BD-UP5000 1.6 freezes? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-26-2010, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Hopefully no-one will mind me breaking this into a separate thread...

A few people (myself included) are seeing freezes with 1.6 (I've had it happen a few times while watching Lost Season 2 and maybe Season 1 as well, can't remember exactly.)

In my case(s), I rebooted my machine, scanned to the scene in question, re-watched the spot it previously froze at and continued without any problems... so, I'm inclined to think it's not a disc problem. Also, I've never had *any* freezes prior to this, so again, that makes me suspect the firmware (I know it's not conclusive, but since others are reporting similar behaviour, I'm thinking it's not just my player).

If you're having freezing problems, please respond here so we can get an idea of whether we have a widespread problem or not...

Cheers,
Stuart
stpat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-05-2010, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatawan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Same problem for me post 1.6.
Fatawan is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-05-2010, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched Sherlock Holmes the other night and there was maybe 2 really brief screen pauses.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-05-2010, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might just be a co-incidence, but since I rolled back to 1.4, I haven't had any freezes...
stpat is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-22-2010, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
canky99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wondered this to. I also get freezes on f/w 1.6. Like the op i get it freezing but then is fine playing again at the same scene when rebooted, nothing unfreezes it unless turning on and off slightly annoying. Only seems to freeze for me on hd dvds. I imported
Mine as im in the uk.
canky99 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 04:15 PM
Member
 
dophin26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone post a direct link to this 1.6 update page? I tried Samsung's page and can't find it.
dophin26 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
canky99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dophin26 View Post

Can someone post a direct link to this 1.6 update page? I tried Samsung's page and can't find it.

they moved the page looks like they updated the US samsung website. Its actually at the below location. But im having problems loading the page, seems the actual page is down.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/downloads/BD-UP5000
canky99 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-10-2010, 07:47 PM
Member
 
dophin26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks. So, is the general consensus that this should be downloaded or skipped? I haven't been seeing problems with my current version.
dophin26 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off