*** The LG BH100 HD Super Multi Blue Player *** official owner's thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1391 Old 04-30-2007, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

I am a little confused about the 24 output on this machine.
I know this has been asked before but will it output 24 for both BD and HD DVD.

Is there a choice for 24 in the menu. All my equipment is 24 ready but even when using the Sony S1 I have to force it to 24 by selecting it in the menu. If there is no choice in the menu how would you get it to output 24. The reason I am asking someone else told me there is no selection for this.

There is an option to enable 1080p in the menu, assuming your destination equipment advertises this as supported through EDID. There is no FRC performed, it will output whatever is on the disc for both HD DVD and BD (most commonly 24p).

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1391 Old 04-30-2007, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Carl!
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #183 of 1391 Old 04-30-2007, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

I am a little confused about the 24 output on this machine.
I know this has been asked before but will it output 24 for both BD and HD DVD.

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Is there a choice for 24 in the menu. All my equipment is 24 ready but even when using the Sony S1 I have to force it to 24 by selecting it in the menu. If there is no choice in the menu how would you get it to output 24. The reason I am asking someone else told me there is no selection for this.

No. It will only output 1080P/24Fps if the attached device excepts that input. You have to select 1080P and then that is all you will get: 1080P/24..... as Carl mentions.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #184 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Would you still buy this player today at, say, $750?

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #185 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 11:58 AM
Member
 
ctreesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southbend IN
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an interesting, but very cool situation with my use of a BH-100. This so far is making me very happy, as I have a stunning picutre and awsome sound, and so far no problems at all with my player, except one that is not the fault of the player...

My system...

BH100 @1080p24----->hdmi cable---->hdcp stripper----->DVDO VP50----->RGBHV out at 1080p60 via BNC high quality cables---->analog RGB ILA projector.

Three notes right off the top:

#1. I have been told that its not possible to do 1080p over RGB.
Wrong--Im doing it, its awsome, trust me, it works, its just rare.

#2. My projector is a ILA, not D-ILA system based on CRT's hybrided with a 3000 Watt Xenon lamp. The results are ture 1080p60 full res, no screen door, at killer brightness. (about 6000 lumens).

#3. You can find these on ebay dirt cheep, but dont be fooled, its a LOT of work to set up something like this in your home. I dont recomend it if you have a wife or a life. You'll loose both.

======

The BH100 has 3 things that I can not find any place else on any other current product ,that make it, in my opnion, the best DVD player you can get period.

#1. It plays both HD DVD and BluRay Moives. No other player dose this.
#2. It plays them both at 1080p24 native out over its hdmi port.
#3. Its built in 5.1 audio decoder works with dd, dts, pcm and its awsome. Plus it bost being able to do the new high-end audio formats such as uncompressed 5.1 pcm, dolby ture hd, dolby digital plus, and dts-hd, and dts-master aduio.

Point 1 - Being able to play both is the point. I know the hd dvd menus are not as prety, and never will be, but not a big deal. I have played several hd dvd movies in my player, and they all worked fine, and looked great.

Point 2 - 1080p24. Ok, at first this kinda confused me, but I have come to realize that this the native rate that high-def disks are encoded in, and beeing able to play these out its digital hdmi port at this native frame rate is a HUGH PLUS for those of us with out-board scalers such as the dvdoVP50.
People with scalers will tell you that you want your scaler to have the most native video signal comming too it, to allow its awsome chips to do ALL the work of scaling and framrate conversion, and transcoding. If this player did output 1080p60, (dont get me wrong, I wish it did as an option) you can bet that the chip that dose the native converion betwen 24fps and 60fps would be a cheep one to keep costs down. But giving us the option to feed 24fps to the scaler and letting its $3000 chips do the work results in a better preformace on the screen.
1080p60 would have been nice tho, since only a few lucky people with rare expensive scalers, or extreem high end plasma tv's will be able to use this player at 1080p. 1080p60 would have opend the door to every 1080p display device out there with an hdmi port.

Point 3 - If you have not heard the new high end audio codecs on these high def disks your missing out. I have to commend LG for putting in an analog out decoded that deals with almost every audio format including DTS-Lossless---the first EVER consumer prodcut to let us hear this killer sound format.


======
I know there are some issues too tho. HDMI Auido issues are a big problem. 2 of the best to high-def auido formats are limmited to stereo rather then 5.1. There is a known issue with 1080i over Y Pb Pr with flicker. But if your lucky enough to have a TV that support 1080p24, and a 5.1 audio system with analog in's, this is a perfect player for you.


I spoke of a problem before that is not the fault of LG's player. Its a lip-sync issue with the new high-end auido format. I think the player is outputting prefect sync with its video over hdmi and its analog auiod out. The thing is, in my case, since I feed the vidoe ther an outboard scaler, this adds a video delay.

DVDO though of this and provided a 5.1 digital pass thru for fiber, but since fiber wont carry the high-def audio, how then do I delay 5.1 analog audio?
ctreesh is offline  
post #186 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrimore View Post

Would you still buy this player today at, say, $750?


Most Deffinatly, i might buy two at that price!!

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #187 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctreesh View Post

DVDO thought of this and provided a 5.1 digital pass thru for fiber, but since fiber wont carry the high-def audio, how then do I delay 5.1 analog audio?

I ran into the same issue with analog multi channel delay. My pre-pro does not offer this ability on analog multi and the LG source does not have any audio delay controls. I started looking around for an external solution and have yet to find something for less than $600.

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #188 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry928 View Post

I ran into the same issue with analog multi channel delay. My pre-pro does not offer this ability on analog multi and the LG source does not have any audio delay controls. I started looking around for an external solution and have yet to find something for less than $600.


Most dvd players dont have audio delay controls ,that you will only find in recievers and v/p, and the latter wont have analog delay .My Outlaw audio has delay for all digital and analog. Also i dont have any delay issures wiht the analog out to my adcom 830 but i do with coax outs so i use strictly analog out.

Athansios
nashou66 is offline  
post #189 of 1391 Old 05-05-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My VP and display add 65ms of picture delay so if I use the analog output of the LG the lip sync is off by 4 frames. My cheap little oppo 970 has audio delay built in so I was hoping the LG would also have that ability. My audio pre-pro Arcam AVP700 forces multi channel analog into direct mode so I cannot set it back into the digital processing circuit to add lip sync delay. I could add delay for 4 of the channels with this lexicon and pickup a 2 channel unit for the center and sub but that is $600 so I have not pulled the trigger.

http://www.lexiconpro.com/ProductInd...x?ProductID=11

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #190 of 1391 Old 05-07-2007, 01:34 PM
Member
 
ctreesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southbend IN
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a list of confrimed AV receiver/amplifers that will take all the high-def sound formats and are known to work with the LG player over hdmi? If so, I could push the audio and video into my VP, and add audio delay to the HDMI out, and thus use the AV receiver as auido only. My video would come out the VP RGB port.

Carey
ctreesh is offline  
post #191 of 1391 Old 05-12-2007, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Lanurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read about it on this forum. I saw it at Best Buy. I bought it. I hooked it up to my HP PL4245N Plasma TV via component cable (1080i) and my Marantz SR7400 AVR via optical cable. I updated the firmware. I watched Swordfish HD DVD with Dolby 5.1. I watched Lord of War Blu-Ray with DTS ES. I love this forum. I love my equipment. I love Hi-Def. I love my ex-wife for divorcing me!!!

Lanurd is offline  
post #192 of 1391 Old 05-12-2007, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanurd View Post

I read about it on this forum. I saw it at Best Buy. I bought it. I hooked it up to my HP PL4245N Plasma TV via component cable (1080i) and my Marantz SR7400 AVR via optical cable. I updated the firmware. I watched Swordfish HD DVD with Dolby 5.1. I watched Lord of War Blu-Ray with DTS ES. I love this forum. I love my equipment. I love Hi-Def. I love my ex-wife for divorcing me!!!

LOL! Is this what Alan Greenspan meant by "irrational exuberance"?
bferr1 is offline  
post #193 of 1391 Old 05-18-2007, 08:50 AM
Member
 
GML57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone attempted the latest firmware upgrade? It was posted to the LG site on May 3. The file is an .iso file which can only be saved to DVD as a datafile...I know several people, including myself, that have tried to use it according to instructions twice. It won't work. I installed the previous firmware upgrade with no problem. When I spoke with customer service (5 people yesterday) they gave me conflicting solutions...and finally offered to send me a disc. We'll see. They indicated the primary benefit to this upgrade was for audio...maybe multichannel TrueHD at last? If you were able to use the firmware from the site, please post exactly how you did it... Thanks!
GML57 is offline  
post #194 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 03:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
A ISO file is usually a disk image file, of a DVD or CD, it's almost like a compressed backup or a ZIP file. And you don't just "save" a ISO file to a DVD or CD as a data file. You must use a disk burning program like Nero or Roxio which will take the ISO image file, convert it from being a ISO, and then burn it as a working data DVD or CD.
Johnla is online now  
post #195 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GML57 View Post

Has anyone attempted the latest firmware upgrade? It was posted to the LG site on May 3. The file is an .iso file which can only be saved to DVD as a datafile...I know several people, including myself, that have tried to use it according to instructions twice. It won't work. I installed the previous firmware upgrade with no problem. When I spoke with customer service (5 people yesterday) they gave me conflicting solutions...and finally offered to send me a disc. We'll see. They indicated the primary benefit to this upgrade was for audio...maybe multichannel TrueHD at last? If you were able to use the firmware from the site, please post exactly how you did it... Thanks!

Did it yesterday, no problems at all. I used DVDDecrypter as the burning program. Just burned the ISO to a blank DVD+R, put it in the player and pressed Play. Worked perfectly.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #196 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 09:00 AM
Member
 
GML57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess the only thing I did differently was this: when I loaded the disc into the player, I pressed the open/close button as instructed by the customer service person at LG. At no time did I press the play button. After about five seconds, the disc ejected itself.

So you put the player in the drawer and hit play as opposed to the open/close button?
GML57 is offline  
post #197 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I'm pretty close to taking the plunge on this unit but I can't seem to find it anywhere with a price much lower (if at all) than MSRP. Is that the market reality at this point or am I missing something?

I would like to wait for the next gen on the dual units but I don't think that is going to work for me and I will probably want to buy in the next week (or even next few days).

thanks for any ideas.
Jack D is offline  
post #198 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GML57 View Post

I guess the only thing I did differently was this: when I loaded the disc into the player, I pressed the open/close button as instructed by the customer service person at LG. At no time did I press the play button. After about five seconds, the disc ejected itself.

So you put the player in the drawer and hit play as opposed to the open/close button?

This was my sequence:

1. Turn player on (no disc in tray).
2. Press Eject
3. Put disc in
4. Press Eject
5. Splash-screen shows up instructing you to press Play, which I did.

Sounds like you have a problem getting the player to recognize your disc. Mine showed up as "LG Disc" in the upper left icon thingy.

Try a different burn-speed or different media.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #199 of 1391 Old 05-19-2007, 11:20 PM
Member
 
GML57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Carl. DVDDecrypter did the trick... Previously, I'd been using Nero to burn the file to disc.
GML57 is offline  
post #200 of 1391 Old 05-20-2007, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
 
mattmarsden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it do TrueHD multichannel yet?
mattmarsden is offline  
post #201 of 1391 Old 05-20-2007, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
csundbom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GML57 View Post

Thanks, Carl. DVDDecrypter did the trick... Previously, I'd been using Nero to burn the file to disc.

Great! Nero may do some validation on the DVD Label name that may screw things up. The disc has a very funky label containing non-alphabetic characters.

Carl Sundbom
New York Video Calibration
(646) 483-2419
http://www.ny-calibration.com
csundbom is offline  
post #202 of 1391 Old 05-20-2007, 10:15 AM
Member
 
GML57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest firmware upgrade does not address multichannel TrueHD, but it has helped DTS. I have an import HD-DVD of ELEPHANT MAN that has DTS English, French and German tracks. The English tracks would not play at all until I installed this upgrade. The French and German tracks were fine previously. The tracks are identified as "DTS HD Mono" on the package... The English track is two channel mono and plays fine now.
GML57 is offline  
post #203 of 1391 Old 05-20-2007, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased this unit yesterady. I played a rental BR movie (stranger than fiction) and after about 30 minutes I noticed severe audio drop out. I ejected the disc, reinserted it and then no problem for the rest of the film. I have the March firmware.

Anyone else noticed any audio dropouts with the March firmware? From the little that is posted here the view is that the new FW seems to have solved the problem but is that really the case?

I'm connecting audio via coax to a Meridian processor and using bitstream and standard 5.1 (instead of PCM 5.1) from within the LG.

thx

PS. I had been using a loaner Samsung BR player and in the short time I've had this player the PQ seems better. One problem with the version of the Samsung I had was that, for some reason, it would only output 1080i. I wonder if that explains the PQ difference. BTW I'm connecting the LG via HDMI to a Crystalio II video processor. I can see from the information shown in the Crystalio that the LG is, indeed, outputting 1080p 24hz which the CII adjusts to 1080p 60hz for my plasma, which doesn't handle 24 hz (Panasonic PDP 659PF).
Jack D is offline  
post #204 of 1391 Old 05-22-2007, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread doesn't seem to be very lively!

Well I've now played one BR movie, two episodes of Planet Earth BR, and the Matrix HD DVD on this player. During the BR movie there was a severe sound drop out which was cured with an eject and reinsert. The Planet Earth episodes had no problems. Then tonight one small section of The Matrix stuttered. I ejected and reinserted and same problem in the same place. After that the movie played fine.

I don't know what to think at this point. I'm not sure what's going on. Anyone with similar experiences?
Jack D is offline  
post #205 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Blindeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack D

I have also had some audio/image dropouts since I updated the firmware. Latest titles were Pursuit of Happyness, (BR) and The Hitcher. (HD) No issues yet with Planet Earth (HD) or about 10 other titles I have watched. Discs looked great. Hard reset seamed to work but i am getting a little worried and tired of the issues....

My collection = http://www.invelos.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Blindeye
Please Blu, Get me Strangelove!
Blindeye is offline  
post #206 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Nasty N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lake in the hills IL
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does this player really output DTS-MA and TrueHD over 5.1 for both BR and HD DVD? Or is it DTS-HD. I had read a while back it would not do TrueHD at all? I could really care less about the menu screens as long as I could play all HD and great audio in one package.

Nate

www.NastyPerformance.com

10,000 Watts, custom built speakers, 10' CIH screen = Holy Crap
Nasty N8 is offline  
post #207 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindeye View Post

Jack D

I have also had some audio/image dropouts since I updated the firmware. Latest titles were Pursuit of Happyness, (BR) and The Hitcher. (HD) No issues yet with Planet Earth (HD) or about 10 other titles I have watched. Discs looked great. Hard reset seamed to work but i am getting a little worried and tired of the issues....

Yeah I'm unsettled myself. I still am within the return period. I really wonder if it would be better to get two separate machines. I know there would other problems related to that approach but at least there would not be disruptions during films.

When you say "video dropouts" what exactly do you mean? In my case, the image just froze for a few seconds and the sound dropped and then it would stutter a few frames. Just in one section of The Matrix. Also, did you mean that after resetting the section of the moive where you had experienced the video problems played without further complications?


thx.
Jack D is offline  
post #208 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasty N8 View Post

Does this player really output DTS-MA and TrueHD over 5.1 for both BR and HD DVD? Or is it DTS-HD. I had read a while back it would not do TrueHD at all? I could really care less about the menu screens as long as I could play all HD and great audio in one package.

Nate

Doesn't do TrueHD for 5.1 only 2 channel.
Jack D is offline  
post #209 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
Blindeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack D,

With the Pursuit of Happyness, I had audio but no Video. First time that has ever happened. It started like a freeze then picture went dark and audio kept going. Checked the disc and it look good. I powered down restarted the movie and no more issues. I also am just noticing that you can't play Liar's Dice game on POTC: Dead's Man's chest... Let's hope for another firmware update from LG...I am not going to hold my breath though... I was lucky to get this player from my local Comp USA before the store closed out for 599$ but with that came no return option. I am kind of kicking my self for adopting so early...It's hard to explain to the wife why it does not always work...

My collection = http://www.invelos.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Blindeye
Please Blu, Get me Strangelove!
Blindeye is offline  
post #210 of 1391 Old 05-23-2007, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindeye View Post

Jack D,

With the Pursuit of Happyness, I had audio but no Video. First time that has ever happened. It started like a freeze then picture went dark and audio kept going. Checked the disc and it look good. I powered down restarted the movie and no more issues. I also am just noticing that you can't play Liar's Dice game on POTC: Dead's Man's chest... Let's hope for another firmware update from LG...I am not going to hold my breath though... I was lucky to get this player from my local Comp USA before the store closed out for 599$ but with that came no return option. I am kind of kicking my self for adopting so early...It's hard to explain to the wife why it does not always work...

I just watched the second Matrix movie and I had the same problems again. One part of the moive got all stuttery on the video side and the audio dropped in and out. I let it go and after a few minutes it cleared up and the rest of the movie played without problems.

I'm starting to think that I should get rid of this machine and just get separate BR and HD players. It was a good idea but it doesn't seem that it is properly implemented. I'm going to try a few more movies before I give up for good.
Jack D is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off