The *Official* Samsung BD-UP5000 tracking thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1255 Old 05-21-2008, 06:29 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Welp, this player just sold out at Best Buy online. Also, many other authorized resellers either no longer have it for sale (Abt), are sold out (Amazon) or are reporting discontinuation (Crutchfield, TheHighDefinitionStore). It seems like the end of production is nigh.

Some authorized resellers [Circuit City, Best Buy (in those B&M stores with remaining stock), Newegg, B&H Photo, 6th Avenue, American TV, Costco and Monitor Outlet] still have it in stock new: http://www.samsung.com/us/peaceofmind/ceddealers.html & http://www.samsung.com/us/peaceofmind/itddealers.html

It's still $500 below at many of those stores, so if you want it new, you might miss the boat if you wait much longer.

Silly Samsung; if true, they only manufactured it for TWO months after it arrived on the market. That year of hype culminating into this amounts to a major letdown in the end.

To follow up and for any remaining stragglers, we're now in this player's twilight hours of availability. It seems it's only available now at a few Circuit City locations (OOS online), B&H Photo, 6th Avenue, American TV, Monitor Outlet and Newegg (which curiously isn't showing up in the authorized seller list anymore). Best price is $480.
vinnie97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1255 Old 05-21-2008, 07:53 AM
Member
 
vman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one that I'm returning to CC next week that I bought "open box" for $419. It's in excellent condition and was only the shelf display model, so it wasn't even powered on, they had another one for that.

I was able to get an almost new one (private party), 2 weeks ago, for $300. It's mint and included a HDMI cable. The killer part of the deal was, I bought a total of 31 HD-DVD & Blu-Ray movies for $125.

Not a bad deal, now it's just waiting for the upcoming FW update.

As was asked before, what are the recommended setting for this player?
vman71 is offline  
post #1233 of 1255 Old 05-21-2008, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
Twister2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

To follow up and for any remaining stragglers, we're now in this player's twilight hours of availability. It seems it's only available now at a few Circuit City locations (OOS online), B&H Photo, 6th Avenue, American TV, Monitor Outlet and Newegg (which curiously isn't showing up in the authorized seller list anymore). Best price is $480.

Best price NewEgg $459.99... in stock.
Twister2k is offline  
post #1234 of 1255 Old 05-21-2008, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was at BB today and they have a table of display dvd players and blu-ray players with a sign that read 50% off. I saw an LG model #? for $999 1/2 off for $499.50 and a Samsung UP5000 for $599 1/2 off for $299.50. If that Sammy is still there on Friday I will jump on it.. (use my $50 GC and $10 RC) to bring the price down some more.

Steve..
Steve Carr is offline  
post #1235 of 1255 Old 05-21-2008, 06:08 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister2k View Post

Best price NewEgg $459.99... in stock.

I knew that...the lack of sleep is my excuse.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1236 of 1255 Old 05-23-2008, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Dozer707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had any issues with playing Blu-Ray's that have "AVC" for video output. I have tried two and niether have worked. The day after tomorrow and i Robot. The "AVC" format runs at different mbps, 24, 26. They are both produced by FOX. If anyone else has had this issue or has not had an issue with these BD's please reply, it would be greatly appreciated. If this is an ongoing issue does anyone know if it will be fixed with the next firmware update?
Dozer707 is offline  
post #1237 of 1255 Old 05-23-2008, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
pobff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the latest firmware installed and didn't have any issues with I, Robot nor Sunshine (which were two titles that others reported having issues with). I have a november build with firmware 1.2.
pobff is offline  
post #1238 of 1255 Old 05-23-2008, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozer707 View Post

Has anyone had any issues with playing Blu-Ray's that have "AVC" for video output. I have tried two and niether have worked. The day after tomorrow and i Robot. The "AVC" format runs at different mbps, 24, 26. They are both produced by FOX. If anyone else has had this issue or has not had an issue with these BD's please reply, it would be greatly appreciated. If this is an ongoing issue does anyone know if it will be fixed with the next firmware update?

I don't know if it's the AVC encoding or something else, but several of us have problems w/ Fox BDs. Mine won't play any Fox BDs. It's apparently a HW issue. Several people have sent theirs back, had something replaced (unspecified by Samsung), which solved the problem.

I'm out of the free labor warranty. If the supposed FW solves most of the other problems, I'll consider paying to send mine back to Samsung for repair.

If yours is new, exchange it ASAP.

Doug
dougotte is offline  
post #1239 of 1255 Old 05-23-2008, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Dozer707's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the replies, I have contacted samsung and they say they "aren't sure" what the new firmware is supposed to fix, their product engineers are working on it (new FW). It is supposed to be released by the end of May.
Dozer707 is offline  
post #1240 of 1255 Old 05-24-2008, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
James A. McGahee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozer707 View Post

Has anyone had any issues with playing Blu-Ray's that have "AVC" for video output. I have tried two and niether have worked. The day after tomorrow and i Robot. The "AVC" format runs at different mbps, 24, 26. They are both produced by FOX. If anyone else has had this issue or has not had an issue with these BD's please reply, it would be greatly appreciated. If this is an ongoing issue does anyone know if it will be fixed with the next firmware update?

As you may have seen in the other 5K thread, I couldn't get Sunshine or I Robot to both play on a single 5K regardless of the firmware. I exchanged until I found one that will play both with the current software if you just let them play through from beginning to end w/o any interference.
James A. McGahee is offline  
post #1241 of 1255 Old 05-25-2008, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozer707 View Post

Thanks for the replies, I have contacted samsung and they say they "aren't sure" what the new firmware is supposed to fix, their product engineers are working on it (new FW). It is supposed to be released by the end of May.

For those of us whose machines absolutely will not play Fox BDs, I doubt a FW upgrade will fix it. It seems to be a HW flaw in our machines.

Doug
dougotte is offline  
post #1242 of 1255 Old 05-31-2008, 01:22 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

To follow up and for any remaining stragglers, we're now in this player's twilight hours of availability. It seems it's only available now at a few Circuit City locations (OOS online), B&H Photo, 6th Avenue, American TV, Monitor Outlet and Newegg (which curiously isn't showing up in the authorized seller list anymore). Best price is $480.

Mark off American TV and Monitor Outlet. Best price I see now is $400 for refurb at DataVis and $500 new at Newegg. You'd be crazy to wait any longer.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1243 of 1255 Old 06-02-2008, 12:40 PM
Member
 
coreymd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prosper, TX
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Mark off American TV and Monitor Outlet. Best price I see now is $400 for refurb at DataVis and $500 new at Newegg. You'd be crazy to wait any longer.

Newegg is sold out now. Just saw two open-box at a local Best Buy (for $499!?), so there's still hope.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coreymd is offline  
post #1244 of 1255 Old 06-08-2008, 02:51 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
B&H Photo and DataVis are now sold out.

That leaves only a few Circuit City locations (OOS online) and 6th Avenue as far as authorized retailers go.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1245 of 1255 Old 06-08-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougotte View Post

I don't know if it's the AVC encoding or something else, but several of us have problems w/ Fox BDs. Mine won't play any Fox BDs. It's apparently a HW issue. Several people have sent theirs back, had something replaced (unspecified by Samsung), which solved the problem.

I'm out of the free labor warranty. If the supposed FW solves most of the other problems, I'll consider paying to send mine back to Samsung for repair.

If yours is new, exchange it ASAP.

Doug

I would say it's a defective player because my 01/08 build plays everything and anything. My refurb from 2nd act was a serious problematic unit it would not load and freeze during play back. 2nd act is issuing me a call tag I decided not to send the refurb back to Samsung.
Nimo is offline  
post #1246 of 1255 Old 06-08-2008, 11:38 AM
Member
 
thedukester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know if everyone has caught it or not, but CC has lowered the price listed online to $449. I checked around here (upstate SC) and none of the stores are listed as having one in stock. A couple of stores in Tenn and NC are showing stock. Not bad if you can score one or get BB to match pricing. Looks like refurbs are bringing close to 400 on the Bay.
thedukester is offline  
post #1247 of 1255 Old 06-08-2008, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
autobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Granbury, Texas USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung BD-UP5000 (Refurbished)
in stock 353.00 not bad
http://www.broadwayphoto.com/ViewPro...41&L=Pricehead
autobot is offline  
post #1248 of 1255 Old 06-09-2008, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
autobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Granbury, Texas USA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone check out broadway photo?
autobot is offline  
post #1249 of 1255 Old 06-13-2008, 02:49 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Re: Broadway Photo, I'm hearing one too many horror stories with refurbished BD-UP5000s to be confident enough to choose one over new hardware.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #1250 of 1255 Old 06-24-2008, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bflip1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got an open box @ BB for $299. Still has 1 year warranty and 30 day return to BB if i need it. Player is in great cosmetic shape, no scratches or anything. I updated to the 1.3 firmware and i have had no problems.

Beauty, thy name is KURO.
bflip1080 is offline  
post #1251 of 1255 Old 06-26-2008, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Detroit, MI/Windsor, ON
Posts: 2,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
scored one at FS

refurb depot has some for $379 refurbished for those still looking.

Serge Breton
htauthority.com
Home Theater Authority
power is offline  
post #1252 of 1255 Old 06-26-2008, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have joined the Fellowship of the 5K twice-over now!

Scored my second new in box unit (the last unit in the box) at a local Best Buy in Madison, WI - $450

They had it marked at $599, the CSR had no idea that it was discontinued and started to argue with me until I politely as that he look it up before he said something foolish after which he stated that they had three 'open box' (which were not on the shelf but hooked up for display demonstrations).

He had a manager come over and they dropped it to $499. I stated that I had been quoted $450 a week earlier, but had to get approval from W.I.F.E. (Woman's Infernal Financial Enforcement)

I'll get double Reward Zone points, which will bring the net cost down a bit.

Spence

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is online now  
post #1253 of 1255 Old 07-01-2008, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
ANGEL 35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dozer707 View Post

Has anyone had any issues with playing Blu-Ray's that have "AVC" for video output. I have tried two and niether have worked. The day after tomorrow and i Robot. The "AVC" format runs at different mbps, 24, 26. They are both produced by FOX. If anyone else has had this issue or has not had an issue with these BD's please reply, it would be greatly appreciated. If this is an ongoing issue does anyone know if it will be fixed with the next firmware update?

Every thing works like it shouldNo problems

ITS HOW YOU LOOK AT IT
ANGEL 35 is offline  
post #1254 of 1255 Old 11-08-2008, 07:48 PM
Member
 
vampira22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Just bought this BD-UP5000 open box from BB $199.00, been reading through this thread....(pretty long thread already) and just wondering can anyone pls tell me if the firmware now updates the player to decode DTS Master HD 7.1 and can be outputed using the analog audio outputs?!?!? (I have an older yamaha 7.1 receiver w/o HDMI) Just upgraded the firmware tonight...but it does explain as to what the upgrade is all about....
Thanks for any response to this question....
vampira22 is offline  
post #1255 of 1255 Old 11-19-2008, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vampira22 View Post

. . . can anyone pls tell me if the firmware now updates the player to decode DTS Master HD 7.1 and can be outputed using the analog audio outputs?!?!?

In case you haven't gotten an answer yet: No, it doesn't.

Edit: Not a very active thread, is it? Why not use the master thread (stickied at top of forum) or firmware threads?
lsarver is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off