BH200 firmware watch... - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
They took their sweet time posting this one if it's truly from June 20th. (Sorry, 20 June to our European friends.)

Downloading now...I'll apply it when it get home this evening.
allargon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the BH200 can't play DVD Audio (the lossless track at least) I wonder if this firmware fixes the DD+ "helicopter sound" issue that many have reported.
rveras is offline  
post #93 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 07:28 AM
Member
 
BobHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

Since the BH200 can't play DVD Audio (the lossless track at least) I wonder if this firmware fixes the DD+ "helicopter sound" issue that many have reported.


I just updated my 200 with the new firmware and I can confirm that it does not fix the helicopter noise on DD+. I was trying different discs and went from Moody Blues HD DVD Dolby True HD to The Golden Compass DTS HD MA 7.1 and they both played perfectly. I then went to Transformers HD DVD DD+ and immediately got the helicopter noise. I removed the disc, shut down and then restarted the 200 and tried again. Transformers then played fine. This is the same experience that I have had in the past with the 200.

As a side note, I was also not able to do the update via internet directly to the 200. I got a message that it couldn't find the update so I copied the new firmware to a memory stick and did the update that way. Perhaps my ethernet connection to the 200 was not working properly, but I don't think so.
BobHD is offline  
post #94 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Ubertrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excitement! Will upadte and try out Clerks 2 as soon as I'm home.
Ubertrout is offline  
post #95 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobHD View Post

I just updated my 200 with the new firmware and I can confirm that it does not fix the helicopter noise on DD+. I was trying different discs and went from Moody Blues HD DVD Dolby True HD to The Golden Compass DTS HD MA 7.1 and they both played perfectly. I then went to Transformers HD DVD DD+ and immediately got the helicopter noise. I removed the disc, shut down and then restarted the 200 and tried again. Transformers then played fine. This is the same experience that I have had in the past with the 200.

As a side note, I was also not able to do the update via internet directly to the 200. I got a message that it couldn't find the update so I copied the new firmware to a memory stick and did the update that way. Perhaps my ethernet connection to the 200 was not working properly, but I don't think so.

Ok what about the 5.1 PCM flagged as 7.1 PCM issue?
rveras is offline  
post #96 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobHD View Post

As a side note, I was also not able to do the update via internet directly to the 200. I got a message that it couldn't find the update so I copied the new firmware to a memory stick and did the update that way. Perhaps my ethernet connection to the 200 was not working properly, but I don't think so.

The update doesn't seem to be available via the ethernet, at least not yet. My connection is working fine and it couldn't find any new update either. Had to use the memory stick too.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #97 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovebuzz#836's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anybody checked to see if it disables any of the hacks, especially the DVD or Blu Ray Region changes?

831 Blu-ray Discs
70 HD DVD Discs
796 DVD's

lovebuzz#836 is offline  
post #98 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 11:23 AM
Member
 
static14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this update seems to have completely fixed the black level issue i was having prior to it. i am now experiencing much better blacks and shadow detail!

After more thorough experimenting i can confirm the colorspace/black level issue is absolutely 100% fixed!

Thank you LG!
static14 is offline  
post #99 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovebuzz#836 View Post

Has anybody checked to see if it disables any of the hacks, especially the DVD or Blu Ray Region changes?

The NTSC SD DVD Hack is still in place.
DCSholtis is offline  
post #100 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone post a link to the download, i'm not finding it.
davcole is online now  
post #101 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post

Can someone post a link to the download, i'm not finding it.

http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp
DCSholtis is offline  
post #102 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp

Thank you. Will download when I get home.
davcole is online now  
post #103 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 01:21 PM
Member
 
static14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on top of the colorspace/black level fix. i've checked all of my studio canal HD DVD's and the menus no longer lag or get stuck on the screen. (still no 1080p24 for studio canal titles though)

so far i have to say this update is tremendous!
static14 is offline  
post #104 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 01:49 PM
Member
 
knobby01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D/loading now.

Will check if it plays Planet Earth....HD-DVD UK

April's f/ware wouldnt had to revert to November's....

C'mon Bradavon you trying out the new firmware?

Matt
knobby01 is offline  
post #105 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 02:03 PM
Member
 
knobby01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any feedback with regards to an update to Profile 2.0.....?

Matt
knobby01 is offline  
post #106 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 02:27 PM
Member
 
knobby01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked, still doesnt play Planet Earth UK HD-DVD properly...

Matt
knobby01 is offline  
post #107 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schandorsky View Post

There appears to be a new firmware upgrade on the LG site:0620A

Sweet.

As others have said my BH200 finds nowt via the Ethernet connection. It's too be expected, it took a few days too appear last time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby01 View Post

C'mon Bradavon you trying out the new firmware

I am now. That will teach me for spending too much time working and not paying attention . I'll update the Mini-FAQ to reflect changes in the moment.
bradavon is offline  
post #108 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
emptychair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cobblestone Way
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobHD View Post

I just updated my 200 with the new firmware and I can confirm that it does not fix the helicopter noise on DD+.

Dang! That is the only fix I'm still waiting for .

Ye who now will bless the poor shall yourselves find blessing.
emptychair is offline  
post #109 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have access to any Blu-ray Region B or Region C locked discs but here's what I've discovered so far:

* Unsurprisingly the 20th of June upgrade installs fine on a Euro model (despite so far only being on the American and Canadian service sites)
* After applying the upgrade my BH200 was still set to SD DVD Region 0 and BD Region A (from the factory default SD DVD Region 2 and BD Region B)
* Die Hard USA Fox BD (Region A locked) still works fine.
* A PAL R2 SD DVD still works fine (Downfall)
* A NTSC R3 SD DVD still works fine (Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon)

The following remote hacks still load and work as expected:

* The System Information (Region Info) menu
* System, ATAPI and HDMI EDID Logs menus
* PAL/Blu-ray Region EEPROM menu

I can still change the BH200 from BD RA to BD RB or BD RC.

Lastly I can also confirm the Region Management Test CD loads fine and I can still change it from SD DVD R0 to R1 etc...
bradavon is offline  
post #110 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
badwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I was hoping that this newest firmware would fix the dropouts. I played Room with a View (HD DVD) and saw one quick video/audio dropout. After that, no further problems. I sure hope they are giving this a look as it can be very disrupting of a movie. Especially if it happens in the middle of an action scene.

Cheers
Willy
badwilly is offline  
post #111 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The LG BH200 has suffered from Audio/Video drop outs since launch. Personally I don't reckon LG are capable of fixing it, it's inherent in the hardware.

Both audio and video dropouts have been mention probably more than any other bug and we still have them. I don't think LG will ever fix them. That's just my two cents worth.
bradavon is offline  
post #112 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fistofsouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denton, Texas, Republic of
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to try and wait for the Network update version; any news as to if this fixes the issues with Clerks 2? If it fixes that I might go ahead and burn a disk.

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
fistofsouth is offline  
post #113 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 06:17 PM
Member
 
kiltie76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just loaded the new firmware. My Clerks II menu still doesn't show. Will keep playing around with it, though.
kiltie76 is offline  
post #114 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Ubertrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So yeah, it still doesn't work.

What does this firmware do, exactly?
Ubertrout is offline  
post #115 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I can say I was finally able to play my SUPERMAN RETURNS special features that weren't accessible before. It also seemed like I had a better picture? Seemed like the boot time was longer, however the load time seemed a bit faster?

Sadly, I still have the "helicopter" sound issue.
davcole is online now  
post #116 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fistofsouth View Post

I'm going to try and wait for the Network update version

Why? It took a good few days, maybe more last time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post

It also seemed like I had a better picture? Seemed like the boot time was longer, however the load time seemed a bit faster?

It seems no different to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubertrout View Post

What does this firmware do, exactly?

Not much: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...0&postcount=90
And: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post14318918

A few have mentioned some problem discs are now working.
bradavon is offline  
post #117 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks kiltie76 and Davcole. I'll update the Problem Disc thread.

Can everyone please re-test their problem discs with the 20th of June firmware and update the Problem Discs thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1002769
bradavon is offline  
post #118 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 09:25 PM
Member
 
BobHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

Ok what about the 5.1 PCM flagged as 7.1 PCM issue?

I can't say as I bitstream audio from the 200 to an Onkyo 875 and let it do the decoding.
BobHD is offline  
post #119 of 2794 Old 07-18-2008, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobHD View Post

I can't say as I bitstream audio from the 200 to an Onkyo 875 and let it do the decoding.


I'm talking about disc encoded with 5.1 LPCM like must Disney disc. On those disc the BH200 flags the output as 7.1 LPCM instead of 5.1 LPCM.
rveras is offline  
post #120 of 2794 Old 07-19-2008, 03:23 AM
Member
 
XFr123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It´s a step backwards on playing BD-R and BD-RE (authored with TSMuxer). With april firmware they played flawlessly, with june firmware player only says "Data Disc" and does not play back the movie...
XFr123 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off