*** The LG BH100 HD Super Multi Blue Player *** official owner's thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Good find, but not shore about region codes because I dont see any zone 2 number for europe (UK). By the way I love my BH100 had it for A while....
cinema mad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Camds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane -> Australia
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah they are all Hex values so it may not be as straight forward as a one to one number match...

I haven't had any problem with region 1 Bluray yet only Region 1 DVDs.

and I agree my BH100 has been great.
Camds is offline  
post #723 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
A while ago A LG tech was on the BH200 forum saying he was testing A new beta firmware for the BH200, which was released for A short time alowing the new HD codecs to be bitstreamed. He hinted that there were hack's for the BH100 and was supprised no one had found them "yet"....
cinema mad is offline  
post #724 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good find Camds. How did you come across it? Are you sure it's even an MR table you're looking at? It could be for anything.

He said there was a BH100 SD DVD MR backdoor hack and BH200 SD DVD & BD MR backdoor hacks. I imagine there is a BH100 BD MR hack too but I never asked. That's all I was able to get out of him.

I'm not "that" surprised the BH100 hasn't been found. While I can well believe it's a decent player it was an embarrassment for LG and thus nowhere near as many people bought it as they'd hoped. The more owners the more chance these hacks will be discovered.
bradavon is offline  
post #725 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Camds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane -> Australia
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if it's an MR table. The screen shot only says "EEPROM Edit Table" and there isn't any reference to what the values do... I found it going through a list of other LG Player unlock codes.
Camds is offline  
post #726 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

EEPROM is a generic word for Programmable Read-Only Memory, so that doesn't help us at all:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EEPROM

As you came across it while testing MR codes, you could be on to something, but where to take it from here is anyone's guess.
bradavon is offline  
post #727 of 1391 Old 04-23-2008, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
my guess is, the Eprom is holding the region code data. We jst need to find out which number needs to be edited to allow all region play.


Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #728 of 1391 Old 04-24-2008, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Camds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane -> Australia
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I was thinking the same thing (as all models from different regions use the same firmware).

If we get a few different lists of Values from different regions we may be able to determine which values we should change.
Camds is offline  
post #729 of 1391 Old 04-24-2008, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a good idea. It maybe an idea to post the remote hack.
bradavon is offline  
post #730 of 1391 Old 04-24-2008, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Camds:Australia



Mine:USA



Any one else? we need a euro shot. Pause,1,4,7,2

EDIT Looks like the first 4 sets of numbers will determine the region and possibly
what it should output with regard for NTSC and Pal for the respected SD DVD formats, what do you guys think?

here is the method for checking your firmwear incase some of those numbers also tell the firmware version

Setup>TV Aspect>Select 16:9> then hit 1 3 9 7 1 3 9>Enter




Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #731 of 1391 Old 04-25-2008, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may mean something else entirely too, don't forget that.

We also need to see a second USA and Australian shot, to confirm they match!
bradavon is offline  
post #732 of 1391 Old 04-25-2008, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

Camds:Australia



Mine:USA



Any one else? we need a euro shot. Pause,1,4,7,2

EDIT Looks like the first 4 sets of numbers will determine the region and possibly
what it should output with regard for NTSC and Pal for the respected SD DVD formats, what do you guys think?

here is the method for checking your firmwear incase some of those numbers also tell the firmware version

Setup>TV Aspect>Select 16:9> then hit 1 3 9 7 1 3 9>Enter




Athanasios

41 55 HEX spells "AU" in ASCII
55 53 HEX spells "US" in ASCII

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #733 of 1391 Old 04-25-2008, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well spotted.

What about: GB, UK? I've no idea what the ASCII abbreviation is. GB probably.
bradavon is offline  
post #734 of 1391 Old 04-25-2008, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

Well spotted.

What about: GB, UK? I've no idea what the ASCII abbreviation is. GB probably.

Look for these.

45 55 = EU
55 4B = UK
47 42 = GB

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #735 of 1391 Old 04-25-2008, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
So if someone has the guts to experiment and change the region code and see if a disc will play we might have something here!! And then they would change back to the original code of their player to see if it reverts back. It should work. We'd know more if some knows what on the player reads that eprom we want to change? If its the "region coding blocker" then we might be on the right track

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #736 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Camds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane -> Australia
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I still haven't worked up the courage yet
Camds is offline  
post #737 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

So if someone has the guts to experiment and change the region code and see if a disc will play we might have something here!! And then they would change back to the original code of their player to see if it reverts back. It should work. We'd know more if some knows what on the player reads that eprom we want to change? If its the "region coding blocker" then we might be on the right track

Athanasios

Where all weighting for you to be the first to experiment with this new fined Athanasios come on be the brave one....
cinema mad is offline  
post #738 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csundbom View Post

Look for these.

45 55 = EU
55 4B = UK
47 42 = GB

I tried these 3, no luck to get Region 2 coded DVDs to play on my US player. I guess we need a proper Euro snapshot.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #739 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
leo_bh100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings, I´m new here, but I do have a BH100, I bought here in Mexico, tonight I will post the screenshots of the EEPROM, so I can help with this.

Regards.

The best point of view of one´s soul is from beyond the edge of looking back
leo_bh100 is offline  
post #740 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
leo_bh100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I forgot to mention that my BH100 is locked to region 4.

Greetings

The best point of view of one´s soul is from beyond the edge of looking back
leo_bh100 is offline  
post #741 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by csundbom View Post

I tried these 3, no luck to get Region 2 coded DVDs to play on my US player. I guess we need a proper Euro snapshot.

When you put back the original numbers did it go back allright?
And did you try your normal DVD region and the Blu ray same region disc to verify if it would change anything.
Also it may need a reboot(restart and the 5 second type) after you change the code, did you try that as well?

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #742 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

When you put back the original numbers did it go back allright?
And did you try your normal DVD region and the Blu ray same region disc to verify if it would change anything.
Also it may need a reboot(restart and the 5 second type) after you change the code, did you try that as well?

Athanasios

Yep, I put it back and all is well. I rebooted after entering each setting. I think it may not be the first two bytes, other LG players seem to control region codes with bytes 4 and 7.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #743 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by csundbom View Post

Yep, I put it back and all is well. I rebooted after entering each setting. I think it may not be the first two bytes, other LG players seem to control region codes with bytes 4 and 7.

Could be so....the next two bytes are different on Camds( 00 8D) and Mine( 00 00) We definitely need a euro player shot.

Do you mean both bytes 4 and 7 or either 4 or 7 ?

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #744 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csundbom View Post

I tried these 3, no luck to get Region 2 coded DVDs to play on my US player. I guess we need a proper Euro snapshot.

What error did you get?

When you say Region 2 do you mean Japan or Europe? If it's a European R2 disc it's likely to be PAL too. So sadly won't work.
bradavon is offline  
post #745 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon View Post

What error did you get?

When you say Region 2 do you mean Japan or Europe? If it's a European R2 disc it's likely to be PAL too. So sadly won't work.

Same error: "Check disc". I tried a Euro region 2 disc. I suspect the player does support PAL; it would be silly to have two hardware designs. There are posts out there with people changing both byte 4 and 7 on some LG players to make them region free.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #746 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's an American Player it won't support PAL. There is no reason to give a North/South American Player PAL when no discs are PAL. AFAIK no discs released in North/South America have ever been PAL.

It won't be hardware but some software tweak. The BH200 is the same, no PAL support. There is a BH200 SD DVD MR Hack but on North/South American Player it only works with NTSC DVDs. It's common practise to make North/South American Player only support NTSC by default. Whereas European/Australasian Players support both.

p.s - Have you tried a non-R1 NTSC disc? Maybe from Japan R2, R3 or South American R4. I'd imagine a Region compatibility error would say something like "Wrong Region". That way you'd no for sure it's not a PAL error you're getting.
bradavon is offline  
post #747 of 1391 Old 04-26-2008, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by csundbom View Post

Same error: "Check disc". I tried a Euro region 2 disc. I suspect the player does support PAL; it would be silly to have two hardware designs. There are posts out there with people changing both byte 4 and 7 on some LG players to make them region free.

But id you also try a us version disc after to see if it also plays after the digit change? i was thinking then maybe that what the first two bytes are, to change from a NTSC only player to a NTSC/PAL player and then bytes 4 and/or 7 enable multi region play?

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #748 of 1391 Old 04-27-2008, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
iyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry can't give you a photo of the UK EEPROM settings but they are


44 45 00 82 00 05 00 40
iyoung is offline  
post #749 of 1391 Old 04-27-2008, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bradavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South West, England
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if setting it to 44 45 in a USA model will allow a Japanese R2 to work in an American Player.

It's also possible these numbers related to the language of the player, while it's likely UK models use American English, they may not.
bradavon is offline  
post #750 of 1391 Old 04-27-2008, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iyoung View Post

Sorry can't give you a photo of the UK EEPROM settings but they are


44 45 00 82 00 05 00 40

This works! I can now play Region 2 DVDs on my US player. Output can be configured to 576p/50Hz or 1080p/24Hz. In Region 1 mode, it enabled 480p/59.95Hz and 1080/23.98Hz. So the hardware supports both PAL and NTSC + the two HD standards. I suspect the last digit of byte 4 (2 in this case) has something to do with the region. Now, I wonder if there is a "region free" setting...

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off