Which dual-format player is the best? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 11-24-2008, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen or done a comparison of all the current dual format players out there? I currently own an A3 and a A30, but no Blu-ray yet. I would like to get rid of the A3 and buy a dual format player, but I am new to these types of players. Basically want something that supports BD Live/Profile 2.0, HDMI 1.3, has ethernet, and would be nice if it was hackable too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 11-24-2008, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13
Neither supports BD-Live or internal DTS-HD HR/MA decoding. Both have HDMI 1.3 and Ethernet. The only dual player that lacks support for online HD DVD extras is the BH100. (However, some of them have Ethernet ports!) There are like 10 threads on this forum about this.

Advantages of the BH200
Region free SD DVD hacks
Roughly region interchangeable (but not region free in the purest sense) Blu-Ray hacks
USB port for firmware updates, memory expansion and playing multimedia files (mp3 and wma)
Longer factory warranty (1 yr vs 90 days)
There was a time when many felt LG's support was better, now the ball may actually be in Samsung's court

Advantages of the BD-UP5000
Reon video processing (but the QDEO on the BH200 is no slouch)
7.1 multichannel analog outs

Both players have issues with various (usually newer) Blu-Ray and (usually obscure, non mainstream) HD DVD discs.

Unlike your A3 and A30, the two players listed above have no deinterlacing issues while scaling SD DVD's or playing HD content at 1080p60.
post #3 of 24 Old 11-24-2008, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I owned both and find the BH-200 better in overall customer support. When it get right down to it....it comes down to which company will stand behind their product when issues come up.

tony4k
post #4 of 24 Old 11-24-2008, 12:41 PM

Liked: 23