BH200 and floating BD menus (a dumb question) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-11-2009, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Will Collier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there. I've had a BH200 for a couple of months now (BestBuy floor model), and I'm quite happy with it, but I do have a question--and probably a dumb one, but I didn't turn anything up in search--regarding Blu-Ray menus during playback.

I only have a few Blu-Rays (lots of HDs), and I freely admit I'm not that familiar with the format's quirks. I noticed at a friend's house that he can pull up a floating menu while watching the Rush Snakes & Arrows Live BD (for song selection in that case) on his BD player, but when I try the same thing on my BH200, it stops playback and goes back to a menu screen.

Is this a result of BH200 limitations, or what? I can get in-movie menus no problem with HD-DVDs (same as my retired HD-A3), but not with Blu-Ray. I'm updated to the most recent (December) firmware.

Again, apologies if this is a hundredth-time question. Quite new to this BD stuff.
Will Collier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-11-2009, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hit the pop-up button on your remote.

HD DVD uses the menu button. Blu-Ray uses the pop-up button.
allargon is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-11-2009, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Will Collier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

Hit the pop-up button on your remote.

HD DVD uses the menu button. Blu-Ray uses the pop-up button.

See, I told you it was a dumb question... but in my defense, I don't have an actual BH200 remote (floor model, didn't come with one), and had no idea there was such a thing as a pop-up button. Have to locate that one on the Harmony 880.

Thanks very much, I feel marginally less stupid now...
Will Collier is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-11-2009, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
360_4_EVER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Harmony uses "Disk Menu" for one and "Title Menu" for the other. Not sure which of those two actually is the popup menu, but I think it is Title.
360_4_EVER! is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-12-2009, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Will Collier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 360_4_EVER! View Post

I think Harmony uses "Disk Menu" for one and "Title Menu" for the other. Not sure which of those two actually is the popup menu, but I think it is Title.

It actually wasn't in the standard layout for "Watch DVDs" at all, although the Popup command is in the database. I mapped the "Info" button to Title/Popup, and now it works fine.
Will Collier is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-13-2009, 03:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah... that difference is quite mind-boogling

Hate when that happens and I press the wrong button... depending on what format I'm playing.

Is it just me, or do you guys finds that the "menus" on HD-DVD seems more advanced... the BD menus are more like DVD+
Meenenator is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-13-2009, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
360_4_EVER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Is it just me, or do you guys finds that the "menus" on HD-DVD seems more advanced... the BD menus are more like

That was one of my initial impressions when "going purple" for the first time too. The menus weren't as nice, and Blu disks loaded alot slower. I think much of what I missed, though, were the Universal style menus (which I got a lot of on HD DVD). I believe Uni uses the same style menus on Blu now too, though. I just haven't bought many of their disks yet on Blu...

And there are some nice menu systems on certain Blu disks. For instance, I think the menus on Sunshine are pretty cool/advanced. And Warner menus are pretty close to the same as their red counterparts. (From my experience wtih the Smallville seasons, anyway.)
360_4_EVER! is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-16-2009, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is good to know (for future disc purchases).

Thanks!
Meenenator is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off