LG BH200 "please wait" what does it mean? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 69 Old 09-29-2008, 03:38 PM
Member
 
jjsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG ED View Post

You don't need the original box. Anything w/at least five inches of protection is acceptable. You'll need to call LG 1st for return # anyway.
You'll find out then if its a go or no go.
Good luck!

Thanks Big Ed!

I received it back from LG on Friday.
Mailed it on 9/11 and got it back on 9/26.
Played with it over the weekend. Everything seems fine now.

Invoice says the same thing - replaced main board.

-jjsc
jjsc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 69 Old 10-21-2008, 01:49 PM
Member
 
snowrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I´m situated in germany and received the LG BH200 today. I plugged the powercord into my brandnew 220V->110Volt 50 Watt converter and made several adjustments in the setup - this took about 2-3 minutes. Afterwards I became brave and put in a blu-ray-disc. The disc drove in and the player powered off. Since then the player poweres off after about 3 seconds showing the lights and the scrolling "please wait" - the LED of the step-down-converter flickers depending on the work of the player. It seems it wants to start the disc but again power off. The player was bought at the end of august this year at "best-buy" and later purchased by auction at ebay.com
Do you have any idea of my (player-)problem. Please help!

Best regards

PS: please excuse my awful english
snowrabbit is offline  
post #33 of 69 Old 10-21-2008, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
herb s.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SE New hampshire
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is 50 watts enough to power player.
herb s. is offline  
post #34 of 69 Old 10-21-2008, 03:07 PM
Member
 
snowrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.... it should be!!???? Tomorrow I´ll try to reach another for testing. Please keep your fingers crossed for me (and the player).

Good night to europe, have a nice day to America.
snowrabbit is offline  
post #35 of 69 Old 01-26-2009, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Mid South's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by braves_fan3 View Post

The repair invoice said they replaced the main board - which is what customer service told me they were doing.

Does anyone know the part number for the main board? I'd like to replace it myself to save some $$. I called Partstore.com and they didn't have a listing for "main board".
Mid South is offline  
post #36 of 69 Old 01-28-2009, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
collin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
bump... can anybody look on their repair invoice or in their player for the main board part number?

thanks so much in advance.
collin is offline  
post #37 of 69 Old 01-29-2009, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenjabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by collin View Post

bump... can anybody look on their repair invoice or in their player for the main board part number?

thanks so much in advance.

+1. Also, does the main board simply plug/slot into a receptacle, or does installation involve soldering?
Zenjabil is offline  
post #38 of 69 Old 01-30-2009, 06:58 AM
Member
 
philosoninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone replaced the mainboard outside of warranty? How much did the part cost?

Thomas
philosoninja is offline  
post #39 of 69 Old 01-31-2009, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe the part is like $400 dollars. Send it in to LG under warranty or buy another one on ebay.

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #40 of 69 Old 02-02-2009, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenjabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Spackman View Post

I believe the part is like $400 dollars. Send it in to LG under warranty or buy another one on ebay.

Do you know for a fact that the mainboard is ~$400? Do you know the part number, and/or where it can be acquired?
Zenjabil is offline  
post #41 of 69 Old 02-02-2009, 09:26 AM
Member
 
MikeFossati's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenjabil View Post

Do you know for a fact that the mainboard is ~$400? Do you know the part number, and/or where it can be acquired?

I got my BH200 repaired in Switzerland, they charged around $120.-- for the mainboard. However no part number is mentioned.

Mike
MikeFossati is offline  
post #42 of 69 Old 02-03-2009, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Zenjabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsungmaster, any idea of the true cost and part # for the mainboard, and whether it's available from LG or elsewhere?
Zenjabil is offline  
post #43 of 69 Old 02-03-2009, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenjabil View Post

Samsungmaster, any idea of the true cost and part # for the mainboard, and whether it's available from LG or elsewhere?

The board will cost you about $375, these are not normally sold to a consumer you will have to go through an ASC.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #44 of 69 Old 02-03-2009, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Anyone have a clue as to which component on the board is most prone to failure?

"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is online now  
post #45 of 69 Old 02-04-2009, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenjabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsungmaster View Post

The board will cost you about $375, these are not normally sold to a consumer you will have to go through an ASC.

Thanks. BTW, does anyone know how long mainboard, etc. failures are covered under warranty by LG? Also, is the original receipt required to prove purchase date (no longer have it), or will serial # (date of mfg?) suffice?
Zenjabil is offline  
post #46 of 69 Old 11-08-2009, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like mine is now screwed. GF's parents ued this player or 9 months or so, I took it back last night (replaced it with Netflix version) and watched Serenity HD DVD this morning. Put in UP, that froze, and now the unit won't get past the 'Please Wait'. Ugh. What's the warranty on these?
GizmoDVD is online now  
post #47 of 69 Old 11-22-2009, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
cardinalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought my player Jan 09 and just the other day it started the never ending "Please Wait". I left it on for three days and nothing new happened.
cardinalli is offline  
post #48 of 69 Old 12-19-2009, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
narcopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western USA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yikes! Does this problem usually pop up after playing a HD DVD or are the chances of it happening just as likely with a Blu-ray or SD DVD?

I try to limit the use of this machine to just Region B Blu-ray disks and DVDs of other regions, including PAL. I have a better player for HD DVD (Toshiba XA1) and Region A Blu-ray (Pioneer 05).
narcopolo is offline  
post #49 of 69 Old 12-25-2009, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
armyscifiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since my unit was out of warranty, I opened the case and removed the drive itself. It is the LG GGR-L20N and it is a serial ATA standard drive that you can use in your computer. This way, at least it's not a total loss. I connected it to power and my motherboard and now I have a Blu-ray HD-DVD combo drive in my computer.
armyscifiguy is offline  
post #50 of 69 Old 03-15-2010, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I just got the dreaded "Please Wait" message at power up with Sarah McLachlan Mirrorball DVD inside. Tried the following:

Simply waiting for "Please Wait" to go away (after 40 minutes still no change).
Power cycle using power button.
Turning on using the eject button.
Power cycle using power cord.

Nothing worked. Unit is no longer in warranty. I guess I'll hook the drive up to a PC so I can recover my disc. Time to look at current players.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #51 of 69 Old 03-23-2010, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Power it off and unplug from the wall. Plug in the Player while Holding down either the power button or the eject button. it happened to me once on my BH100 and it still works to this day.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #52 of 69 Old 03-24-2010, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a try.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #53 of 69 Old 03-25-2010, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

Power it off and unplug from the wall. Plug in the Player while Holding down either the power button or the eject button. it happened to me once on my BH100 and it still works to this day.

That worked! You are my new hero.

Where did you find out about this? Don't tell me its in the manual.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #54 of 69 Old 03-25-2010, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Several months ago, someone let me have their old 5.1 receiver which seemed to be dead. He figured it was in some sort of "protect-mode", but didn't want to fool with it anymore. That same "power cord/cycle trick" brought it back from the dead.

And should my own BH200 go down, I'll certainly know what to try first.

"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is online now  
post #55 of 69 Old 04-22-2010, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, my Dad did something stupid and his BH200 now dose the dreaded endless please wait. I pulled it apart and got the part # EBR41821202 off the mainboard. Seems the partstore.com carries it but at $400 he just bought a new Panasonic BD player.
I guess the good news is I have a spare drive for one of my two BH200's in case one of those fail.
DenisG is offline  
post #56 of 69 Old 05-17-2010, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG ED View Post


LG customer service have "been very, very, good to me"!
Prompt & helpful.

wish i could say the same

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #57 of 69 Old 06-24-2010, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Tiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got the dreaded "Please Wait" scrolling LCD message tonight. Let it on for over 30 minutes and nothing. Turned off, turned on, unplugged, plugged back in - no avail. Tried the trick mentioned above - pulled the plug and held in the power button while I plugged it back in. Came back to life! Thank you Nashou66!

Tiga
Tiga is offline  
post #58 of 69 Old 06-25-2010, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiga View Post

Well I got the dreaded "Please Wait" scrolling LCD message tonight. Let it on for over 30 minutes and nothing. Turned off, turned on, unplugged, plugged back in - no avail. Tried the trick mentioned above - pulled the plug and held in the power button while I plugged it back in. Came back to life! Thank you Nashou66!

Tiga

Glad it worked for you. Lots of new Electronic deices are like dedicated computers. They need a PMU(Power Management Unit) reset. On my iMacs you hold the power button while plugging it in and it resets it. I gave it a shot on my BH100 and it worked.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #59 of 69 Old 08-19-2010, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
HD 335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

Power it off and unplug from the wall. Plug in the Player while Holding down either the power button or the eject button. it happened to me once on my BH100 and it still works to this day.

Athanasios

I also wanted to thank you for this tip. Picked one off Ebay for $65 that had this problem and was able to fix it. Awesome!
HD 335 is offline  
post #60 of 69 Old 08-23-2010, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD 335 View Post

I also wanted to thank you for this tip. Picked one off Ebay for $65 that had this problem and was able to fix it. Awesome!


I hope those e-bayers dont find this thread

The BH200 Is an awesome player!!!!

Wish it had caption re positioning like the Oppo though, i have a CIH CRT blend set up.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off