Is my LG BH-100 Really Doing 480i via HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-03-2008, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm assuming that I got my BH-100 to do 480i, which is really cool. I'm assuming this because it says 480i on the front panel when I put in a DVD.

My BH-100 is connected via HDMI to a Lumagen scaler. In the Lumagen, I set up the EDID to tell the BH-100 that 1080p/24 was the only input format it could accept. So, now, when I put in an HD DVD or BD, the player outputs 1080p/24 (and says 1080p on the front panel of the LG). When I put in a DVD, the front panel reports it is outputting 480i.

So, my question is, is it really outputting 480i via HDMI? If so, this is yet another great feature of the BH-100!
Person99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-03-2008, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I need to try this dave, Did it show 480p on the display before you did the edid thing on your lumagen?

Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-03-2008, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

I need to try this dave, Did it show 480p on the display before you did the edid thing on your lumagen?

Athanasios

Yes. Before I messed with the EDID, 480p was the lowest resolution I could get it to output. Also, once it switched to 480p for a DVD, it would stay on 480p for HD DVDs and BDs. I would have to use the "resolution" button to get it back to 1080p/24.

Now, with 1080p/24 selected as the ONLY resolution supported, the LG automatically goes to 1080p/24 on HD discs and 480i on DVDs. No more "resolution" button pushing!
Person99 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-03-2008, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Wow HDMI 576i/480i output is good new's for people with standalone VP's....
cinema mad is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-13-2008, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Yepp I just tried it confirmed !
nashou66 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-16-2008, 09:05 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
damn...just sold my hdq! wish I would have known that...
Thanks
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-10-2008, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
shingdaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok I just want to clarify, when you run a 1080/24p signal out the bh100 do you have to toggle the resolution button to get that menu?

And when you do get 1080/24p output for bluray HD etc, are you saying it automatically reverts to 480o for SD dvd playback?

Also ahs anyone attempted to mody this player for region free placy-back etc?

I've got a scrapped bh100 that turns on occasionally I am willing to experiment with if anyone knows how to turn it into region free mode.
shingdaz is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off