Question on what to buy for my 720p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 10-19-2007, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 50 inch Panasonic ttu 720p. What should I buy Blue ray or HD player. I AM NEW AT THIS SO ANY INFO WOULD HELP.

tHANSK
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 10-21-2007, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Welcome to AVS, ggtygug.

If you are a HD fan and can afford it, buy both.

If you are a gamer get a PS3 for Blu-ray, and the HD-DVD add on for the Xbox 360.

Not a gamer?

Buy a stand alone player for each format and enjoy!

Or buy a dual format player.

Several choices, and different factors regarding player capabilities, price, etc.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening https://vimeo.com/63119329
post #3 of 5 Old 10-22-2007, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 10
Hi ggtygug. Since you've posted in the forum dedicated to discussions about players that play both formats (this is not a "Blu-ray vs. HD DVD" forum) you'll of course likely encounter people who think that owning players for both formats is best.

Blasst gave good advice. Keep in mind that while some studios release films in both formats, several studios only release their movies either in one format or the other- not both. If you can only buy a player for one format, be sure to research the films that you want to watch and make sure that they'll be available for the player that you decide buy.

HTH
post #4 of 5 Old 10-22-2007, 09:45 AM
Zoo

Liked: 11
To get started with HDM a Toshiba A-2 or A-3 makes an interesting choice as these output 1080i and 720p. They can also be found under $300! If you can wait a bit the upcoming Samsung 5000 sounds like a nice unit and it is a dual format player.