*** The LG BH100 HD Super Multi Blue Player *** official owner's thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The firmware is "universal" the same for all the world, but if you contact LG in UK just say that you got the BH100 in the UK for argument sake....
cinema mad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 08:05 AM
Member
 
BRUCIE BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks ive contacted both us and uk lg see what happens ..Does the latest firmware update allow you to play spiderman all the way through instead of just sitting at the titles page other than this .. ihave had no problems with any other films
BRUCIE BOY is offline  
post #513 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 08:50 AM
Member
 
BRUCIE BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-----------Reply to Customer Enquiry------------
Thank you for your email. LG does not supply firmware updates for DVD players or recorders as these updates need to be carried out by an authorised engineer. If there is no fault with your DVD, you would be charged for this. You can locate a service centre near you on this website: http://ukasc.co.uk Best regards, LG Electronics UK Helpdesk Email: ukhelpdesk@lge.com ----------------------------------- LG UK Customer services Tel. 0870 607 5544 / 0818 27 6954 for Ireland Monday - Friday from 9am - 8 pm Saturdays from 9am - 5pm 36

Guess that sums it up is this the case ????
BRUCIE BOY is offline  
 
post #514 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
oscar_in_fw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRUCIE BOY View Post

-----------Reply to Customer Enquiry------------
Thank you for your email. LG does not supply firmware updates for DVD players or recorders as these updates need to be carried out by an authorised engineer. If there is no fault with your DVD, you would be charged for this. You can locate a service centre near you on this website: http://ukasc.co.uk Best regards, LG Electronics UK Helpdesk Email: ukhelpdesk@lge.com ----------------------------------- LG UK Customer services Tel. 0870 607 5544 / 0818 27 6954 for Ireland Monday - Friday from 9am - 8 pm Saturdays from 9am - 5pm 36

Guess that sums it up is this the case ????

Guess LG UK support sucks. I would download the firmware from the LG site and suggest finding savvy computer geek friend to burn a .iso file to disc for you.

BLU RAY - 53+PE (if your quantity is zero, you are missing out on too many movies)
HD DVD - 10 (if your quantity is zero, you are still missing out).
oscar_in_fw is offline  
post #515 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 10:04 AM
Member
 
BRUCIE BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-----------Reply to Customer Enquiry------------
Thank you for your email, We do not supply the firmware updates and as such we do not have any information as to if they exist, how much they cost or what they do. We would suggest you contacted a local service centre. website: http://ukasc.co.uk Best regards, LG Electronics UK Helpdesk Email: ukhelpdesk@lge.com ----------------------------------- LG UK Customer services Tel. 0870 607 5544 / 0818 27 6954 for Ireland Monday - Friday from 9am - 8 pm Saturdays from 9am - 5pm 58

THIS WAS MY LAST ATTEMPT FROM LG UK
BRUCIE BOY is offline  
post #516 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 10:22 AM
Member
 
BRUCIE BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok any nice friendly american or austrailian computer geeks like to help out a little ole english guy with a disc then id be eternally grateful mind u i have still to hear from lg us yet....
BRUCIE BOY is offline  
post #517 of 1394 Old 11-02-2007, 01:56 PM
Member
 
BRUCIE BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-----------Reply to Customer Enquiry------------
Firmware update is due out in mid-November. The firmware will be available on our website at http://us.lgservice.com and the firmware should correct the audio issues still affecting movies such as FF4: Rise of the Silver Surfer and Day After Tomorrow. The culprit has been due to FOX changing the way their copy protection works. If you have other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us again either via email, or by calling our customer service division at 800-243-0000 at your convenience. Amber Electronic Correspondence Executive (ECE) LG Electronics USA 800-243-0000

Now i know which lg site to contact UK should learn something from this hope this helps some of you guys n girls out...

ps will still be looking for a disc donor amongst you
bruce
BRUCIE BOY is offline  
post #518 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 05:01 AM
Member
 
knightl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check it out! The firmware update has been posted!
knightl is offline  
post #519 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightl View Post

Check it out! The firmware update has been posted!

Were? I checked on the LG site and can not find it. Also how to you check what the firmware version is?

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #520 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 05:48 AM
Member
 
knightl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Were? I checked on the LG site and can not find it. Also how to you check what the firmware version is?

i go here:
http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp

then click on the device driver icon.

then click on:
DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP

the first listing is the new firmware, 071101
knightl is offline  
post #521 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
fbrighi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello,

I see the firmware is available for USA LG Bh100 on LG Usa site.
I'm still waiting LG to release it also in italian site, it should be the same but i don't want to get risks.

Anyway, someone that have updated its US Bh100 can told us if it has fixed the problem and (speciallly) if there were (hopefully not) collateral problems (i.e. difficulty in reading other discs)?

Thank yuo and have good viewing,

BR

FKB
fbrighi is offline  
post #522 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightl View Post

i go here:
http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp

then click on the device driver icon.

then click on:
DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP

the first listing is the new firmware, 071101

Thank you, I got it downloaded.

How do you check what version is installed on the unit? I picked up a new unit this morning and want to see what version they are shipping with currently.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #523 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 11:42 AM
Member
 
knightl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Thank you, I got it downloaded.

How do you check what version is installed on the unit? I picked up a new unit this morning and want to see what version they are shipping with currently.

when you start the update process the current firmware version and the version you are trying to apply are both displayed. you are given the option to quit the update at that point.
knightl is offline  
post #524 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
RaleighVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded 071101a and installed on bh100. Played Silver Surfer F4 and worked beautifully. No audio drop at previously unbearable parts such as ocean freezing over in opening scene.
RaleighVideo is offline  
post #525 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 06:34 PM
Member
 
reedrothchild299's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will someone please tell me how they are making the update disc. I have tried using, Nero, Roxio, and Windows Vista's burning program and have had no luck. I must have wasted 10 discs already. I am following the directions by unziping the file and burning the file using iso mode. Is there more than one file cuz I see only one. Please help
reedrothchild299 is offline  
post #526 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Member
 
rpurohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fl, USA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded 071101a and installed the firmware. Played Silver Surfer F4 without a hitch. I used Nero 7 to burn the ISO image. First extract the iso file from the zipped download then from the Nero startsmart applications select Nero burning Rom. Click recorder on the menu, click burn image select the disk_update_071101a_kernel_023a.iso, click open, click burn. Hope this helps.
rpurohit is offline  
post #527 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reedrothchild299 View Post

Will someone please tell me how they are making the update disc. I have tried using, Nero, Roxio, and Windows Vista's burning program and have had no luck. I must have wasted 10 discs already. I am following the directions by unziping the file and burning the file using iso mode. Is there more than one file cuz I see only one. Please help

Try "DVD Decrypter" to burn. Some people have problems with Nero and the firmware updates for this player.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #528 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 07:52 PM
Member
 
reedrothchild299's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I tried again but no luck. I see that the file you put says iso at the end. Mine doesnt say that, do I have to rename the file?
reedrothchild299 is offline  
post #529 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reedrothchild299 View Post

Thanks I tried again but no luck. I see that the file you put says iso at the end. Mine doesnt say that, do I have to rename the file?

There are two files, make sure you download the right one.

1. Download disc_update_071101a_kernel_0203a.zip
2. Double-click on the file and extract the .iso file
3. If 'DVD Decrypter' is installed, double-click on the .iso file to burn, otherwise use the software of your choice.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #530 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do a google search for "DVD Decrypter", download and install it.

From there it's so simple. Unzip the firmware, tell DVD decrypter where the unzipped file is located then write it to a DVD disk. In this case no options to choose, just use the little program at it's defaults.
JimmyR is offline  
post #531 of 1394 Old 11-05-2007, 09:49 PM
Member
 
reedrothchild299's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont know what I'm doing wrong but it just keeps saying disc error on the player.
reedrothchild299 is offline  
post #532 of 1394 Old 11-06-2007, 12:40 AM
Newbie
 
fbrighi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello, firmware available also in Italy.
For the disc, are you using a dvd (+,-,+rw,-rw)? If you are using a cd (if the lenght of update allows you), bh100 can't read the cd-rom

BR

FKB
fbrighi is offline  
post #533 of 1394 Old 11-06-2007, 04:14 AM
Member
 
The Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reedrothchild299 View Post

Thanks I tried again but no luck. I see that the file you put says iso at the end. Mine doesnt say that, do I have to rename the file?

You shouldn't have to, mine didn't say .iso at the end and it worked perfectly. I think it's just the name of the file is fairly long and the .iso part gets dropped by Windows when displaying the filename.

As for getting the disc to work, first off make sure you're using a DVD-R or DVD-RW. CD-R and CD-RW's will not work, it's got to be a DVD-R or -RW (I'm not sure, but I think +R,+RW's will also work, but I can't confirm that, my computer only has a -R,-RW burner).

As far as burning the disc, I used IMGBurn, which is a free program and works quite well. Since this is the only thing I've used IMGBurn for, the price is right.

Silver Surfer worked without a problem once the firmware was installed, btw.
The Doc is offline  
post #534 of 1394 Old 11-06-2007, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doc View Post

You shouldn't have to, mine didn't say .iso at the end and it worked perfectly. I think it's just the name of the file is fairly long and the .iso part gets dropped by Windows when displaying the filename.

As for getting the disc to work, first off make sure you're using a DVD-R or DVD-RW. CD-R and CD-RW's will not work, it's got to be a DVD-R or -RW (I'm not sure, but I think +R,+RW's will also work, but I can't confirm that, my computer only has a -R,-RW burner).

As far as burning the disc, I used IMGBurn, which is a free program and works quite well. Since this is the only thing I've used IMGBurn for, the price is right.

Silver Surfer worked without a problem once the firmware was installed, btw.

I use DVD+R, no issues.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #535 of 1394 Old 11-06-2007, 11:52 AM
Member
 
reedrothchild299's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just talked to LG and it seems to be a problem with vista. They had some other people with the same problem call in so they are sending me a disc. Thanks
reedrothchild299 is offline  
post #536 of 1394 Old 11-06-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can this player output any of the HD audio formats over the HDMI or is it only via analog?

Also anyone have problems with Spiderman-3 before the update?

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #537 of 1394 Old 11-09-2007, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
voyager6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Can this player output any of the HD audio formats over the HDMI or is it only via analog?

Also anyone have problems with Spiderman-3 before the update?

Spidey3 played with the July update. However, the video behind the menus stuttered, but would play through and then loop and start over. After the Nov update, the video in the menus stutters even more, but accelerates and decelerates, sometimes playing two or three seconds at normal speed. However, at some point, the menu background freezes and no longer plays. Does the same thing in Cars. Cursor still works, so you can play the movie, so it is not a disaster, just a new bug. Acts like it lacks sufficient CPU horsepower to do the video overlay behind the menus.

I have noted other bugs in Cars in other threads.

Voyager6
voyager6 is offline  
post #538 of 1394 Old 11-10-2007, 01:57 PM
Member
 
GML57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Experienced the same problem with CARS using newest update...
GML57 is offline  
post #539 of 1394 Old 11-10-2007, 08:43 PM
Member
 
hirtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA 20148
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching Spiderman 3 now on KDF70-XBR2...Very nice. DVD Decrypter burned disk correctly and latest update fixed the issue

Thx all

rob
hirtr is offline  
post #540 of 1394 Old 11-10-2007, 11:32 PM
Newbie
 
AECHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by goods1010 View Post

please advise if anyone has experienced the following:

- attempting to play standard DVDs (i've tried 4 titles), bottom half of picture is cut off & scaling is way out of synch on what you can make out on the top half

- hd dvd movies haphazardly freeze picture + audio

- moving between scene selections on hd dvd, the audio emits a loud "squelch" when a chapter initializes

are there any firmware upgrades avail yet?

I am having the same experience with a Bh100 purchased 10/1/07. I just updated the units firmware with the latest from LG website (the 071101 version) it helped somewhat but I still have the problem.
I have it on Blue ray disks, HD DVD disks and regular DVD. I only see it on some disks. Most work ok. but Chapter 19 of Oh Brother Where Art Thou is totally garbled, but when I play this same DVD on my $39.00 walmart dvd player it is perfect !!!!
AECHO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off