BD-UP5000 Universal Player Samsung [OFFICIAL OWNERS THREAD] & FAQ - Page 121 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 12:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called earlier today, and of the times I have called it was the most pleasurable of the 2 or 3 calls I have placed to Samsung.

The CSR told me to call back tomorrow since this was a level 2 issue since I had the new firmware, but she did give me transaction number for when I call level 2 support.

Maybe Sunday mornings are good times to call?

I implore all of the 500 users to please call Samsung at 1-800-SAMSUNG (726-7864 (open 9 - 9 ET)) with the issues they are having with the new firmware. If you find the level 1 CSR unresponsive, insist on getting a "transaction" number. That way you can call back to add additional discs and may be able to get to level 2. I will try tomorrow before I head to Dallas.

Kickoff... Go Chargers!!!!!!!

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
texrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volitar Prime View Post

I just read that some people are started getting coupons through normal mail good between 1/25/08 and 1/28/08. Pretty much the same coupons as that email link I privided above but this time there is a 4th coupon good for 20% off HD-DVD and Blu-ray players! So if you are on Best Buys mailing list and normally get their mail out coupons then this is one to watch for as it will bring the player down to $740. Looks like Friday I get to price adjust again

Volitare - I am on their mailing list as a reward club member & I have until Jan 25th to get a 30 day price match, So if I get that coupon, I would take advantage of the 20% off to get another $80 (over my initial 10% off) vs using the coupon you posted to save $16. So price before Tax would be $640 - that would be sweet! Thanks for the tip.
texrb is offline  
post #3603 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:17 PM
Member
 
subtitles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoyty View Post

I definitely hear this sound as well. I think it is the drive determining which reading head to use, DVD/HD/Blu. These early dual format drives are probably more complex than later ones. Just like the first DVD players had extra components for backward CD compatibility.

Most thanks for verifying that.

I've also just done the firmware update, and was watching the Transformers HD DVD.

Its gets really choppy at 1:15:27. I'm guessing its a dual layer thing, but I don't recall it ever being that bad.
subtitles is offline  
post #3604 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was watching 300 hd dvd earlier and there were some brief audio droup outs throughout...handful of times.

dd+ via hdmi bitstream audiophile...
BenDover is offline  
post #3605 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinw82 View Post

Everyone seems to revert to the Panasonic DMP-BD30K. Anyone who is making this change simply due to advanced audio is making a mistake. The BD30K will not decode them, it will only pass them on in bitstream via HDMI 1.3. Hopefully everyone who decides to make this switch is aware of this.

i agree...i originally stayed away from the bd30 b/c it couldn't also internally decode as well as bitstream...that is why i went with the 5k believing that it would offer this. so, since i am impatient, i picked up the integra dtc-9.8 and decided i could live with the bd30 bitstream although i don't consider this ideal for BD-Live titles since then you can't get the secondary audio...no player out there on either side offers the *total package*
BenDover is offline  
post #3606 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:41 PM
Member
 
martin1406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: nyc
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volitar Prime View Post

I just read that some people are started getting coupons through normal mail good between 1/25/08 and 1/28/08. Pretty much the same coupons as that email link I privided above but this time there is a 4th coupon good for 20% off HD-DVD and Blu-ray players! So if you are on Best Buys mailing list and normally get their mail out coupons then this is one to watch for as it will bring the player down to $640. Looks like Friday I get to price adjust again

Hi,
How can I get one of these coupons. I have until 1-31-08 to return mine and I paid 799.99. If I could get one of these coupons maybe they would give me a credit or else I will return it and buy a new one.

Thanks
martin1406 is offline  
post #3607 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:46 PM
Member
 
wsmarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post

Are you sure you're not confusing Flags for Our Fathers and Letters from Iwo Jima?

I'm positive. I enjoyed Letters from Iwo Jima much more than I did Flags of Our Fathers. Iwo Jima is in Japanese with English subtitles and works just fine on my 5000. But again, i'm playing the Blu version.

Hope this helps!
wsmarshall is offline  
post #3608 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just took my 5000 back yesterday to Circuit City...the price I paid, including tax, was not worth the quality and risk. If I could get it for $640 like some of you are claiming, that would be another story. Unfortunately, I'm not sure Best Buy adds coupons and what not. When I bought my TV they wouldn't price match and give me discount on a stand...it was one or the other. Are you sure you can price match Circuit City...AND....get a 20% coupon honored?
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #3609 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Edmundo Lopez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BB has it for 800 again
Edmundo Lopez is offline  
post #3610 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 06:38 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just wanted to understand the Codec issue. I have an Integra 9.8 and wanted to pick up this player. However, from what I understand, it will not output a True HD 5.1 signal or a DTS-MA signal to the Integra? Or is the problem only if you do not have a receiver/preamp that decodes these internally?

Thanks!

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #3611 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Murrayb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbc View Post

Just wanted to understand the Codec issue. I have an Integra 9.8 and wanted to pick up this player. However, from what I understand, it will not output a True HD 5.1 signal or a DTS-MA signal to the Integra? Or is the problem only if you do not have a receiver/preamp that decodes these internally?

Thanks!

You are right, the player currently does not output a True HD 5.1 signal or a DTS-MA signal (only True HD in 2 channels). Doesn't matter if your receiver can handle them as the player won't output them. This will be rectified in May when Samsung issues the firmware update to allow the player to play them; although don't surprised if May drags into June, July.
Murrayb is offline  
post #3612 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 07:07 PM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbc View Post

Just wanted to understand the Codec issue. I have an Integra 9.8 and wanted to pick up this player. However, from what I understand, it will not output a True HD 5.1 signal or a DTS-MA signal to the Integra? Or is the problem only if you do not have a receiver/preamp that decodes these internally?

Thanks!

At this point in time, the player will neither decode True HD or DTS-MA nor will it send them bitstream via HDMI 1.3 to a compatible receiver. If and when the firmware is upgraded to profile 1.1 supposedly in May, the player will due both.
dustinw82 is offline  
post #3613 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinw82 View Post

At this point in time, the player will neither decode True HD or DTS-MA nor will it send them bitstream via HDMI 1.3 to a compatible receiver. If and when the firmware is upgraded to profile 1.1 supposedly in May, the player will due both.

this statement is partially true and partially false and partially based on a misconception...

at the present time the player DOES decode 2ch Dolby TrueHD but NOT multi-channel DD-THD; it does NOT decode DTS-HD HR/MA (other than the legacy core)...it cannot BITSTREAM ANY of the advanced codecs (dd+, dd-thd or dts-hd hr/ma)

the player is also NOT profile 1.1 compliant, however, it is anticipated that it will be upgraded via firmware (it really has to be as it would otherwise violate the bda licensing requirements for players introduced after the initial grace period; also, given that it does have have the secondary audio/video decoders already for hd dvd, it makes sense that it will also use these for bd)

HOWEVER, blu-ray profile 1.1 has NOTHING to do with internal decoding and/or bitstreaming capability...a player could be profile 1.1 compliant and do NEITHER internal decoding of ANY of the advanced audio codecs NOR bitstreaming of ANY of the advanced audio codecs.

i think that is accurate...if not, someone please feel free to jump in...
BenDover is offline  
post #3614 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:19 PM
Member
 
subtitles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware update *seems* to have caused jitter in Transformers HD DVD, Rambo (France HD DVD), and Miami Vice HD DVD.

Aside from the Dolby TrueHD issue, its been bug free for me up until now.

I went ahead and returned it the player to Circuit City. I may get one more and just never update it.
subtitles is offline  
post #3615 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:28 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by subtitles View Post

I may get one more and just never update it.

Except when you run into a disc that it won't play, you'll be in a worse position than you are now.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3616 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:32 PM
Member
 
subtitles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Except when you run into a disc that it won't play, you'll be in a worse position than you are now.

I'm not too worried about that on the HD DVD side.

Yeah, there will be a Blu-Ray disc I can't play... but hopefully a much better update will be out there in May or so, heck I can even till next December *if* its a good update.
subtitles is offline  
post #3617 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmarshall View Post

I'm positive. I enjoyed Letters from Iwo Jima much more than I did Flags of Our Fathers. Iwo Jima is in Japanese with English subtitles and works just fine on my 5000. But again, i'm playing the Blu version.

Hope this helps!

Sorry, I haven't seen Letters just yet and the next day I tried it again and the subtitles were there. Funny how silly it seems that I figured you were mixed up before I considered it's just another bug.

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #3618 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:34 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Fair enough. Keep in mind that Pan's Labyrinth on HD DVD won't play (if you have any desire to see it) with that beta firmware.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3619 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:43 PM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subtitles View Post

The firmware update *seems* to have caused jitter in Transformers HD DVD, Rambo (France HD DVD), and Miami Vice HD DVD.

Aside from the Dolby TrueHD issue, its been bug free for me up until now.

I went ahead and returned it the player to Circuit City. I may get one more and just never update it.

With Transformers, you can eliminate the jitter by turning off 24fs. I'm not sure about the other two.
dustinw82 is offline  
post #3620 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:52 PM
Member
 
subtitles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinw82 View Post

With Transformers, you can eliminate the jitter by turning off 24fs. I'm not sure about the other two.

I never had it turned on
subtitles is offline  
post #3621 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 08:56 PM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subtitles View Post

I never had it turned on

Hmm...I just watched it yesterday with no issues. I watched the 2nd disc today.
dustinw82 is offline  
post #3622 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
Tel9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I must be a part of the "Elite". I got my Sammy on 12/19. I have not had a single issue with it. Every disc I have put into it (SD DVD, HD DVD, and BD) has played perfectly (all the Netflix movies, too), the picture quality has been perfect. The sound quality has been legendary. A small amount of SD discs that I have watched have had the infamous audio skip, but that went away. I know the advance audio has not been enabled yet, but that was advertised ahead of time. It will come soon. I am perfectly happy with this machine.
Tel9000 is offline  
post #3623 of 13678 Old 01-20-2008, 10:11 PM
Member
 
subtitles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinw82 View Post

Hmm...I just watched it yesterday with no issues. I watched the 2nd disc today.

It was really surprising. I've watched Transformers on the UP5000 at least twice.

I've also watched a ton of other titles on HD DVD and Blu-Ray, and was up until the firmware upgrade one of the lucky ones.

The Best Buys in the Bay Area seem to be stocked, so I'll take advantage and test some more with a fresh one to make certain it isn't something else.
subtitles is offline  
post #3624 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 02:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
lalittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I honestly don't mean to nitpick here, but I've seen a few of the following types of posts here, and I wanted to comment on them. I don't understand making this statement;

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tel9000 View Post

I must be a part of the "Elite". I got my Sammy on 12/19. I have not had a single issue with it. Every disc I have put into it (SD DVD, HD DVD, and BD) has played perfectly (all the Netflix movies, too), the picture quality has been perfect.

...and then following it with this statement;

Quote:


A small amount of SD discs that I have watched have had the infamous audio skip, but that went away.

When you make such clear, strong statements as "not had a single issue" or "every disc... has played perfectly," it has a very specific meaning that is 100% contradicted when you go on to say that you've had audio skipping issues. It doesn't matter how few issues you've had -- if you've had even ONE issue, you can no longer make the previous statements. It simply doesn't make sense.

I'm all for optimism, but I'm also a strong proponent of accuracy in these reports. I'm sorry if it seems like I'm attacking the poster I quoted -- this is NOT my intention. I simply get frustrated when people who clearly HAVE had problems make statements that the player has performed "perfectly" with "every single disc." It paints an inaccurate picture of the situation, which I believe is counter-productive.

Larry
lalittle is offline  
post #3625 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 06:15 AM
Member
 
earwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well with Sunday's Paper Sales flyer, saw the BB add for
the 5000, on the front page. Went to my local BB in Dallas,
10:00 AM Sunday, they had one unit, happily purchased it .
Can't see how they can have an item on the front page and
have no inventory.....

Updated the firmware via ethernet cable..No problems..
Hooked it up to my system , using Anthem D2 pre-amp..

Tried several Blu-ray and HD discs, all worked fine,
I 'm sure there are some discs that have problems, but
this was certainly the case for me with the Tosiba A1,
and the PS3...

Very happy with the video and audio quality of the unit..

Bob
earwit is offline  
post #3626 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Shantanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Friends,

How is this machine performing against the other single format players, when it comes to playing the standard DVDs. Any light thrown on this would help. I am in Europe nad am inclined to buy it the moment it hits the market.

Shantanu
Shantanu is offline  
post #3627 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that have problems would you say it's mostly BD or HD DVD?
davcole is online now  
post #3628 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 08:30 AM
Member
 
mek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjgkelly View Post

Yes, it's your imaginatiion... I'm not having any problems out of the ordinary over HDMI.

Actually it's not your imagination. Audio drop outs over HDMI is clearly documented in this thread.
mek03 is offline  
post #3629 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 08:33 AM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post

For those that have problems would you say it's mostly BD or HD DVD?

It looks like a bit of both. I have only 3 issues, all fixed when 24fs is turned off. Transformers (HD-DVD) jitters, 3:10 to Yuma and POTC At World's End have pop-up menu issues when 24fs turned on. There may be other confirmed issues others have, but these are the only ones I've experienced.
dustinw82 is offline  
post #3630 of 13678 Old 01-21-2008, 08:35 AM
Member
 
dustinw82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mek03 View Post

Actually it's not your imagination. Audio drop outs over HDMI is clearly documented in this thread.

I haven't had any audio issues over HDMI with output set to PCM. I have, however, experienced dropouts over HDMI with both bitstream settings.
dustinw82 is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off