LG BH-200 SD-DVD region hack - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2008, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Well, it´s my first contribution to AVS Forum, but I am a long time reader and learned a lot from you people.

After a looong night of trials and errors and some guts, victory at last! Here is the steps to unlock the LG BH-200. It will be able to play all stardard definition DVDs. The BD region remains the same, so the work never stops...

1) Donwload the file from gsmstore.com.br/codefree%20LG%20BH200.zip

2) Unzip it and burn a standard CD with the resulting folder (RMTM0000)

3) Insert the disc in the BH200

4) "Region Management Test Mode" menu will show up. Choose 0 (zero) and press PAUSE to save and exit.

5) Voilá! Try any SD-DVD and post the results.

To check the chosen region, go to Home, Setup, Display, TV Aspect Ratio, choose 16:9 wide. Now type 1397139 and ENTER. Watch the DVD Region line.

BR

Julio Cohen
Julio Cohen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2008, 02:14 PM
Member
 
lorenzo1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anybody else try this yet?

Lorenzo
lorenzo1000 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 03:03 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, I hope we can get a confirmation soon - thus would seal the deal for me!

It's not even a firmware hack per se...
T2k is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Photos:

gsmstore.com.br/BH200 unlocking 001.jpg
gsmstore.com.br/BH200 unlocking 003.jpg
Julio Cohen is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 04:01 PM
Member
 
dickydoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just tried it, and my Region 3 DVDs of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers play fine.

I tried putting it on my USB drive first, but that didn't work. So I burnt it to CDRW and it loaded up as advertised. Thanks Julio!

This player keeps getting better and better!
dickydoo is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Yes, a USB drive really will not work, only CD / CD-RW. Now let´s try to unlock the BD side.

Thanks

Julio
Julio Cohen is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello here in my bh 200 i tried but the menu dont show up what i do wrong
zabus is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:16 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dickydoo View Post

Just tried it, and my Region 3 DVDs of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers play fine.

I tried putting it on my USB drive first, but that didn't work. So I burnt it to CDRW and it loaded up as advertised. Thanks Julio!

This player keeps getting better and better!

WOW!
T2k is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi i burned like it was said but the region test is not showing up what i do wrong
zabus is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zabus, insert the CD in your computer´s drive and check that you have the at the root of the CD the RMTM0000 folder. Inside it you should have another folder, Scarlet. Inside Scarlet folder, the file kpjc19_1 . That folder/file structure must remain intact. If not, the player will not recognize it.

Julio
Julio Cohen is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks a lot julio it works.
another question i bought in us and i live in holland what to do that he plays pal system dvd anyone knows that?
zabus is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don´t think so, but I´ll grab a PAL DVD tonight and test it.

Thanks

Julio
Julio Cohen is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok where do you live julio do you have msn?
zabus is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but i think it plays now all hd and blue ray dvd's am i wright?
zabus is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW! Thanks a lot Julio. What a way to say Hi to the forum

I'll add it to my post. We can then keep all firmware info in on thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dickydoo View Post

Just tried it, and my Region 3 DVDs of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers play fine.

Can you please confirm the March firmware is still intact and you can still Bitstream DTS-HD/TrueHD?

If this doesn't effect the March firmware then this is truly marvellous and the BH200 just gets better and better . In literally just a week the BH200 has gone form an okay Combo Player to an absolutely amazing one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Cohen View Post

I don´t think so, but I´ll grab a PAL DVD tonight and test it.

If this hack just removes SD DVD MR then sadly it will stop not support PAL. That's always stored elsewhere to the Multiregion side, from my experience anyway. I would imagine that's much trickier to alter.

It's a real shame the LG BH200 still doesn't handle PAL , meaning many Non-R1 discs still won't work. Oh well it's still a definite plus.

For those who don't know:

* 95% of DVDs sold in Europe, Australia and New Zealand are PAL
* 95% of DVDs sold in Hong Kong are NTSC
* 100% of DVDs sold in Japan are NTSC
* 60% in South East Asia (i.e - Thailand) are NTSC but the other 40% are PAL

Those numbers aren't exact but educated guesses, based on my experience.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 06:52 PM
Member
 
dickydoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This hack just changes the SD DVD region and doesn't do anything to the firmware whatsoever. I don't have a new receiver to test bitstreaming, but Dolby TrueHD is still downmixed to DTS 5.1 over SPDIF.
dickydoo is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Dickydoo. That's fantastic.

Julio Cohen: Will this also work on European LG BH200's which already support PAL and NTSC?

I hope you don't mind I've included this news on my Mini-FAQ here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1009104

I've uploaded your ZIP file to Mega Upload including inside the ZIP file your instructions and the screen capture you kindly provided.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 08:48 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Awwwhhhh, I thought this hack would mean I can watch my PAL discs as well... what happens actually when you put in a PAL disc?
T2k is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You get the error:

Check Disk

And it's spat out. I asked AlfaGT this and that's what he told me, his player is an American LG BH200.

Annoyingly it's common practise to not put PAL support into American or Canadian (maybe Central/South America too) Players but give all other countries both PAL and NTSC. From their point of view there is no point adding expense when all North American DVDs are NTSC anyway.

Most SD extras on HD Discs are in the NTSC format, but the "1492: Conquest of Paradise" Dutch HD-DVD (it's also out on BD) has PAL SD extras. So while the film works, American Players cannot read the extras. I don't know which players it's been tried on. Thankfully it's the only European HD Disc I know of that has PAL SD extras.

It was particularly stupid of that Dutch company to do that when due to frame rate reasons it's technically logical to put NTSC SD extras on all HD Discs (i.e - PAL Speed up).

p.s - It's still worth while mind you, as you can now play Non-R1 NTSC DVDs in it.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:05 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

You get the error:

Check Disk

And it's spat out. I asked AlfaGT this and that's what he told me, his player is an American LG BH200.

Annoyingly it's common practise to not put PAL support into American or Canadian (maybe Central/South America too) Players but give all other countries both PAL and NTSC. From their point of view there is no point adding expense when all North American DVDs are NTSC anyway.

Most SD extras on HD Discs are in the NTSC format but the "1492: Conquest of Paradise" Dutch HD-DVD (it's also out on BD) has PAL SD extras, so while the film works American Players cannot read the extras. I don't know which players it's been tried on. Thankfully it's the only European HD Disc I know of that has PAL SD extras.


So you're saying an EU BH200 would play both?

Quote:


p.s - It's still worth while mind you, as you can now play Non-R1 NTSC DVDs in it.

Sure, absolutely - BTW muito obrigado Julio!
T2k is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep!

But obviously it will then be European BD Region B and not Region A so will bring with it it's own problems. Hence why despite living in the UK I want an imported American Region A Player. I already have an Upscaling DVD Recorder for PAL DVDs anyway.

95% roughly DVDs in Europe are PAL but there's that 5% that are NTSC so they must make sure all DVD & HD Players support both, it's the same in South East Asia and Australia. It's a uniquely North American procedure.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:11 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Yep!

But obviously it will then be European BD Region B and not Region A so will bring with it it's own problems. Hence why despite living in the UK I want an imported American Region A Player. I already have an Upscaling DVD Recorder for PAL DVDs anyway.

95% roughly DVDs in Europe are PAL but there's that 5% that are NTSC so they must make sure all DVD & HD Players support both, it's the same in South East Asia and Australia. It's a uniquely North American procedure.

I thought BDA studios haven't activated region encoding yet... f***** Blu-Ray, this totally illegal, anti-consumer, monopoly-based format.

Unique? If you mean corrupt and stupid, like most things here, then yes.
T2k is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Julio Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Even not able to play non-NTSC DVDs, the hack obviously helps people who bought the player in US and use abroad, like me, in Brazil. I own nearly 250 US DVD that always played fine, but I also own 500+ DVDs made in Brazil (NTSC, region 4) and some others region 3 too.

BR

Julio Cohen
Julio Cohen is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by T2k View Post

I thought BDA studios haven't activated region encoding yet... f***** Blu-Ray, this totally illegal, anti-consumer, monopoly-based format.

No BD discs use BD+ yet (or whatever it's called) but I'm afraid many use Region Coding, and unlike SD DVD region coding no one has managed to crack it yet.

* All Fox discs are Region A or Region B (or C) and all EIV discs are Region B. Those are the only two companies I know of that use them on 100% of titles.
* EIV (Entertainment in Video) are a UK DVD/BD distributor who get many of their discs from New Line. Thankfully they're UK only as their DVDs/BDs suck. I am more than happy to never ever buy their discs again.

The truth is if it's Region Locked it will more than likely be a Region A disc. You guys simply have the most sought after films in the world.

* Lionsgate mostly use Region A for their releases (3:10 to Yuma is Region Free).
* New Line the same (Pan's Labyrinth Region Free but Rush Hour 3 & Hairspray Region A). It's generally agreed Pan's Labyrinth was Region Free as it was already out in most parts of the world.
* Disney use Region Coding in both America and the UK and have no pattern to speak of. Ratatouille is Region A in America and Region B in Europe but Pirates of the Carribean 3 is Region Free.
* Sony use it intermittently and again have no pattern, although mostly when they region lock a disc they use it on Region A, although thankfully they've not used Region Coding for flipping ages now. I cannot remember the last one.

Here's one example: Casino Royale Region Free everywhere except oddly America where it's Region A, and cut the most out of all versions so no one would want to import it anyway (cut even more so than the UK version).

Check out this awesome site which details what BDs are Region Locked and which are Region Free:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/

It's updated regularly and you can see it's split into Region A, B and C categories at the top.

Quote:
Originally Posted by T2k View Post

Unique? If you mean corrupt and stupid, like most things here, then yes.

Yes

Although I cannot comment how corrupt or stupid your country is , well I think your gun laws need overhauling (starting by updating the Constitution's second amendment) but I'd rather not go there
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:06 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Although I cannot comment how corrupt or stupid your country is , well I think your gun laws need overhauling (starting by updating the Constitution's second amendment) but I'd rather not go there

Then the criminals will be the only ones armed and will run amuck. Such a rehaul just wouldn't be feasible in this country.
vinnie97 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Cohen View Post

Even not able to play non-NTSC DVDs, the hack obviously helps people who bought the player in US and use abroad,

I think it's flipping amazing and you're even more amazing for finding it, thanks!

Julio Cohen: Will this hack also work on European LG BH200's which already support PAL and NTSC? I guess it should, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Cohen View Post

gsmstore.com.br/BH200 unlocking 001.jpg
gsmstore.com.br/BH200 unlocking 003.jpg

FYI the second photo doesn't work.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 05:37 AM
Member
 
StardustOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is awesome. I just tried it with my BH-200. Thanks for this information, my player just got one step further to the perfect one.

Still missing so far: Playback of PAL SD-DVDs and Playback of BR B and C exclusive titles.

Well I am happy with what I got now, it is so amazing that this player gets better and better.

Oh and this is something not even my region code free Toshiba HD-XE1 (European HD-XA2) can do: the BH-200 plays back R1 Fox and Paramount SD DVDs.

The XE1 requires a remote control hack to play any R1 Fox or RCE or Paramount SD DVDs. Ok, on the plus side, it plays both PAL and NTSC SD DVDs.

But: the BH-200 Multiregion hack does not allow to play RCE enhanced R1 DVDs, I have just checked with my R1 Final Fantasy: The Spirits within SD DVD. It does not play with the BH-200 region 0 setting. I am changing back my BH-200 region to region 1 since I can play all the other SD DVDs with the HD-XE1 (but it is good to know that the BH-200 is such a capable machine).
StardustOne is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello my bh200 is region free now but does somebody know how to change or make free the bd region?
zabus is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardustOne View Post

But: the BH-200 Multiregion hack does not allow to play RCE enhanced R1 DVDs, I have just checked with my R1 Final Fantasy: The Spirits within SD DVD. It does not play with the BH-200 region 0 setting.

That's a pity. Thanks for the heads up the hack isn't RCE safe.

There is nothing wrong with leaving it on Region 0, then set it to Region 1 for Final Fantasy (how many times do you watch it?), then put it back to Region 0. Unlike a Firmware upgrade you're only making a minor change so I wouldn't worry about running it every now and again. There are very few RCE discs out there.

I read about that E1 workaround to play RCE discs. Personally it wouldn't bother me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabus View Post

hello my bh200 is region free now but does somebody know how to change or make free the bd region?

That's the million dollar question, that so far no one has cracked. Not on the BH200 or any BD Player. Given time I'm sure someone will crack it though.
bradavon is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 06:35 AM
Newbie
 
zabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what will happens if loading software europe in my us player
zabus is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off