LG BH100 Combo Player Quick Review - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 368 Old 02-20-2007, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Jerry Gardner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petersun View Post

Since the 2nd Generation Blu-Ray players are coming out in March/April, I don't have a problem waiting for those.

Which 2nd gen players are coming out in March/April? The only one I'm aware of is the Samsung 1200.

$300 HDMI cables? P.T. Barnum would have been proud.
Jerry Gardner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 368 Old 02-20-2007, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jedi, If you don't care for special features on a DVD, I doubt you'll care for them on HD-DVD or Bluray.

I got mine today. I was shipped form CircuitCity.com and was clearly a previous return (although I didn't get the open box discount). December build. I sampled all three types of movies and all looked great. I am using video via HDMI and audio via 5.1 analog. I didn't even try audio over HDMI after all of the reports here. I thought both video and audio were fine. Even SD upscaling on the "Finding Nemo" scene everyone complains about was fine. I am able to receive 1080p via this unit because my PRO-FHD1 accepts 1080p/24. The unit showed a few signs of bugs (basically locking up when trying to eject), but this IS a December build.

The unit housing is probable the worst thing since the "new look" of the series 2 tivos. My 1980's VCR looked more modern than this thing BUT it stays behind closed doors so who cares!
ckelly33 is offline  
post #183 of 368 Old 02-20-2007, 11:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post

Jedi, If you don't care for special features on a DVD, I doubt you'll care for them on HD-DVD or Bluray.

I got mine today. I was shipped form CircuitCity.com and was clearly a previous return (although I didn't get the open box discount).

If it was me. I would be complaining to them rather loudly about being sent a returned unit!
And I'd also be complaining for being charged full price for it, like as if it was a new in box unit.
Johnla is offline  
post #184 of 368 Old 02-20-2007, 11:24 PM
Member
 
petersun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Gardner View Post

Which 2nd gen players are coming out in March/April? The only one I'm aware of is the Samsung 1200.

Supposedly Panasonic is putting out a DMP-BD10A product that's rumored to have DTS MA lossless support and HDMI 1.3. Basically, a slight upgrade to the BD10.

I was thinking of trying the 1200 in March and if that doesn't work, the BD10A in April.
petersun is offline  
post #185 of 368 Old 02-20-2007, 11:29 PM
Member
 
petersun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jediphish View Post

My a/v receiver does not decode HDMI audio and I have no plans to upgrade in the near future. It does have 7.1 channel analog audio inputs. My TV can accepts a 1080p24hz signal (it will convert it to 768p72hz) via HDMI.
I don't have a BD or HD-DVD player currently.

I would like to be able to hear all the possible HD audio formats that BD and HD-DVD can offer, as well, I'd like to feed a 1080p24hz signal that is direct from the disc (not re-built in the digital domain, meaining no interlace/de-interlace step).

Other than the interactive layer of HD-DVD, which I understand the LG unit does not do, is there anything I would be giving up that is available in other players if I buy the LG?

The only things you give up are 1080p upconversion of SD-DVD (it only supports 1080i upconversion). 5.1 instead of 7.1 you get from the Panasonic blu-ray player. Lack of DVD-A support like the Pansonic blu-ray player. No 5.1 TruHD like the Toshiba XA2 (only 2 channel).

Other than that, the LG is probably one of the more complete packages you'll see.
petersun is offline  
post #186 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by petersun View Post

The only things you give up are 1080p upconversion of SD-DVD (it only supports 1080i upconversion). 5.1 instead of 7.1 you get from the Panasonic blu-ray player. Lack of DVD-A support like the Pansonic blu-ray player. No 5.1 TruHD like the Toshiba XA2 (only 2 channel).

Other than that, the LG is probably one of the more complete packages you'll see.

And lack of CD playback like you'd get from the Panasonic BD10.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #187 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
jeffshome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterShipp View Post

Peter,

You had a defective unit. I hope you told the retailer when you returned it so someone else didn't get it. There have been a few of the original units (December build date) that had this problem. We have tested every unit before installing it and only had this problem on the first one. All players we are receiving now have a build date of January. January units also have a later firmware date than the December ones so I think they must have fixed something, or there was a hardware issue.

I checked yesterday and there has yet to be an official firmware release to ASC's with any feature changes but I'm told it's in the works.

If that was your main issue I would get another one.

How do you tell the firmware version? What version is known to have a problem? I must have one of the Dec. build date units as I am also seeing freezing with FF, RW & Pause on Blu-ray King Kong and Superman Returns.

UPDATE: I finished watching Superman Returns today and it played perfectly. I'm stumped as to why one day it froze and hung and today it's playing fine. Yesterday I had cleaned the disc even though it was in pristine condition. I even powered off the unit a few times. Today I simply power up the unit and started playing the movie and it seems great. I even reloaded the disc a few times to see if maybe it was a loading issue but each time today it played fine. I also played an HD DVD movie and then played Superman Returns and everything played fine.
So if you experience freezes on FF, RW or Pause it could just be "sunspots"!
jeffshome is offline  
post #188 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone able to open the disc tray from the "off" position? Mine locks up everytime.
ckelly33 is offline  
post #189 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried that function today and it worked normally. No lock ups.

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #190 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess it is the December build.

Anyway, I called Circuit ity.com in regards to the "Open Box" which was sent out instead of the NEW FULL PRICE unit I had selected and paid for. The lady on the phone couldn't care less. When I told her of the problems I've been having with the lockups and that likely, this is why it was returned. She still didn't give a crap. She told me to send it back and they'd send out another. I guess even after they got busted sending out returns as new they couldn't even offer a bone? Not even an advance exchange for their error?

Circuit City is not only expensive, they aren't real consumer-friendly.
ckelly33 is offline  
post #191 of 368 Old 02-21-2007, 10:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'd return it directly to one of their stores if there is one anywhere near you, instead of sending it back.
Because if you send it back, then you also have to pay to ship and insure it's return.
Johnla is offline  
post #192 of 368 Old 02-22-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, that's what I plan on doing. I don't know why this unit got bad reviews. I guess the whole 1080p thing IS bad for the LG, but my display accepts 1080p/24 so I get 1080p. The audio isn't the best but it's clearsly surround sound and works pretty well (obviously I can't hear the intricate differences between DTS and TrueHD, etc). I'm pretty happy with it when it turns on...and they say Janusry builds have all of that stuff fixed.

However, it is, by far, the UGLIEST component I have EVER bought. I rank it right up there with the Series 2 TiVos (with the big white glowing face - and no buttons). Man it's ugly.
ckelly33 is offline  
post #193 of 368 Old 02-22-2007, 09:56 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

all BD players resume just fine on stop and most of them on power, HD just the opposite

both feature bookmarks for reinsert

the LG resumes on both because the cause of no resume on HD is the interactive stuff which the LG doesn't have

-Gary

Gary, good points. I may be wrong here, but I believe LG's resume play works on HD DVD discs because it is built-into the hardware as a feature.

HD DVD players are relying on the software to provide the resume play function. I believe we will see a fix for this soon on HD DVD players.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #194 of 368 Old 02-22-2007, 11:51 PM
Rio
Advanced Member
 
Rio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Gary, good points. I may be wrong here, but I believe LG's resume play works on HD DVD discs because it is built-into the hardware as a feature.

HD DVD players are relying on the software to provide the resume play function. I believe we will see a fix for this soon on HD DVD players.

-Robert

If my memory serves, LG player doesn't have power-on resume function even on BD disc. It always started from the beginning no matter what I once stopped or directly turned off the unit during feature playback, when I tested.
Rio is offline  
post #195 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rio View Post

If my memory serves, LG player doesn't have power-on resume function even on BD disc. It always started from the beginning no matter what I once stopped or directly turned off the unit during feature playback, when I tested.

Nope. No resume play regardless of HDi. No resume play on either format after power down. However, just like the standalone HD-DVD players, resume works fine UNLESS you power down or eject.

Very disappointing. I had high hopes after Gary's post but it doesn't work after all.
ckelly33 is offline  
post #196 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 03:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Well if you return it for another one that's not a open box and that also may have actually been a defective return, that should have never been resold. And you get a NIB one with the newer firmware to replace it. Then it is possible that a lot of your problems and glitches that you have with the open box unit, may no longer be there with a new unit.
Johnla is offline  
post #197 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jediphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has it been confirmed that the 1080p24 output is straight from disc and has not gone through any inverse telecine, de-interlacting steps like the HD-DVD players do?
Jediphish is offline  
post #198 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jediphish View Post

Has it been confirmed that the 1080p24 output is straight from disc and has not gone through any inverse telecine, de-interlacting steps like the HD-DVD players do?

I can't say "definitely", but considering 1080/24p is on the disc and everyone is complaining that it doesn't have 1080/60p, I can't imagine LG would be doing anything other than outputting. The engineers at LG would have to be complete idiots to create 1080/60i only to have to program a processor to reconvert that back to the original 1080/24p.

Now for the disclaimer - just because only total idiots would do such a thing, doesn't mean that isn't exactly what they're doing, but I'd say their is only a 1 in 1,000 chance they are doing anything other than outputting an untouched 1080/24p source.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #199 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 12:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post

Nope. No resume play regardless of HDi. No resume play on either format after power down. However, just like the standalone HD-DVD players, resume works fine UNLESS you power down or eject.

Very disappointing. I had high hopes after Gary's post but it doesn't work after all.

doesnt ps3 does do resume play, so far my most fav machine
zoro is offline  
post #200 of 368 Old 02-23-2007, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Catdaddy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the LG do vertical stretch/fill for 2.35 videos? Are there any (other) players that do either for blu-ray or HD-DVD?
Catdaddy67 is offline  
post #201 of 368 Old 02-24-2007, 06:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Without 1080p this player is not an option for me. And I am on the Neutral Team!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #202 of 368 Old 02-24-2007, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Elbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heard from an LG sales rep that there may not be any firmware updates for 5.1 PCM or any other additional features. I'm a bit dismayed, but there was mention of a gen 2 player in the 3rd quarter
Elbert is offline  
post #203 of 368 Old 02-24-2007, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 generations in a year? Sheesh! They should be firmware updating these things for a bit longer and supporting the early buyers a bit better. While the ability to firmware update over the net/by disc seems like a good idea, it just gives manufacturers the ability to rush to market, promise 10 patches, then give 5 before producing a "Next Generation" model and forgetting about you. Why should they patch their defective product when you will buy a replacement to fix the problems you bought into (and trusted that they would fix)
ckelly33 is offline  
post #204 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 07:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Now I am glad I decided to wait!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #205 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any word of a firmware upgrade to for hddvd menu compatibility?
PRO-630HD is offline  
post #206 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 11:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
In the last review I read it stated LG would not offer firmware upgrades for anything...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #207 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
...and no doubt include it in the next revision...

...and I need your sweet love, Latina T-Mobile girl!

Bill C. is offline  
post #208 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 07:13 PM
Member
 
ctreesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southbend IN
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if there is a way to make the DVDO VP50 talk to this BH100 player over hdmi and get the 1080p to not be grey'ed out in the players setup menu? VP50 is a high end scaler, but I guess it dont support 1080p/24 in. If it did, then the EDID hand shake over hdmi should have allowed for 1080p output. For now, it dose support 1080i/60 into the VP50, and that scales to 1080p60 and looks just great for both HD and BD disks.

Also, the analog 5.1 outputs are wonderfull on this for all but one of the new HD auido formats, which only work as left right stereo. But the rest are all in 5.1 and way better then the normal dd5.1 and dts we have now.

I have only had my player for a day, but its been just spiffy so far. I just wish it had 1080p60 out support.

I would think a $3000.00 scaler would take 1080p24 or 30 right?
ctreesh is offline  
post #209 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
just output it in 1080i i do this with my lumagen and have the lumagen output the 1080p. still looks great.

And yes the analog outs rock!!!!!
nashou66 is offline  
post #210 of 368 Old 02-25-2007, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Lumagen will support 1080/24p from the BH100 if you have current software and set the EDID mode to EXT+. I have this configuration and it works great for 24p input. The VP50 sounds like it might need a new EDID file to trigger the LG for 24p.

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off