LG BH200 AVCHD playback DVD9 in 4:3 only, can't get 16:9 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Codename_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post this but here is what I used and it works perfectly.

I convert mkv files to AVCHD format using mkv2vob.
Set output type to AVCHD.
Set output file extension to automatic.
Set transcoding codec to x264 high bitrate.
Once done I burn using Nero Burning Rom 8.
Project type is DVD-ROM (UDF).
Under UDF tab set to manual settings.
Set file system version to 2.50.
Copy the BDMV and Certificate folders to the project and burn.
I am using TDK DVD+R DL media.
Works in both April 2008 firmware and the latest firmware released last week.
Codename_Falcon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
even if this worked, this is for making mkv files into AVCHD
if your original file is not MKV, then this won't work unless you convert to MKV first
this is going thru too many steps
many of these softwares have the ability to burn AVCHD disc and it does all the work for you
But these will NOT play in the Bh200

I would love to hear from other people who have taken MPG, M2TS, or other files and gotten the BH200 to play those on an AVCHD disc
detroit1 is offline  
post #33 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 05:08 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just tried Nero burning ROM 7 and chose DVD-ROM UDF, manual settings, 2.50
DID NOT work in the player, said disc error
I noticed a couple other settings
under partition type, I had Physical
under multisession, I had no multisession

let me know if I need to change the settings but the disc I burned did not work in the Bh200
these were mt2s files and I added the BDMV and Certificate folder
detroit1 is offline  
post #34 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Detroit1: Make sure you actually have the most recent firmware. From another thread, it's apparent you have the December 2008 firmware, and that one definitely does NOT play AVCHD of any kind. Only April 2008 firmware and reportedly the new one do play AVCHD.

The BH200 Mini-FAQ has the details on how to check your firmware version (scroll to the big "* Miscellaneous - Firmware" heading, it's directly under that).

I'm guessing yours is BH02081205A, which is the one from December 2008 (and is the most recent one on the website). BH02 is BH200 (2nd generation dual format from LG), with the remainder being the date (yymmdd format).

The fact LG hasn't yet published the new one to their website (or the March 2009 firmware either) is a big part of the confusion.
oilblue is offline  
post #35 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just did a firmware update a few months ago in March
if they have the Dec 2008 one on the site, that is ridiculous
there is a March one listed on this forum
detroit1 is offline  
post #36 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be annoyingly redundant, March 2009 is not the same as the "new one"*. March 2009 doesn't play AVCHD either. The "new one"* reportedly does. Please check your firmware version #.

*I don't have it yet, so I don't have the version #, otherwise I'd give it more specific name. I'm assuming it'll be something like: BH020907xx though it could be BH020906. June/July 2009 firmware at any rate.
oilblue is offline  
post #37 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 02:30 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Yup, March 2009 is also now old hat.

To clear things up for you, detroit (if you haven't worked it out yet):

The latest one on LG's actual site is from December 2008.
There is another one from March 2009 mentioned in this forum, yes, and that one was only ever leaked here by an LG rep (never placed on LG's site and never put on the update server accessible only by the player).
The only way to get the July 2009 firmware just released last week is to update it through your player, after making sure it's connected to the Internet.

Still lost? lol
vinnie97 is offline  
post #38 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Yup, March 2009 is also now old hat.

To clear things up for you, detroit (if you haven't worked it out yet):

The latest one on LG's actual site is from December 2008.
There is another one from March 2009 mentioned in this forum, yes, and that one was only ever leaked here by an LG rep (never placed on LG's site and never put on the update server accessible only by the player).
The only way to get the July 2009 firmware just released last week is to update it through your player, after making sure it's connected to the Internet.

Still lost? lol

I'm totally lost.

To help claify the latest firware, the latest version is BH02090630A. Technically released in July, but finialized in June.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #39 of 60 Old 07-22-2009, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
the LG people are idiots for Not putting the correct firmware on the web site
also, since there is a July update, the month is almost over, they should have put this on the site. I called them and they are sending me a disc
I am not in a position to hook it up to the internet at this point because of where the unit is. I like the normal way of putting in a USB drive or Disc and updating it; it is faster as well
detroit1 is offline  
post #40 of 60 Old 07-23-2009, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVCHD never worked for me -- not in this update, not in the April 08 firmware either. Yet these discs play properly in other BD players, the PS3, my PC, etc., so I doubt the authoring is the issue.

Samsungmaster told me some people have gotten AVCHD to work on the BH200 and others haven't, so there's clearly something not quite "right" with it, even in the firmwares that DO have it available.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #41 of 60 Old 07-23-2009, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I hope more people can post how they got AVCHD to work on the BH200
so far, I have only read 1 person writing in on that
I really want to get this to work
detroit1 is offline  
post #42 of 60 Old 07-23-2009, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
samsungmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

the LG people are idiots for Not putting the correct firmware on the web site
also, since there is a July update, the month is almost over, they should have put this on the site. I called them and they are sending me a disc
I am not in a position to hook it up to the internet at this point because of where the unit is. I like the normal way of putting in a USB drive or Disc and updating it; it is faster as well


I will post the latest firmware for the BH200 later today.

Life is Good
samsungmaster is offline  
post #43 of 60 Old 07-23-2009, 02:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM2006RI View Post

AVCHD never worked for me -- not in this update, not in the April 08 firmware either. Yet these discs play properly in other BD players, the PS3, my PC, etc., so I doubt the authoring is the issue.

Samsungmaster told me some people have gotten AVCHD to work on the BH200 and others haven't, so there's clearly something not quite "right" with it, even in the firmwares that DO have it available.

PS3 can play anything you throw at it even if it is not AVCHD compliant. Same story as PC. To test if your disc is AVCHD compliant, you need put on a real standalone BD player like Sony or panasonic player.

AVCHD has very strict format requirements. Check avchd-info.org for what kind of video and audio tracks are allowed on AVCHD disc.
I typically use TsMuxer to make sure the folder structure is correctly created and use ImgBurn to burn it as UDF 2.50.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #44 of 60 Old 07-24-2009, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


To test if your disc is AVCHD compliant, you need put on a real standalone BD player like Sony or panasonic player.

As I've already written twice in this thread, I have. I tried them on a Panasonic BD30 and a cheapo Memorex 2511. They all work on BOTH players.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #45 of 60 Old 07-27-2009, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had AVCHD working on my BH200 immediately after upgrading to the new firmware. I was using the AVSHD709 calibration disk (for Bluray) burned to DVD and it came up quickly and everything worked perfect.

However, after I went into the setup menu and changed everything to my preferences (Film mode, 1080p, primary pass through), then I could not get the disc to work again. It got stuck on 'reading' every time. I did not go back and test each setting, but perhaps this is something that others can test to see if one of these settings is causing the AVCHD discs to freeze and not load.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #46 of 60 Old 07-27-2009, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem isn't that they freeze, but that the BH200 reads them as DATA discs despite having the proper structure. Again, they work in standalone players.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #47 of 60 Old 07-28-2009, 05:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Try the AVSHD calibration disc posted on this site(you can search for the link in avsforum). It is an ISO file and see if it works for you. This ISO file is proven to be compatible with all AVCHD players.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #48 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 01:08 AM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Try the AVSHD calibration disc posted on this site(you can search for the link in avsforum). It is an ISO file and see if it works for you. This ISO file is proven to be compatible with all AVCHD players.

Tried the AVCHD iso of AVSHD v1.3...and no dice. Attempted burns with ImgBurn 2.4.4 on the following:
- DVD+R - changed book type to DVD-ROM
- DVD+R - no change of book type
- DVD-R

In each case, the BH200 deemed it a "Data" disc. FWIW, BH200 firmware is 02090630A.

Is there a crucial setting in ImgBurn that's commonly overlooked? Or is the new BH200 firmware still unable to play AVCHD?
oilblue is offline  
post #49 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 02:39 AM
Member
 
2shave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not problem playing my discs. However I need to state that I am using BluRay format on DVD. A handy little program called tsMuxer to make the file into BluRay format and then Nero (changing the settings to UDF 2.5) to burn. I've not had an issue with Mpeg2 or Mpeg4 video.
2shave is offline  
post #50 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDMV version of the AVS HD 709 DOES in fact work. Burned the folders with Imgburn (UDF) and the BH200 plays it properly as a Blu-Ray disc.

The AVCHD iso didn't work -- but the HDMV version does (specifically, this version: http://www.sendspace.com/file/43et9a)

As others have suggested, I will try producing a Blu-Ray disc (with a DVD) instead of an AVCHD disc with the multiavchd program and see how that goes.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #51 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it worked -- being burned as a BLU RAY disc, as opposed to AVCHD, the disc plays. That seems to be the trick here anyway...
DM2006RI is offline  
post #52 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
oilblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. Thanks for the extra info 2shave and the confirmation DM2006RI.

Course "BD format on DVD" raises another question...do these discs work in other BD players too? I'll try it out in any case.

Thanks again!
oilblue is offline  
post #53 of 60 Old 08-13-2009, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oilblue -- you're welcome.

My problem now is that the DVD discs I'm producing with this method have obvious "juddering" problems. The source itself is 1080i (ts files), and I've tried two different programs (tsmuxer and multiavchd) with this same file, but both produce the same result: DVDs with obvious "juddering" issues whenever the camera pans (i.e. herky-jerky movements) on the BH200. It's basically unwatchable. This time the discs have the same juddering issues on my other BD player, so it's not the BH200 that's the problem.

However, these files when burned as AVCHD play fine on my other BD standalone, and the .ts files themselves (when played back on my media "network tank" Popcorn Hour) have no such issues.

So again I'm stuck as to why I can't get this to work!! UGHHH!! If anyone has any suggestions as to how I can fix this problem, by all means let me know.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #54 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 01:32 AM
Member
 
2shave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For DM2006RI
If the files are Mpeg 2, then you can use videoRedo to stripe them to their elementary streams (audio/video) and then import those streams to tsmuxer. I've had that issue once or twice but they usually play on the bh200 fine but not the other players.
If they are Mpeg 4 then use Mpeg Streamclip for get the files to their elementary streams (You need to load the file in a round about way: instead of loading the file, go to the list and select batch list then add files. Select Demux to M2V and AC3. and check Fix Timecode breaks and do not skip any frame. Then you can import the two streams into tsmuxer. If you are like me and importing certain files captured from a certain satellite provider then note that those files are really 1088i and not 1080i. So the play back can be "shaky" on certain players that do not allow for files outside the standard range. The BH200 does not have issue with this but sony players (aside from the ps3) will not play files properly that are not 720p, 1080i,or 1080p. They don't work for weird sizes like 1088i.

For Oilblue.

You're welcome. The BD on DVD has worked on every player that I've tried that supports AVCHD. However as stated above I've had issues with shaky playback on SONY players when the source file is not standard size. You can always use Xilisoft HD converter to adjust the size from 1088 to 1080, but then you change the compression of the file and they generally will no longer fit on a normal DVD. Sometimes they will still fit on a DL-DVD, but usually the resulting file is too big for even that. That is one reason I love the BH200. I can fit a 1088i movie recorded of satellite, that is Mpeg4 compressed onto a normal dvd and watch it back in HD clarity. I can't do that with my sony blu-ray.
2shave is offline  
post #55 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2shave: can't thank you enough for the response. I'm going to give that a try -- and yes, my files are H264 recordings from "a certain sattelite provider."
DM2006RI is offline  
post #56 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 10:58 AM
Member
 
2shave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM2006RI View Post

2shave: can't thank you enough for the response. I'm going to give that a try -- and yes, my files are H264 recordings from "a certain sattelite provider."

You're welcome. You should be set now for everything. If you need more details just ask.
2shave is offline  
post #57 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: One step ahead of you
Posts: 8,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2shave View Post

You're welcome. You should be set now for everything. If you need more details just ask.

2shave, isn't H264 using 16x16 macro blocks? If so 1080 doesn't fit where 1088 does. I'd think that all 1080 would be on 16 row boundries (ie 1088) but I don't have any experience with those streams.

I have a feeling you guys are talking about the "other" HD streams than I get.
Jeff D is offline  
post #58 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2shave View Post

You're welcome. You should be set now for everything. If you need more details just ask.

IT WORKS!! 2shave you are a magician. If only I knew that before I went through a stack of DVD dual layer discs trying to get this to work! lol.

The quality is just phenomenal. Looks even better than the original stream playing off the Popcorn Hour. Very, very satisfied -- finally!
DM2006RI is offline  
post #59 of 60 Old 08-16-2009, 07:35 PM
Member
 
2shave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff D View Post

2shave, isn't H264 using 16x16 macro blocks? If so 1080 doesn't fit where 1088 does. I'd think that all 1080 would be on 16 row boundries (ie 1088) but I don't have any experience with those streams.

I have a feeling you guys are talking about the "other" HD streams than I get.

Not sure about the sizing. I just know what works and my theory (from experience) as to why the sizes don't work on Sony players.

As for the streams, the major Canadian provider transmits Mpeg2 at 720p. The American provider that advertises that it is cheaper then the other US provider transmits HD as Mpeg4 at 1088i. If I convert the 1088i file to 1080i then it will work on the Sony players, but the 1088i files don't play back properly. They appear to be to larger to display properly and make the screen roll.

Over the Air transmitted files (such as your local FOX, ABC, CBS, NBC and PBS channels for example) will broadcast either 720p or true 1080i. Both Mpeg2 encoded. These file look amazing when you put them on BluRay-DVD as they have much less compression then and Satellite provider. The "down" side though is that they are much larger (usually needing DL-DVD) since they have less compression.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DM2006RI View Post

IT WORKS!! 2shave you are a magician. If only I knew that before I went through a stack of DVD dual layer discs trying to get this to work! lol.

The quality is just phenomenal. Looks even better than the original stream playing off the Popcorn Hour. Very, very satisfied -- finally!

Thanks. Glad it works for you as well as it works for me. Just consider the wasted disks part of the costs of testing. I've learn much and wasted alot. I'm pretty satisfied now.
2shave is offline  
post #60 of 60 Old 09-04-2009, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I tried to burn the blu-ray files on a regular DVD using Nero 8 ROM and also with Imgburn
when I play the disc on the BH200, it starts playing but the Video is not smooth; it is hesitating every couple seconds so that also affects the audio; it is not watchable
I am wondering what software people are using to get this to work and play smoothly
I know I burned the disc right because the BH200 recognizes it and starts playing but not smoothly
please do post what softwares you are using
detroit1 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off