Samsung BD-UP5000 Firmware 1.3 Released Report BUGS\FIXES - Page 7 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Dual Format Players > Samsung BD-UP5000 Firmware 1.3 Released Report BUGS\FIXES

Dual Format Players

jhujrt3's Avatar jhujrt3
05:39 PM Liked: 10
post #181 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Sep 2007
I just got off the chat with Samsung and they are going to send me a disc in the mail. I can't get the damn thing to copy at all. I've tried 5 different CD-Rs with 3 different programs. I even went out and bought DVD-Rs and it didn't work. I followed the informaiton posted in the link about the LG. I don't understand it, I've been waiting to do this since this morning. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
TiVoHD's Avatar TiVoHD
05:45 PM Liked: 10
post #182 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,562
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhujrt3 View Post

I just got off the chat with Samsung and they are going to send me a disc in the mail. I can't get the damn thing to copy at all. I've tried 5 different CD-Rs with 3 different programs. I even went out and bought DVD-Rs and it didn't work. I followed the informaiton posted in the link about the LG. I don't understand it, I've been waiting to do this since this morning. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

There's a good chance that the firmware they send you will be 1.2. Are you running Windows XP?
RickGavin's Avatar RickGavin
05:45 PM Liked: 10
post #183 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 196
Joined: Mar 2007
More Tests...
-HDMI on Audiophile-

Cast Away(BD)
Denon: DTS-HD MSTR: showed 5.1 channels
* no issues

Transformers (HD-DVD)
Denon: Dolby Digital +
* audio was fine, return of video issues in 24FPS mode
pobff's Avatar pobff
05:46 PM Liked: 10
post #184 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 300
Joined: Mar 2008
Is it just not detecting. You have to do "burn as image" and try to do it at the lowest speed possible. I did mine at 16x for the CDR.
bradavon's Avatar bradavon
05:47 PM Liked: 10
post #185 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,896
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

5K firmware file is an ISO image file. You need to burn it as disk image, not as file.

It should be easier then, just double click on it. The settings should be stored in the ISO file but you can still check them, even using an ISO file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

LG firmware file is truely a file and zipped (if I remember correctly).

Correct. Inside the Samsung ISO will be a similar ROM file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickGavin View Post

Please read the thread, the site says 1.2 but the link gets the may (1.3) update.

It says 1.3 for me and includes the change log. You may need to clear your Internet Cache/Cookies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bytown rick View Post

I use optical out and have always set my 5000 to bitstream audiophile. Should I now switch to re-encode for everything, or just when the DVD has a TrueHD track?

Personally I'd leave it set to DTS Re-encode, it's just simplier that way. You're unlikely to be able to tell the difference between a DD track and one converted to DTS.

DTS Re-encode will also convert TrueHD to DTS 1.5Mbps too. Even for discs which have DD/DD+ too that should sound better (presuming the DD+ isn't also 1.5Mbps). For TrueHD only discs it's obviously a must but TrueHD to DTS 1.5Mpbs should also sound better than a 640Kbps audio stream (DD and some DD+ tracks).

DTS-HD HR/MA is always a minimum of 1.5Mbps and PCM discs you'll be using the 640Kbps DD audio anyway.
bradavon's Avatar bradavon
05:50 PM Liked: 10
post #186 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,896
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhujrt3 View Post

I just got off the chat with Samsung and they are going to send me a disc in the mail. I can't get the damn thing to copy at all.

You're not trying to copy the ISO file to a disc are you? You need to open the file in your burning program or double click the ISO file from Explorer (or similar).

Inside the ISO file is the file that the Samsung Player needs to read. As Pboff says burning at the lowest speed possible is also a good idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoHD View Post

Are you running Windows XP?

The O/S isn't important . It's the software that provides the writing driver not O/S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickGavin View Post

More Tests...
-HDMI on Audiophile-

Cast Away(BD)
Denon: DTS-HD MSTR: showed 5.1 channels
* no issues

Have you tried setting it to on-board decode? Does that still give you DTS-HD MA?

DTS-HD MA Bitstream has been confirmed by a few people, thanks though .
ANGEL 35's Avatar ANGEL 35
05:56 PM Liked: 10
post #187 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 504
Joined: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Yes, you can call Samsung to send you a CD. But pass experiences told us (1) it takes long time to arrive (2) Samsung tends to send old firmware CDs long after new firmware posted.

Why can't you just download it and burn a CD-R yourself?

I dont know why but i cant get it to downlord or burn a cd. I also tryed a network update it told me there is no need to update I will try agian.??
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar TIMS2SENSES
05:56 PM Liked: 10
post #188 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pobff View Post

Is it just not detecting. You have to do "burn as image" and try to do it at the lowest speed possible. I did mine at 16x for the CDR.

Writing speed is critical......slower is better. I use 8x-16x, anything else you get coasters with iso. images. Also don't forget to unzip the file and you are burning the Samsung5000\\20080530180236312_080529_03_UP5000_XAA_RUF_ISO file.
TiVoHD's Avatar TiVoHD
05:58 PM Liked: 10
post #189 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,562
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

The O/S isn't important . It's the software that provides the writing driver not O/S.

I know, I was just going to try to simplify it for him by recommending the the Windows ISO Recorder, but not if he's running a Mac.
bradavon's Avatar bradavon
05:59 PM Liked: 10
post #190 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,896
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGEL 35 View Post

I dont know why but i cant get it to downlord or burn a cd.

Ah I didn't realise you couldn't even download the ISO file. Have you tried the direct link in the first post?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TIMS2SENSES View Post

Also don't forget to unzip the file and you are burning the Samsung5000\\20080530180236312_080529_03_UP5000_XAA_RUF_ISO file.

Then double click on it or open it in your burning program, DON'T copy the ISO file itself to a CD/DVD. That's directed at Angel btw .
TiVoHD's Avatar TiVoHD
06:01 PM Liked: 10
post #191 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1,562
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

DTS-HD MA Bitstream has been confirmed by a few people, thanks though .

I don't think he was confirming that it works. He's testing to see which DTS-HD MA discs report 5.1 and which report 7.1. There are definitely some that only contain a 5.1 track but are somehow sending a 7.1 stream. It's possible that these discs are just authored that way for some reason. I guess somebody would have to try one of the affected discs in another player to confirm.
jhujrt3's Avatar jhujrt3
06:02 PM Liked: 10
post #192 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Sep 2007
It should work with a DVD R, correct? I extracted it to my desktop and I have a .iso file and an .ruf file. I've been trying with the .iso file to no avail.
john19's Avatar john19
06:04 PM Liked: 10
post #193 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 65
Joined: Mar 2005
When i hook up the ethernet cable and go to system update it states you have the latest version of firmware. But i never loaded the 1.3 update so i cant already have it. It shows s/w:080306.01_8124_0924.11xaa is this the 1.3 verson?
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar TIMS2SENSES
06:05 PM Liked: 10
post #194 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhujrt3 View Post

It should work with a DVD R, correct? I extracted it to my desktop and I have a .iso file and an .ruf file. I've been trying with the .iso file to no avail.


It should, but cd-r are what work for me. Use nero and find "burn as image" or "burn an image". Click on it and browse for the iso file to burn. And then burn at slow speed. Hope it works for you.
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar TIMS2SENSES
06:16 PM Liked: 10
post #195 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by john19 View Post

When i hook up the ethernet cable and go to system update it states you have the latest version of firmware. But i never loaded the 1.3 update so i cant already have it. It shows s/w:080306.01_8124_0924.11xaa is this the 1.3 verson?

No look at the date in the code. March 6th 2008 was that realease. The ethernet server will be very busy and will be slow. Burning CD is better and safer.
john19's Avatar john19
06:16 PM Liked: 10
post #196 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 65
Joined: Mar 2005
keep trying but is says latest version is updated no DD Truhd not popning up on the receiver. I used the ethernet for my last update I read that it might have broken the ethernet connection. If this is so why would it say latest version updated? Is there a way to erase all firmware updates and start off fresh?
pobff's Avatar pobff
06:21 PM Liked: 10
post #197 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 300
Joined: Mar 2008
It probably says latest version because you have version 1.2 and depending on your ethernet connection, Samsung may have several servers in different locations for the 1.3 download and it's not updated in your area yet? Just a thought.
john19's Avatar john19
06:24 PM Liked: 10
post #198 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 65
Joined: Mar 2005
Anybody in the San Fernando valley in southern california able to update via ethernet?
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar TIMS2SENSES
06:29 PM Liked: 10
post #199 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by john19 View Post

keep trying but is says latest version is updated no DD Truhd not popning up on the receiver. I used the ethernet for my last update I read that it might have broken the ethernet connection. If this is so why would it say latest version updated? Is there a way to erase all firmware updates and start off fresh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pobff View Post

It probably says latest version because you have version 1.2 and depending on your ethernet connection, Samsung may have several servers in different locations for the 1.3 download and it's not updated in your area yet? Just a thought.

Looks like John has version 1.2. I would just wait it out John until later tonight or burn a CD. I don't think there is anything wrong with your machine. The first day for ne firmware update, ethernet downloading is a gamble. So many people on it that when/if it crashes, anyone in the middle of downloading may have to make service calls. I heard some unfortunate stories during the Toshiba updates. Also guys, if you are not using a UPS (battery backup) if not always, definitely during an update. I highly recommend it.
bytown rick's Avatar bytown rick
06:40 PM Liked: 11
post #200 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lalittle View Post

Without knowing which track the 5K uses for re-encoding when selecting a TrueHD track on a BR disc, there is no way to know for sure which setting is technically "best" in this situation. If you just don't want to have to deal with this, use the Re-encode setting. If you want to ensure the technically highest quality sound, use Audiophile mode EXCEPT when selecting a TrueHD track on an HD-DVD disc. For TrueHD tracks on BR discs, the Re-encode mode will either give you higher quality sound, or slightly lower quality sound.

Larry

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Personally I'd leave it set to DTS Re-encode, it's just simplier that way. You're unlikely to be able to tell the difference between a DD track and one converted to DTS.

DTS Re-encode will also convert TrueHD to DTS 1.5Mbps too. Even for discs which have DD/DD+ too that should sound better (presuming the DD+ isn't also 1.5Mbps). For TrueHD only discs it's obviously a must but TrueHD to DTS 1.5Mpbs should also sound better than a 640Kbps audio stream (DD and some DD+ tracks).

DTS-HD HR/MA is always a minimum of 1.5Mbps and PCM discs you'll be using the 640Kbps DD audio anyway.

Thanks guys. I guess I'll play with the settings and see what works for my ears.

Rick
RickGavin's Avatar RickGavin
06:48 PM Liked: 10
post #201 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 196
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Have you tried setting it to on-board decode? Does that still give you DTS-HD MA?

DTS-HD MA Bitstream has been confirmed by a few people, thanks though .

Ya.. I was one of those that confirmed it.. I was simply pointing out that it seems that DTS-HD 5.1 plays correctly.. but the DTS-HD 7.1 tracks I have tried, seem to have issues. They correctly report the track type and channels, but have audio distortions, pops, level issues.

And no, I have not tried changing the mode, it seemed like there were plenty of people who have to use onboard decoding and so would comment. I guess I can give it a try if others haven't already.
bori's Avatar bori
06:56 PM Liked: 83
post #202 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 2,918
Joined: Sep 2006
Has anyone gotten static sound coming from all channels? When you stop a movie. I currently bitstreaming all audio to Onkyo 805.
Nimo's Avatar Nimo
06:59 PM Liked: 13
post #203 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 2,403
Joined: Oct 2005
I ran the fw with a hex editor and it does show it is for the 5k I skimmed through it but found nothing related to 1500 in plain text, so it must be coded.

I used Nero at 8x with no issues using Memorex CD-RW disks on an NEC burner.


bori's Avatar bori
07:00 PM Liked: 83
post #204 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 2,918
Joined: Sep 2006
How can you tell if a player is profile 1.1?
RickGavin's Avatar RickGavin
07:01 PM Liked: 10
post #205 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 196
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

I used Nero at 8x with no issues using Memorex CD-RW disks on an NEC burner.

I used Nero at 24x with TDK discs, also no issues.
bori's Avatar bori
07:09 PM Liked: 83
post #206 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 2,918
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickGavin View Post

I used Nero at 24x with TDK discs, also no issues.

I also used nero 10x recording speed and everything worked fine the first time
Nimo's Avatar Nimo
07:19 PM Liked: 13
post #207 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 2,403
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickGavin View Post

I used Nero at 24x with TDK discs, also no issues.

Now I just wish I had a player to put it in LoL!!

I must like torturing myself...

UPS: 1Z6Y
Shipped Via: UPS GROUND
Picked Up: May 27, 2008
Scheduled Delivery Date: June 02, 2008
May 27, 2008 11:58a : UPS Received package information
May 27, 2008 4:18p : MINNEAPOLIS, MN US - PICKUP SCAN
May 27, 2008 8:44p : MINNEAPOLIS, MN US - ORIGIN SCAN
May 27, 2008 9:31p : MINNEAPOLIS, MN US - DEPARTURE SCAN
May 27, 2008 9:32p : VERNON, CA US - IN TRANSIT TO

Man this is killing me I have no way to watch a BD movie tonight my psu for the PC is getting replaced by OCZ for free! so I cancelled the new egg order. I returned my 5k on the 26 only to now have a fw on the 30th, now anticipating my refurb coming around the cornor if it indeed is a 5k Man ever since I bought into Sam's players I must be religious or something (hoping & praying)....well at least hope has been covered now I just have to prey for a 5k. Think I'm headed to the bar.

aman5's Avatar aman5
07:31 PM Liked: 10
post #208 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 1
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjr View Post

Has anybody been able to confirm TrueHD bitstreaming over HDMI? Vinnie97 mentioned only DTS-MA. What about direct downloading of the firmware via the network adaptor?

I updated my firmware via the LAN and got no dice on the audio details, no True HD etc. I downloaded the ISO from the web and what a shocker...its different i.e. newer. I just flashed my player a few minutes ago, going to test it out and confirm the HD audio bitstream (audiophile).
TIMS2SENSES's Avatar TIMS2SENSES
07:51 PM Liked: 10
post #209 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aman5 View Post

I updated my firmware via the LAN and got no dice on the audio details, no True HD etc. I downloaded the ISO from the web and what a shocker...its different i.e. newer. I just flashed my player a few minutes ago, going to test it out and confirm the HD audio bitstream (audiophile).

Still same update as this morning, just checked. Downloaded from the web site.
Ph8te's Avatar Ph8te
08:17 PM Liked: 619
post #210 of 885
05-30-2008 | Posts: 10,074
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIMS2SENSES View Post

Still same update as this morning, just checked. Downloaded from the web site.

People, usually the network update is a few hours to a day behind the web update...Remember the website isnt even updated correctly yet.....

Reply Dual Format Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3