LG BH200 Owner Review - Page 88 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HB GAMER View Post

yes

How does one do that? I have my BH200 with the latest FW connected to Panasonic AE2000 projector. The player outputs 1080p24 with Blu-rays but 1080p60 with HD DVDs. Since HD DVDs do not have a flag to tell whether the encoding is film based or video based, the player would have to be capable of determining this based on cadence. Toshiba HD DVD players could not do this and had to be set to 24Hz output manually.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

How does one do that? I have my BH200 with the latest FW connected to Panasonic AE2000 projector. The player outputs 1080p24 with Blu-rays but 1080p60 with HD DVDs. Since HD DVDs do not have a flag to tell whether the encoding is film based or video based, the player would have to be capable of determining this based on cadence. Toshiba HD DVD players could not do this and had to be set to 24Hz output manually.

I have the exact setup as you with an Onkyo 605 receiver between them.

From my experience some imported HD DVD's do not have the 24hz flag or the lg does not check properly. Most, if not all, domestic HD DVDs that I have play 108024.
halfsane is offline  
post #2613 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MauneyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milwaukee suburbs
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

From my experience some imported HD DVD's do not have the 24hz flag or the lg does not check properly. Most, if not all, domestic HD DVDs that I have play 108024.

This is probably because PAL-region imports can be encoded at 1080p/25 or 1080p/50.
MauneyM is offline  
post #2614 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

I have the exact setup as you with an Onkyo 605 receiver between them.

From my experience some imported HD DVD's do not have the 24hz flag or the lg does not check properly. Most, if not all, domestic HD DVDs that I have play 108024.

This was with US release of License to Wed, which also happen to be the first HD DVD I've played on this player. My XA2 gave me the dreaded 4xxxxxxxx error 1 hour into the movie and I had to use the LG to finish the movie.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #2615 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

This was with US release of License to Wed, which also happen to be the first HD DVD I've played on this player. My XA2 gave me the dreaded 4xxxxxxxx error 1 hour into the movie and I had to use the LG to finish the movie.

try another movie and it should work just fine. I have not watched license to wed so I cannot verify.


MauneyM, you are probably correct, as I am just speculating.
halfsane is offline  
post #2616 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Licensed to Wed worked fine on my player about 6 months back. Should be fine.
Krobar is offline  
post #2617 of 2671 Old 01-10-2009, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

Licensed to Wed worked fine on my player about 6 months back. Should be fine.

Did it playback at 24Hz? Mine would only playback at 60Hz.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #2618 of 2671 Old 01-12-2009, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Sunnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BH02081205A firmware is now posted on LG's web-site.
Sunnie is offline  
post #2619 of 2671 Old 01-13-2009, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

Did it playback at 24Hz? Mine would only playback at 60Hz.

I tried this last night with bunch of HD DVDs. Everything else I tried played back at 24Hz. License to Wed for some reason would only play back at 60Hz. I'm wondering if there might be some sort of authoring error.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #2620 of 2671 Old 01-14-2009, 12:59 PM
Member
 
AlphaFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont get the whole thing with 24Hz... I mean I know the films were filmed at that speed so technically thats as many FPS as your going to get without some blending of other frames or something like that to get higher Hz. but I just despise the choppy nature of film like that. you can hardly see action scense at all because of this. its like playing flight simulator 2009 on a 5 year old pc with integrated graphics. I suppose it simulates the look/feel of film but I think it looks like crap. IMHO
AlphaFox is offline  
post #2621 of 2671 Old 01-14-2009, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaFox View Post

I dont get the whole thing with 24Hz... I mean I know the films were filmed at that speed so technically thats as many FPS as your going to get without some blending of other frames or something like that to get higher Hz. but I just despise the choppy nature of film like that. you can hardly see action scense at all because of this. its like playing flight simulator 2009 on a 5 year old pc with integrated graphics. I suppose it simulates the look/feel of film but I think it looks like crap. IMHO

They should come out with 48hz! double the frames!!!
halfsane is offline  
post #2622 of 2671 Old 01-14-2009, 01:44 PM
Member
 
AlphaFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

They should come out with 48hz! double the frames!!!

serious!
AlphaFox is offline  
post #2623 of 2671 Old 01-25-2009, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Is there a problem with the BH200 and 5.1 pcm content? My Denon 3808 shows it's receiving 7.1 from the BH200 when it should be 5.1.

I tired one 5.1 96khz/24bit track. The 3808 showed it was receiving 96khz/24bit but it also showed it was receiving 7.1 instead of 5.1.

I also tried a few other 5.1 48khz tracks and those also showed up as 7.1 instead of the proper 5.1. None of my othe rplayers have exhibited this problem.

Aaron, I'm glad you posted this. My BH200/AVR-3808 combination exhibits the exact same behavior. Did you ever get this figured out, or is this just the way it is?
Schwa is offline  
post #2624 of 2671 Old 01-25-2009, 06:32 AM
Senior Member
 
360_4_EVER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


My BH200/AVR-3808 combination exhibits the exact same behavior

I think there are some problems with the BH200 and Denon receivers in general, as the BH200 seems to want to punt and send my 2807 stereo when there are alternatives available.

Thankfully, the irregularities we get with the Denon/BH200 combination aren't as annoying as the dropouts and pops other people seem to have with different brands. If I occasionally have to monkey with the sound settings that's OK. As long as the audio sounds good overall.
360_4_EVER! is offline  
post #2625 of 2671 Old 01-25-2009, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DENON AVR5803 and I have no problems with receiving DD 5.1!!!
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #2626 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 12:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunnie View Post

BH02081205A firmware is now posted on LG's web-site.

whats the firmware update for ? and can you post a link for it cause i cant find firmware upgrades for the player on the LG site.

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #2627 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenjabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaFox View Post

I dont get the whole thing with 24Hz... I mean I know the films were filmed at that speed so technically thats as many FPS as your going to get without some blending of other frames or something like that to get higher Hz. but I just despise the choppy nature of film like that. you can hardly see action scense at all because of this. its like playing flight simulator 2009 on a 5 year old pc with integrated graphics. I suppose it simulates the look/feel of film but I think it looks like crap. IMHO

The reason it looks like crap on your TV/projector, but pretty decent in the theatre (at least when it comes to film projection), is b/c your TV/projector likely doesn't replicate the effect of a split second (1/24th of a second) of darkness in between successive frames. It is this darkness b/w projected frames that prompts the brain to interpolate/compensate, thus making motion scenes quite palatable.

Note that the interpolation function on many modern TVs (motionflow etc... particularly common in LCDs) where 1 or more extra 'frames' of interpolated information are created/inserted in between the original 24Hz material is not what I'm talking about. While the latter may give you a smoother experience, particularly in motion intensive sequences, it isn't free from artifact, and often makes everything look like HD Cam.

To replicate the look of projected film (and its benefits with motion intensive material), you need either (i) a CRT projector (where the natural periodic decay characteristics of the illuminated phosphors replicate the on/off nature of projected film, or (ii) 'dark frame insertion' a la that featured on the Sony VW200 where a black frame is inserted in b/w each original frame. That said, there is no free lunch, the latter results in a dimmer image.

The reason more displays haven't incorporated dark frame insertion anywhere near as much as motionflow is b/c (sadly) to the average Joe, a brighter/punchier image trumps all, irrespective of deviations from a true cinematic experience.
Zenjabil is offline  
post #2628 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
* Where do I find the latest Firmware BH02081205A (2008-12-05)?

Go to:

USA - http://us.lgservice.com/
Canada - http://ca.lgservice.com/
UK - http://gb.lgservice.com/
Belgium - http://be.lgservice.com/
Switzerland - http://ch.lgservice.com/

If your country isn't listed, go to: http://www.lgservice.com/

Then:

USA Site:

1. Enter BH200 into the Search field on the front page.
2. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
3. In this case you need to click on (US Only) Program Update for BH200, with the size 37,923K.
4. You'll then see the Firmware name (BH02081205A) and various download links, download both files:
LG_BH_LV221BH.zip and Update Guide for BH200.pdf.

Other Sites:

1. Click on DEVICE DRIVER, then click on DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP
2. Click the Search button
3. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
4. In this case you need to click on (US Only) Program Update for BH200, with the size 37,923K.
5. You'll then see the Firmware name (BH02081205A) and various download links, download both files:
LG_BH_LV221BH.zip and Update Guide for BH200.pdf.

Instructions:

1. Unzip the file LG_BH_LV221BH.zip - The file you need to transfer to a CD/DVD/USB Stick is called LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM.
2. Follow the instructions provided in Update Guide for BH200.pdf

IMPORTANT: Before transferring the LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM file to a CD/DVD/USB Stick make sure it's size is: 38,820,748 bytes.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #2629 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmamaniac View Post

* Where do I find the latest Firmware BH02081205A (2008-12-05)?

Go to:

USA - http://us.lgservice.com/
Canada - http://ca.lgservice.com/
UK - http://gb.lgservice.com/
Belgium - http://be.lgservice.com/
Switzerland - http://ch.lgservice.com/

If your country isn't listed, go to: http://www.lgservice.com/

Then:

USA Site:

1. Enter BH200 into the Search field on the front page.
2. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
3. In this case you need to click on (US Only) Program Update for BH200, with the size 37,923K.
4. You'll then see the Firmware name (BH02081205A) and various download links, download both files:
LG_BH_LV221BH.zip and Update Guide for BH200.pdf.

Other Sites:

1. Click on DEVICE DRIVER, then click on DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP
2. Click the Search button
3. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
4. In this case you need to click on (US Only) Program Update for BH200, with the size 37,923K.
5. You'll then see the Firmware name (BH02081205A) and various download links, download both files:
LG_BH_LV221BH.zip and Update Guide for BH200.pdf.

Instructions:

1. Unzip the file LG_BH_LV221BH.zip - The file you need to transfer to a CD/DVD/USB Stick is called LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM.
2. Follow the instructions provided in Update Guide for BH200.pdf

IMPORTANT: Before transferring the LG_BH_LV221BH.ROM file to a CD/DVD/USB Stick make sure it's size is: 38,820,748 bytes.

ok thanks

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #2630 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're Welcome!
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #2631 of 2671 Old 02-02-2009, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
champer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmamaniac View Post

You're Welcome!

been along time since ive used winzip where in winzip do i click to unzip the file ?

SONY 32XBR6
SAMSUNG 46C6500

BD 40
HD DVD 28
champer is offline  
post #2632 of 2671 Old 02-16-2009, 01:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
orion456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am considering buying a BH200 for the dual playing ability. However I already have an A30 and so should I just buy something like the Sony 350 and give up the idea of a dual machine? That way I get the newest blu-ray technology but I give up dual play and have to house two machines.

The Sony 350 and the BH200 would be about the same price.
orion456 is offline  
post #2633 of 2671 Old 02-16-2009, 02:28 AM
Member
 
Struggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land Down Under - Sydney Australia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orion456 View Post

I am considering buying a BH200 for the dual playing ability. However I already have an A30 and so should I just buy something like the Sony 350 and give up the idea of a dual machine? That way I get the newest blu-ray technology but I give up dual play and have to house two machines.

The Sony 350 and the BH200 would be about the same price.

It all depends if you want or need a back up HD DVD player. By buying the LG BH 200, you can keep your A30 as a back up and enjoy Blu on your new BH200.

But if you need 2.0 grab the 350.

Cheers
Struggo
Struggo is offline  
post #2634 of 2671 Old 02-16-2009, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Agent_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orion456 View Post

I am considering buying a BH200 for the dual playing ability. However I already have an A30 and so should I just buy something like the Sony 350 and give up the idea of a dual machine? That way I get the newest blu-ray technology but I give up dual play and have to house two machines.

The Sony 350 and the BH200 would be about the same price.


I think this idea has merit, if you don’t mind having 2 machines in your AV cabinet and juggling disks between them. I did this for a while during the format wars and invariably put a Blu-ray in the HD-DVD machine and visa versa. It was a pain; the BH-200 is simple one stop shopping.

Also keep in mind that over time your HD-DVD unit will gather dust, as an ever increasing percentage of disks will be Blu-ray.

A_C

Manhattan Supremacist
Agent_C is offline  
post #2635 of 2671 Old 02-16-2009, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
bjmiller48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose california
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent_C View Post

I think this idea has merit, if you don't mind having 2 machines in your AV cabinet and juggling disks between them. I did this for a while during the format wars and invariably put a Blu-ray in the HD-DVD machine and visa versa. It was a pain; the BH-200 is simple one stop shopping.

Also keep in mind that over time your HD-DVD unit will gather dust, as an ever increasing percentage of disks will be Blu-ray.

A_C

I dunno. I have a Panny BD35 in my family room and the LG BH200 in my movie room. The Panny is rarely used and the BH frequently. Why is dust settling on the Panny and not the LG. Simple. I have ammassed a large collection of HDDVDs (classics and favorites), by buying them highly discounted (some at around $4.99), and by picking up freebies from friends and others who abandoned the format. I just will not invest a ton of money in a format (BR) when discs of all kinds already have the writing on the wall. I am streaming Netflix SD and HD will be around the corner, so owning discs will be an anachronism. None of my adult children, who are all techies, own any discs of any kind. from IPOD to Bit Torrent, hard drive copies suite them fine. And when I rent a BR from NetFlix, I play it on the LG anyway, as it does a great job of sending a bitstream to my receiver for the lossless codecs. I for one have no interest in BR live, am not angry with LG, paid $400.00 for my machine and gor $75.00 back, and received the December firmware update unsollicitted in the mail. (It pays to register).
So although others feel differently, I believe my LG is one of the best bargains and performers in my collection of parts and pieces that contribute to my 3 home theaters. I would encourage anyone that can get one for under $500.00 still, to grab the puppy, and enjoy it. Unless you want to use it for the Interent which I don't. Just my opinion, but I thought the other side might be helpful.
best wishes,
Barry.

Barry
bjmiller48 is offline  
post #2636 of 2671 Old 02-17-2009, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Struggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land Down Under - Sydney Australia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmiller48 View Post

I play it on the LG anyway, as it does a great job of sending a bitstream to my receiver for the lossless codecs. best wishes,
Barry.

Out of interest, what AVR are using Barry?

Cheers
Struggo
Struggo is offline  
post #2637 of 2671 Old 02-18-2009, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
bjmiller48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose california
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Struggo View Post

Out of interest, what AVR are using Barry?

Cheers
Struggo


Onkyo TX SR-606, avilable for $325.00 in the USA. I pride myself in being a bargain hunter, and this little gem and my LG BH 200 are two of my biggest bargains. (The LG cost me $325.00 after rebate.
Best wishes to all of you down under,
Barry

Barry
bjmiller48 is offline  
post #2638 of 2671 Old 02-22-2009, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Struggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land Down Under - Sydney Australia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmiller48 View Post

Onkyo TX SR-606, avilable for $325.00 in the USA. I pride myself in being a bargain hunter, and this little gem and my LG BH 200 are two of my biggest bargains. (The LG cost me $325.00 after rebate.
Best wishes to all of you down under,
Barry

Thx for the feedback Baza

I have enjoyed my BH 200, although I have always ran the audio into my old Yamaha via optical, DTS Re-encode.

My concern is when I upgrade my amp, I will have nothing but trouble.

I'm looking at the following,

Sony STRDA2400ESB or STRDA3400ESB

or

Onkyo TX SR-606

Will these amps run without issue with my BH200?

I'm also unsure why the displays resolution would effect the HD audio. I'm have a Hitachi 1080i display.

Cheers
Struggo
Struggo is offline  
post #2639 of 2671 Old 02-22-2009, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
bjmiller48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose california
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't mean to suggest that video processing would in any way affect the audio, just that if you use HDMI for video to a receiver, you bring the audio as well and have the option of using the lossless codecs from the bitstream of the BH200. Only HDMI will allow you to use these knewer much discussed codecs.
I for one am unable to hear the superiority of the lossless codecs (DTS Master etc), when all other factors are adjusted to the same level, such as volume etc. I have switched out the HDMI audio with the optical, and although they are different, I couldn't say one is better than the other. I have a dedicated audio room, with Maggies and Bryston electronics and consider myself to have as good a "golden ear" as anyone. I do an aweful lot of dedicated listenung in stereo, DVD Audio and SACD in my audio room. Yet, I can not hear the superiority of the new codecs.
Home Theater magazine (March 2007, I believe) ran such a test with the writer and editor as listeners, and they also could not say which was which, in the Dolby and DTS studios.
I never tell people to upgrade for the sound alone, but many people disagree and feel I am wrong and have said so. I am comfortable with that.

Hope that helps,
best wishes,

Barry
bjmiller48 is offline  
post #2640 of 2671 Old 02-25-2009, 03:24 AM
Member
 
Struggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land Down Under - Sydney Australia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmiller48 View Post

Home Theater magazine (March 2007, I believe) ran such a test with the writer and editor as listeners, and they also could not say which was which, in the Dolby and DTS studios.
I never tell people to upgrade for the sound alone, but many people disagree and feel I am wrong and have said so. I am comfortable with that.

Hope that helps,
best wishes,

Thx for the feedback.

My BH 200 is currently running DTS re-encode. I think it is fantastic.

The thing I probably miss most on my 8 year old receiver is Dolby Pro Logic IIx.

Cheers
Struggo
Struggo is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off