yes / yes / yes / ?
82 / ? / B / yes / yes / no / ?
92 / 2 / B / yes / yes / no / Belgium
96 / 2 / B / yes / yes / no / Switzerland
A0 / 2 / B / yes / yes / no / ?
9A / 2 / B / yes / yes / no / UK
8D / ? / A / yes / yes / yes / ?

So, my conclusion:
- For US players: 80 or 8D (PAL enabled) would be best (from a technical view)
- For EU players: There is no code available enabling network-update

Is there anyone out there who has other results?? Is there an European-code which enables network-update, do I have missed something??

Can I make a proposal? I think it's perhaps the best, we create a new thread with an overview in the first post (called: "the endless search for region-free BD setting - clearly arranged by Bradavon THE LGMaster" . Sorry, but sometimes I lose overview. Collecting all important information and results in one single post would be very handy.

Cheers
AlfaGT
AlfaGT is offline  
post #115 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:09 PM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AfaGT, are you sure A0 disables network update? BTW, it seems to be Spain- specific code.

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #116 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:17 PM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpierre View Post

AfaGT, are you sure A0 disables network update? BTW, it seems to be Spain- specific code.

yep, unfortunately I am pretty sure. But I think it's best to double-check it with another euro-player - any volunteer .

Sorry for the bad news. But is network-updating so important? I personally can live without it and make my updates with an USB-stick. For me, the more important question is: How to make the LG region-free on Blu's? But you're right network-updating would also be great and would make life more comfortable
AlfaGT is offline  
post #117 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

It has a 240V PSU so was not destined for USA!

I was wondering if a 240v PSU was added after. It seems odd a Euro model would have a US code, not that it ultimately matters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

Is there an European-code which enables network-update, do I have missed something??

It seems not. If I were you I'd leave it on 96 (until we come up with something better). You shouldn't need to check the Network Update "that" often.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

Can I make a proposal? I think it's perhaps the best, we create a new thread with an overview in the first post

I think it's too early to create an official thread, further testing needs performing. I was planning to update the Mini-FAQ when we have codes considered final.

I don't think we need to keep a track of every code variant just the best ones that give:

1. Region A + PAL + Network Update
2. Region B + PAL + Network Update/No Network Update
3. Region Free + PAL + Network Update/No Network Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

So, my conclusion:
- For US players: 80 or 8D (PAL enabled) would be best (from a technical view)
- For EU players: There is no code available enabling network-update

To clarify:

If you want Region A: 80 - PAL and Network Update
If you want Region B: 92 (Belgium) or 96 (Switzerland) - PAL but no Network Update

92 and 96 seem interchangeable. I am specifically picking these values as we know LG themselves have used them, so at least they have the edge over the other Region B values.
bradavon is offline  
post #118 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:20 PM
Member
 
robertpierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot help thinking, that if we could figure out how to set ADMIN MODE to ON, we may be closer to the perplexing BD solution - I personally have lost faith that it is coded in the EEPROM string

BH 200 (55 53 00 80 00 05 00 40) PAL/NTSC w.Network Update and region code hack, F/W December 08, driver 702 connected by SPDIF to Yamaha HTR 6060 and by HDMI to Toshiba Monitor 26HL84
robertpierre is offline  
post #119 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

yep, unfortunately I am pretty sure. But I think it's best to double-check it with another euro-player - any volunteer .

I presume the option disappeared from the menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaGT View Post

Sorry for the bad news. But is network-updating so important? I personally can live without it and make my updates with an USB-stick.

No it's not important in the grander scale of things but if we could find a Region B code that Enables Network Update that would at be a step forward.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpierre View Post

I cannot help thinking, that if we could figure out how to set ADMIN MODE to ON, we may be closer to the perplexing BD solution - I personally have lost faith that it is coded in the EEPROM string

I think you're right. I do think there is a BD Region Free code in the EEPROM string but I am unconvinced we'll be able to find it. It's not as if any Players have the code by default.

Agreed it would be very handy to work out how to enable Admin Mode.
bradavon is offline  
post #120 of 332 Old 05-08-2008, 01:36 PM
Member
 
AlfaGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

I presume the option disappeared from the menu?

Right. And please note (@all), to always shut off your player when changed the digits and switch on/reboot before testing. The new settings are not "ready" till you have rebooted. The option is the last one in the "others" section. So it's an easy one to look at.

And you're right, perhaps its to early to make an own thread. I will pay more attention to not miss / overview the important informations

Thanks
AlfaGT
AlfaGT is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off