Samsung BD-UP5000 Firmware 1.3 Released Report BUGS\FIXES - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 05:48 AM
Member
 
jps 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check again I just looked at the website. I think we are looking at it while the update there website.

John
jps 97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 06:29 AM
Member
 
erray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try this link:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/do...p_nm=BD-UP5000
erray is offline  
post #873 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jps 97 View Post

check again I just looked at the website. I think we are looking at it while the update there website.

John

How very odd! I had alread flushed my browser cache (FireFox 3.1 beta) and re-load the page, and also tried FireFox 3.0 as well as IE and saw nothing other than 1.3!

Samsung must have either done some sort of staged roll-out, or they've got multiple web servers serving various regions and the page I was routed to was not updated as quickly as others.

Of course now that I am in to work, I can see 1.4. Time to remote into my home network and at least get it downloaded. I was planning to run back home over lunch, so I'll burn and update at that time.

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #874 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
citico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to double click the FW box on the web site and there is Ver 1.4 to download about 28MB.

ED
citico is offline  
post #875 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by citico View Post

You have to double click the FW box on the web site and there is Ver 1.4 to download about 28MB.

New thread for v1.4 created
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post15015705

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #876 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
i downloaded the file...extracted iso files..burned to disc..loaded but got error from player that it cannot play disc?
gene9p is offline  
post #877 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 08:04 AM
Member
 
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's all good, but I don't have any movies that gave me problems. Curious to find what you all notice with this new update. No mention on Samsung website except "playback improvements on some titles". Darn I was hoping for MORE features, hmmmmm like 2.0?
TIMS2SENSES is offline  
post #878 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post

i downloaded the file...extracted iso files..burned to disc..loaded but got error from player that it cannot play disc?

Gene - did you burn the ISO file to CD (i.e. ISO burned as a data file onto the CD), or did you burn the CD 'from' the ISO file.

The reason I ask is most failures are brought about when a user burns the file to CD. ISO files are in fact 'images' or 'snapshots' if you will, of the actual media. That said (and excuse me if you already know this), you need to open the ISO file from the burning software and burn the image to CD.

Alternatively, most bruning applications are associated with ISO files and will recognize them as such. Simply running the ISO file, in most cases, will open your burning application to a dialog box prompting you to 'burn'.

Hope this helps. If anyone can describe the ISO format or method of burning better than I, please feel free to do so.

Spence

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #879 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
all is well...my iso burner program made a bad disc..used nero and all went well

THE PARAMOUNT FIX WORKS!!!!!!

Top Gun ..ok
Hunt for Red October..ok

those are only ones I have
gene9p is offline  
post #880 of 885 Old 11-06-2008, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
citico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also used Nero, no problems updating player here.

ED
citico is offline  
post #881 of 885 Old 12-04-2008, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
puckhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpenceJT View Post

I'll start a review thread (or add to one, if one already exists) once I take delivery and get it configured.
Spence

Did you ever have a chance to start a thread on the HDFury?
puckhead is offline  
post #882 of 885 Old 12-04-2008, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead View Post

Did you ever have a chance to start a thread on the HDFury?

No I have not! Thanks for the reminder! I'll see if I can get some photos taken and compose something over the next couple of days.

In short, it works as advertised and I am happy.

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #883 of 885 Old 12-05-2008, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
puckhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpenceJT View Post

No I have not! Thanks for the reminder! I'll see if I can get some photos taken and compose something over the next couple of days.

In short, it works as advertised and I am happy.

Great Spence, whenever you have the time, I will appreciate it. Based on your other posts, I believe we have similar setups, so your review will be very helpful for me. I am especially interested in the SD upscaling results you've had. Thanks again!
puckhead is offline  
post #884 of 885 Old 02-24-2009, 02:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two questions...sorry if noobish...

How do I find what firmware version I have for the BDUP5000?

Does the 1.3 update allow you to play Blu-Ray recordables? I tried playing a burned blu-ray disc that I'd made and this wouldn't play it. The PS3 would.

Thanks!
Spassvogel42 is offline  
post #885 of 885 Old 02-24-2009, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone looking to buy one with about 10 hd dvd's can pm me.
Carbo is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off