Samsung BD-UP5000 Firmware 1.3 Released Report BUGS\FIXES - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding the "hidden" DD 5.1 track in TrueHD.. that track only exists in the BRD specs, not the HDDVD specs. Thats why HDDVD requires a DD+ track to be included on discs. (High Def Digest put together an article that explains this difference between the two specs).. notwithstanding I Am Legend where WB decided they didnt need to roll with a DD+ track.

so, if it is playing TrueHD in 5.1 off an HDDVD the player is decoding the lossless TrueHD track. Then they output that as PCM (lossless). If you have optical and dont have the bandwidth for PCM 5.1 it will be re-encoded into DTS like the Toshiba HDDVD players did.

So the only question left, are we getting the DTS-MA track or the core? Its in both HDDVD and BRD specs to have a core "DTS" track, so without Sammy coming out and commenting on it, we will never know.
nmcnair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
CrashX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

It will "never" be fixed, this occurs on all Samsung players.....

Ahhh, that's lame.
CrashX is offline  
post #63 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashX View Post

Ahhh, that's lame.


I'm with you on this one.. one thing I really miss from my AX2.
nmcnair is offline  
post #64 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Also, can someone with HDMI 1.3 receiver confirm bitstream of DD+? DD+ is a common format on HD DVDs.
.

I just put in The Bourne Ultimatum HDDVD, and my Yamaha shows "Dolby Digital +" on the display.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #65 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

I just put in The Bourne Ultimatum HDDVD, and my Yamaha shows "Dolby Digital +" on the display.

So, every format bitstreams, and all formats are re-encoded to PCM via analog and HDMI with the exception of DTS-MA (unless Sammy wants to confirm it does that now as well).
nmcnair is offline  
post #66 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:11 AM
Member
 
clarkk41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the sd audio drop issue. Has anyone had a chance to play around and see if its gone?
clarkk41 is offline  
post #67 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmcnair View Post

So the only question left, are we getting the DTS-MA track or the core? Its in both HDDVD and BRD specs to have a core "DTS" track, so without Sammy coming out and commenting on it, we will never know.

The one DTS-MA disc I have: Pan's Labriynth HD DVD has DTS-MA 7.1. Since DTS core is 5.1 only, it is possible to test how Samsung treats the DTS-MA track via either analog 7.1 or HDMI in PCM mode. Unfortunately, my receiver can do neither of those (only 5.1 analog).
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #68 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

The one DTS-MA disc I have: Pan's Labriynth HD DVD has DTS-MA 7.1. Since DTS core is 5.1 only, it is possible to test how Samsung treats the DTS-MA track via either analog 7.1 or HDMI in PCM mode. Unfortunately, my receiver can do neither of those (only 5.1 analog).

good call, I own that movie as well. Im 5.1 only as well though. But at least we know how to test it, we just need someone to do it.
nmcnair is offline  
post #69 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RAT (BD) - PCM shows up as 5.1, however Dolby Digital displays at 6.1

LFoDH - DTS-MA shows up as 7.1

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #70 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ANGEL 35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help. How do you get this new firmware??

ITS HOW YOU LOOK AT IT
ANGEL 35 is offline  
post #71 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatawan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

The one DTS-MA disc I have: Pan's Labriynth HD DVD has DTS-MA 7.1. Since DTS core is 5.1 only, it is possible to test how Samsung treats the DTS-MA track via either analog 7.1 or HDMI in PCM mode. Unfortunately, my receiver can do neither of those (only 5.1 analog).

just plug ONLY the rear surround analog outputs from the 5000 into your receiver and see if there is sound
Fatawan is offline  
post #72 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGEL 35 View Post

Please help. How do you get this new firmware??

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/do...p_nm=BD-UP5000

Then download, unzip it, and burn the ISO image to a CD-R. Make sure you don't just copy the iso file on the disc.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #73 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should we call the PCM bug fixed????

It is time for me work a little bit, but the 2 PCM movies I have tested (RAT and POTC:AWE) on my Yamaha all show only 5.1 being input to the AVR, not 7.1 as previous.

I guess we'll need someone else to look.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #74 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:22 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Also, can someone with HDMI 1.3 receiver confirm bitstream of DD+? DD+ is a common format on HD DVDs.

See above. Confirmed it for Michael Clayton as well.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #75 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatawan View Post

just plug ONLY the rear surround analog outputs from the 5000 into your receiver and see if there is sound

you are a genious.. we can see if its playing the Rear surround channel, just out of the wrong speakers. Lets hope
nmcnair is offline  
post #76 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:27 AM
Member
 
clarkk41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have the Pans labrynth with a 7.1 analog set up. I may have to pick it up just to try it at home lol Im anxious to see if this player can decode dts hd ma over the analogs.
clarkk41 is offline  
post #77 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatawan View Post

just plug ONLY the rear surround analog outputs from the 5000 into your receiver and see if there is sound


Good tip. I'll try it later.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #78 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congratulations to the UP5000 owners.

I had really considered this player before I purchased the LG but couldn't wait it out. I'm glad for you all and please enjoy the bitstreaming of the advanced audio codecs. I know that is the sweetest part!!
davcole is online now  
post #79 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

It will "never" be fixed, this occurs on all Samsung players.....

Reportedly, the 1500 fixed it. Interesting that Sorrysung told us it's not a problem, yet they "fixed" the "non-problem" on their new model.

Doug
dougotte is offline  
post #80 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:47 AM
Member
 
p-g-m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a long long wait and going through ps3, toshiba a-35 and returning the LG /the hardest decision in my life/ , my patience has finally paid off. Should we celebrate with a nice bottle of champagne tonight?
p-g-m is offline  
post #81 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougotte View Post

Reportedly, the 1500 fixed it. Interesting that Sorrysung told us it's not a problem, yet they "fixed" the "non-problem" on their new model.

Doug

yeah, I just cant use my awesome upscaling BRD/HDDVD player on any TV show that I own.

Not a problem at all.
nmcnair is offline  
post #82 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:07 AM
Member
 
SCHUEY F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkk41 View Post

How is the sd audio drop issue. Has anyone had a chance to play around and see if its gone?

I'll try to test this tonight. I have been watching Battlestar Galactica Season 3 and every episode without fail has an audio dropout at about the same point in each episode. If this is fixed I will be extremely happy!

I can't believe I got this player for $300!!
SCHUEY F1 is offline  
post #83 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
gully_foyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p-g-m View Post

After a long long wait and going through ps3, toshiba a-35 and returning the LG /the hardest decision in my life/ , my patience has finally paid off. Should we celebrate with a nice bottle of champagne tonight?

Wonder where the bashers are today.
gully_foyle is offline  
post #84 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
texrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Also, can someone with HDMI 1.3 receiver confirm bitstream of DD+? DD+ is a common format on HD DVDs.

Since the player outputs 5.1 to analog from TrueHD track even without any hidden track (on I Am Legend HD DVD disc I tested), I'm confident that TrueHD is indeed internally decoded (to PCM). If you set your player to output PCM, your HDMI receiver should receive LPCM 5.1 from TrueHD track.

I also have a DTS-MA 7.1 HD DVD disc but don't have a new receiver, so I can't test DTS-HD decoding via HDMI.

Ok I an confirm that DTS-MA is being output (played i-Robot BD) & True-HD (from Harry Potter - Phoenix HD-DVD). I have the 5000 set to Bitstream-Audiophile thru HDMI to my Yamaha RX-V663. Don't know if it's bitstreamed or decoded since my AVR can decode. I can also confirm DD+
texrb is offline  
post #85 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:17 AM
Member
 
p-g-m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this thread should be a sticky
p-g-m is offline  
post #86 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
pobff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG. My TV displays the hardware that's playing...it says "BD-P1500" instead of "BD-UP5000".....

And there were flickers at the start of I Am Legend HD DVD at the menu and few seconds after the movie is selected.
pobff is offline  
post #87 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
gully_foyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by texrb View Post

Ok I an confirm that DTS-MA is being output (played i-Robot BD) & True-HD (from Harry Potter - Phoenix HD-DVD). I have the 5000 set to Bitstream-Audiophile thru HDMI to my Yamaha RX-V663. Don't know if it's bitstreamed or decoded since my AVR can decode. I can also confirm DD+

It bitstreams everything, for sure. But what does it decode?

The real test is what comes out of the analog outs, since that can ONLY be decoded to PCM. Of course, it doesn't say what it was decoded from (DTS-MA, or DTS-MA(core)), so one needs to test the surround back channels with a disc that supports DTS-MA 7.1, such as Pan's Labyrinth. TrueHD 5.1 appears to work as 5.1 PCM, up from 2.0 before.
gully_foyle is offline  
post #88 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:41 AM
Member
 
p-g-m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To sum things up:

Dolby True HD- bitstream
Dolby True HD- decoded /output via analog as PCM/
DD+ -bitsream
DTS-MA -bitstream /bug after the FW- discs with 5.1 now show 7.1/
PCM- bitstream/bug-showing 7.1 instead of 5.1 now fixed/
PIP- enabled /player now profile 1.1/
450 MB of persistent memory showing instead of 128MB
Dropouts- fixed on multiple discs
Ok, am I missing anything?
Did anyone check if MA is decoded?...most likely no, but you never know. Unfortunately I can't help, I am not at home
anybody?
p-g-m is offline  
post #89 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p-g-m View Post

To sum things up:

Dolby True HD- bitstream
Dolby True HD- decoded /output via analog as PCM/
DD+ -bitsream
DTS-MA -bitstream
PCM- bitstream/bug-showing 7.1 instead of 5.1 now fixed/
PIP- enabled /player now profile 1.1/

Ok, am I missing anything?
Did anyone check if MA is decoded?...most likely no, but you never know. Unfortunately I can't help, I am not at home
anybody?

450 MB of persistent memory showing instead of 128MB.

My Yamaha shows DTS-HD MSTR is being input as 7.1, even though the disks are 5.1 DTS-HD MA.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #90 of 885 Old 05-30-2008, 09:45 AM
Member
 
p-g-m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

450 MB of persistent memory showing instead of 128MB.

My Yamaha shows DTS-HD MSTR is being input as 7.1, even though the disks are 5.1 DTS-HD MA.

so, the bug now is when playing -MA
p-g-m is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off