LG BH200 AVCHD playback DVD9 in 4:3 only, can't get 16:9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 60 Old 07-24-2008, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mscofield991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made a backup of Transformers from an HD-DVD, re-encode it into blu-ray format and backed it up on a DVD+DL disc. It does play and sounds great, but i'm only getting 4:3 format where the picture is squeezed to fit with the black bars on the side, not the usually 16:9.

I played the disc in a PS3, it works fine, displays 16:9 and the quality is superb HD.

I tried updating the firmware, but it would render the player useless playing AVCHD DVD disc. Revert back to the old firmware, i'm able to play the disc.
mscofield991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 60 Old 07-25-2008, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Hairston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record, if you make a "backup" of an HD-DVD with the main title encoded in VC-1, all you have to do is use TsMuxer to transcode the stream and select the "Remove Pulldown" and "Change FPS 24000/1001" (which is 29.976). The resulting remux should play flawlessly on the BH200 as long as it is burned correctly on a DVD+/-RW or a BD-RE.

HOWEVER... If you update to the latest (0602?) firmware, you are SOL. LG disabled support for AVCHD on DVD and BD-RE. Revert back to previous (0406?) and you should be fine for now.

I hope they re-enable this on later firmwares. It's really a great feature for those of us with HD camcorders. No need to buy yet another player. Isn't that the underlying reason why we purchased the BH200 in the first place? Definitely a step backwards on LG's part (in my opinion). Not pissed, but annoyed (for good reason).

Smell my Poop HERE!
Hairston is offline  
post #3 of 60 Old 07-25-2008, 01:16 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cant imagine why they disabled it. Nor can I imagine them not re-enabling it. But then if they do re-enable it. I will be sitting their 'imagining' why they disabled it in the first place.

Imagine all the ppl.
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #4 of 60 Old 08-25-2008, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Bruce Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with back-ups...but it only seems to happen when the aspect ratio is wider than 16:9. Anything truly 16:9 displays fine, but something 2.35 or others like that are forced into a 4:3 frame and obviously look very wrong.

I'm still on the April firmware...so I don't think that's it. Or do I need to go back to an earlier (March) firmware? Weird.

Any suggestions??
THANKS
Bruce Fan is offline  
post #5 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 07:50 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I burn an avchd to dvd+/-R, and am still on the 0406 firmware on this player, it will play?
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #6 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 07:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,223
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Aren't "backups" illegal copies?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #7 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Aren't "backups" illegal copies?

Depends who you ask. DRM says you can make a personal backup of digital media.

At the same time, they say you can't tamper or disable any copy protection schemes, so how do you make the copy?

Its a gray area. Studios will say its illegal. Advocates of individual rights will say its ok as long as its for personal use only.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #8 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
...catch 22....in my state it is not illegal to smoke marijuana, but it is illegal to posses it. So how do you smoke it if you can't have it in your possession

Okay to make a copy, just don't break the copy protection because that is illegal.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #9 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tripleM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

...catch 22....in my state it is not illegal to smoke marijuana, but it is illegal to posses it. So how do you smoke it if you can't have it in your possession

Okay to make a copy, just don't break the copy protection because that is illegal.

My backups play just fine on the BH200.
Friends & family have contingency backups also.
For home land security & self defense purposes.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
post #10 of 60 Old 09-17-2008, 08:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,223
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 670
I have zero "backups" of my 620+ titles and will never make any.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #11 of 60 Old 09-18-2008, 09:39 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 332
and now back on topic please
markrubin is online now  
post #12 of 60 Old 09-22-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone able to say whetehr Avchd plays on a firmware 0406 (or even 0318) lg bh200?
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #13 of 60 Old 09-25-2008, 07:55 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will assume that someone with the answer simply hasn't visited this site yet.
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #14 of 60 Old 09-25-2008, 10:36 AM
Member
 
PowerPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I have zero "backups" of my 620+ titles and will never make any.

Good for you?
PowerPC is offline  
post #15 of 60 Old 09-26-2008, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvmyjvc View Post

Anyone able to say whetehr Avchd plays on a firmware 0406 (or even 0318) lg bh200?

Why don't you just try it? Most of the posts regarding this subject indicate that the AVCHD playback disappeared with the June firmware, so I assume it works with the April firmware, but I haven't personally tried it.

FYI: The BH200, unlike many other units, lets you load previous firmware versions without any problem.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #16 of 60 Old 09-26-2008, 11:50 AM
Member
 
iluvmyjvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey man, you are so right. But having a 2 year old with a wife pregnant with twins makes it a little tough to get a usb flash drive and extend your arm out to the player to install the april firmware, only to find out it may have done nothing new. but you're right, when i find time, I'll try it out. And, i promise to report. i will make an avchd from the HV20 cam footage, dowloaded to pinnacle 12and on to dvd-/+ r's. and i will let you all know.
iluvmyjvc is offline  
post #17 of 60 Old 10-16-2008, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Bruce Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, for those that are able to play back-ups, are they only true 16:9 or 1.78 aspect ratio or wider? My true full 16:9 or 1.78 movies (like all HD TV shows) play fine, but movies with a wider aspect ratio (ie should have black bars on the top and bottom) are formatted into a 4:3 full frame.

I'm still on the April firmware.
Bruce Fan is offline  
post #18 of 60 Old 06-19-2009, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
has anyone heard any info on if the BH200 will play AVCHD with new firmware?

it is ridiculous that they disabled that on later firmware updates

many blu-ray players can play those; all Sony and Panasonic will play AVCHD
detroit1 is offline  
post #19 of 60 Old 06-19-2009, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: One step ahead of you
Posts: 8,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I have zero "backups" of my 620+ titles and will never make any.

I'm willing to bet you don't have kids, or a wife like mine.

My kids only have access to the backups, they don't have access to the originals. I should include my wife in that group because of the way she has treated her CDs over the years. Just throw 'em anywhere is her storage method. Needless to say she has tons of discs that are scratched beyond repair. She does the same with our DVD's, HD-DVDs, Blu, Wii games, music CDs... really anything round and made of plastic.

I honestly can say that the backup method has saved me more than once from having to go buy a replacement. Is what I'm doing illegal? I don't think so, not that the law would care about my feelings. But, my use is personal and there is a very real reason for it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

has anyone heard any info on if the BH200 will play AVCHD with new firmware?

it is ridiculous that they disabled that on later firmware updates

many blu-ray players can play those; all Sony and Panasonic will play AVCHD


There was a guess floating around here that it was because of a licensing issue. No one knows for sure, but it's been gone for a while so the assumption is that it wasn't by accident it was removed. The hope is, someone posted this, that the licensing requirements have been opened up a bit which may allow LG to enable playback those discs without any problem. These are just guesses, and we'd have to hear from someone on the inside to know for sure.
Jeff D is offline  
post #20 of 60 Old 07-20-2009, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Codename_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVCHD playback has returned with the newest firmware.
Codename_Falcon is offline  
post #21 of 60 Old 07-20-2009, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
just updated the firmware and tried AVCHD disc

DID NOT WORK. I am very disappointed. they should have enabled this feature. when I call them, they have no idea what AVCHD is
detroit1 is offline  
post #22 of 60 Old 07-20-2009, 07:57 PM
Member
 
BallsDeepX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

just updated the firmware and tried AVCHD disc

DID NOT WORK. I am very disappointed. they should have enabled this feature. when I call them, they have no idea what AVCHD is

Plenty of ppl are saying it has been re-enabled. Have you tried more than one copy?
BallsDeepX is offline  
post #23 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I just tried a 2nd AVCHD disc, DID NOT WORK
the first was made with Sothink HD maker, 2nd one was with Nero 7

what software are people using to make the discs that work
detroit1 is offline  
post #24 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With the new firmware, AVCHD works, but the player will still not play BD-R/BD-RE. In otherwords, you have to burn it to a DVD. For BD-R to work, you need to rollback to an early firmware (and give up some of the newer features)

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #25 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I am using regular DVD's. that is what AVCHD is
you burn HD content on a regular DVD. that is what I am doing
these discs play on my computer using PowerDVD and they will play on the Sony Playstation BUT they are NOT working on the BH200

I would like to know which software people are using to burn the discs
I have used Nero 7 and Sothink HD maker
detroit1 is offline  
post #26 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

With the new firmware, AVCHD works, but the player will still not play BD-R/BD-RE. In otherwords, you have to burn it to a DVD. For BD-R to work, you need to rollback to an early firmware (and give up some of the newer features)

That's definitely not the only problem. I'm burning them to DVD and like the above poster, it STILL doesn't work.

What programs are you using that enable AVCHD to work? I'm using Total Media Extreme, which works in conjunction with the Hauppage HD-PVR, and these discs work fine on every other platform I've tried (PS3, Panasonic BD player, etc.), but they DON'T work on the BH200. The other poster above is using Nero, and the BH200 doesn't work for him either.

Obviously whatever AVCHD capability there is in the BH200 is quite limited to specific authoring programs. Again, I don't understand why these discs work in other BD players but not the BH200. They read as "Data" discs, despite being authored as AVCHD and having the exact proper structure they should.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #27 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
yes I would love to have other people post what software they used to make AVCHD work on the BH200

it sounds like others have the same issue as me; the discs will not play in the BH200

I have yet to read anyone's posts about using these discs successfully
detroit1 is offline  
post #28 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DM2006RI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

it sounds like others have the same issue as me; the discs will not play in the BH200

exactly, it's not just you. I know for a fact my AVCHD DVDs are authored properly -- the BH200 just doesn't read them. Should probably PM Samsungmaster and see if they can't figure out what the problem is.
DM2006RI is offline  
post #29 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
To you guys that have discs that don't work, did you verify that they work with the April firmware?
allargon is offline  
post #30 of 60 Old 07-21-2009, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
they have worked at any time since I have had this player for over a year
I know it did not work with the March/April firmware either
I also tried those discs on the Playstation then and now they work fine as well as my computer
detroit1 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off