BD-UP5000 Universal Player Samsung [OFFICIAL OWNERS THREAD] & FAQ - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:32 PM
Member
 
SileasResearch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of replies:

Yup - at The Bridge, got all my tickets (15 of them for a group) yesterday, reserved seating, so I need to leave in about 15 minutes. All Row J and K, right in the center.

Speaker settings - my processor (RSP-1068) has a complete analog pass through external input, so all settings need to be done by the external device.

DTS-MA versus Core - I'll try the digital / analog check, but with DAC differences (I bet my DACs in my processor are better), it will be not quite a perfect control.

DVD-R - just ran a rough cut of my wife's short film. Check.
DVD+R - just ran some other footage from my wife's travels in Asia. Check.

DVD-Video Audio ("Glory" from Classic) - it is playing out the analog (but does not sound too nice). Plays out the digital at 96 / 24.

SACD - picked the CD audio on Titanic.
DVD-Audio - picked the Dolby Digtial from A.I.

Crappy scratched CD-R - friend's porn groove funk band (Jacaranda - on iTunes!!! Chewbacca Did a Kaka!!! Sex in the Duplex!!!) - Check.

LaserDisc.... uh, whoops... wrong rack shelf. That goes in the Pioneer CLD704 on the next shelf up. Yes, I still have laserdisc.

Panasonic PT-AE7000; TBD Screen!; Sony glasses
Integra 80.3
Panasonic DMP-BDT220; Samsung BD-UP5000; Directv HR20-700, AppleTV gen 3
7x JBL PT800 2x Parasound HCA-1500A stereo -> Fronts, 4x HCA-1000A bridged -> 4x surrounds
2x JBL PS1400 SW by QSC MX1500A stereo
Dedicated room
SileasResearch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:33 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post

So, will this player output multi-channel TrueHD through HDMI even though it's only 2-channel through the analogs?

That's another one of the million dollar questions we're waiting on...Sileas can't help us here. Zero/One and/or cwmich will hopefully fill in for Sileas.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #63 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
kwindrem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you get multichannel (7.1) audio via HDMI from decoders inside the player, why is bitstream of the predecoded audio so important?

Kevin Windrem
kwindrem is offline  
post #64 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

That's another one of the million dollar questions we're waiting on...Sileas can't help us here. Zero/One and/or cwmich will hopefully fill in for Sileas.


Gotcha. Looking forward to their reports now.
Brent Madden is offline  
post #65 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:43 PM
Member
 
SileasResearch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys.... I am signing off for now.... gotta go to the Imax and leave this crappy 1080p24 behind. It's time for the real stuff, with glorious 70mm/15 perf film. Yeah, I Am Legend is DMR'd up for Imax, but the 6 minute "The Dark Knight" prologue is one of the 4 sequences for the film that has been shot with Imax cameras.

Screw digital projection. Large format is back, baby.

(Yeah, I was a projectionist in Westwood while I did UCLA - ran Titanic in 70mm for 15 weeks for my last quarter of school getting my BS EE).

Coming up later in the evening / weekend.....

DVD+R Dual Layer media check (gotta find around the house)

More DVD checking - Episode 3 ran ok, as did "Dave" from the way back years, but I'll try to find a 4:3 for someone that asked.

Impression of the thing in general.

Panasonic PT-AE7000; TBD Screen!; Sony glasses
Integra 80.3
Panasonic DMP-BDT220; Samsung BD-UP5000; Directv HR20-700, AppleTV gen 3
7x JBL PT800 2x Parasound HCA-1500A stereo -> Fronts, 4x HCA-1000A bridged -> 4x surrounds
2x JBL PS1400 SW by QSC MX1500A stereo
Dedicated room
SileasResearch is offline  
post #66 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scubawoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SileasResearch View Post

Lots of replies:

Yup - at The Bridge, got all my tickets (15 of them for a group) yesterday, reserved seating, so I need to leave in about 15 minutes. All Row J and K, right in the center.

Speaker settings - my processor (RSP-1068) has a complete analog pass through external input, so all settings need to be done by the external device.

DTS-MA versus Core - I'll try the digital / analog check, but with DAC differences (I bet my DACs in my processor are better), it will be not quite a perfect control.

DVD-R - just ran a rough cut of my wife's short film. Check.
DVD+R - just ran some other footage from my wife's travels in Asia. Check.

DVD-Video Audio ("Glory" from Classic) - it is playing out the analog (but does not sound too nice). Plays out the digital at 96 / 24.

SACD - picked the CD audio on Titanic.
DVD-Audio - picked the Dolby Digtial from A.I.

Crappy scratched CD-R - friend's porn groove funk band (Jacaranda - on iTunes!!! Chewbacca Did a Kaka!!! Sex in the Duplex!!!) - Check.

LaserDisc.... uh, whoops... wrong rack shelf. That goes in the Pioneer CLD704 on the next shelf up. Yes, I still have laserdisc.

Thanks for the info. When you get a chance please let us know how the upscaling of SD DVD looks and if the unit has controls for the Reon.
Scubawoman is offline  
post #67 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
tostitobandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

That's another one of the million dollar questions we're waiting on...Sileas can't help us here. Zero/One and/or cwmich will hopefully fill in for Sileas.

Yes. I could care less about what comes out the analog outs as long as the decoded multichannel True-HD feed gets output via HDMI.
tostitobandito is offline  
post #68 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keeping my current HD-DVD player and simply getting a Panny 30k plus an Onkyo receiver seems like my best options. Too bad. I really wanted this thing to be a winner especially when it came to internal decoding of the latest audio codecs.
edved1 is offline  
post #69 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
tostitobandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edved1 View Post

Keeping my current HD-DVD player and simply getting a Panny 30k plus an Onkyo receiver seems like my best options. Too bad. I really wanted this thing to be a winner especially when it came to internal decoding of the latest audio codecs.

I don't think anything has really been determined yet other than it doesn't do multi True-HD over analog. DTS-MA decoding has always been expected to be added via a firmware update after launch (Samsung has said this). Now if it can't output multi True-HD over HDMI either, I'll be annoyed.
tostitobandito is offline  
post #70 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
kudos, such a pleasure to have a EE nerd to do this testing... I've got nothing to add, save the fact that I too bet that it's not DTS-Lossless but the 5.1 "core" that many of us get.

Enjoy the film in Imax - I skipped it for a 3rd viewing of No Country for Old Men...

sharkshark is offline  
post #71 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:07 PM
Newbie
 
Deepsearch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkyrie View Post

Seriously? There hasn't been a BR player do it yet. Why would you expect one now. If it ever happens, it won't be one of the BDA members to do it. Region coding was one of the 'advantages' to Blu-Ray, so I really wouldn't hold your breath.

Wrong! Look Here: dvdirect.net/main.asp
(Just put www in front. Haven't got three posts yet. Forumrules.)
Deepsearch is offline  
post #72 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsearch View Post

Wrong! Look Here: dvdirect.net/main.asp
(Just put www in front. Haven't got three posts yet. Forumrules.)

I believe valkyrie was talking about a simple unlock. Those units looks like "hacks" (chipped). You will never see a stock player that can play Blu-rays from all regions. SD-DVD is a better shot, but it is still a stretch.
Ph8te is offline  
post #73 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cwmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I am glad that someone has been able to answer questions for everyone. I'm not sure I will be much help as my audio setup is ancient. Its next on my list of things to upgrade.

I tried out Transformers HD DVD. Start up was around 40 seconds. It started up and worked flawless. The picture I felt was better than the HD DVD add on I had for the 360.

I also tried Deadwood SD disc (Netflix rental) Start up was around 20 seconds. It started up and played without a problem. As expected the picture was better than my Sony 480p dvd player hooked up through component. The picture was also better than my JVC 1080p dvd player hooked up through hdmi.

Someone asked earlier about internal storage. Under the system I found the unit has 128(MB) of internal memory.
cwmich is offline  
post #74 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:34 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwmich View Post

Someone asked earlier about internal storage. Under the system I found the unit has 128(MB) of internal memory.

Chincy! Maybe this explains the higher MSRP of the LG competitor...
vinnie97 is offline  
post #75 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
JustinHEMI05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Geez its been out for about 5 seconds and we have had one guys first report and impressions and people are already calling it a dud, wondering about canceled orders, and looking elsewhere? Call me stupid but I think more thorough reviews are in order from more than just the three people in the Universe that have one at this second... before we send it to the gallows. This is especially true for folks like me that are full HD ready and waiting. I don't care about analog outs.

Lets relax a bit.

Justin
JustinHEMI05 is online now  
post #76 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:44 PM
Member
 
acidrock69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwmich View Post

Someone asked earlier about internal storage. Under the system I found the unit has 128(MB) of internal memory.

positive? its supposed to have 256.

TV: Pioneer KURO PDP-6010FD
Receiver: Denon AVR-4520CI
Blu-Ray: Playstation 3
Media Player: Dune HD Max
DVD/SACD: Oppo DV-980H
Speakers: Paradigm Millenia 200 5.1 system
acidrock69 is offline  
post #77 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:47 PM
Senior Member
 
mntwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasRaven View Post

DTS-MA decoding at launch FTW!

I'll be at BB tomorrow trying to score one of these.

Are you sure this wasn't the DTS core track?
mntwister is offline  
post #78 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkshark View Post

kudos, such a pleasure to have a EE nerd to do this testing... I've got nothing to add, save the fact that I too bet that it's not DTS-Lossless but the 5.1 "core" that many of us get.

Enjoy the film in Imax - I skipped it for a 3rd viewing of No Country for Old Men...


EE nerd....Qu'est ce que c'est? S.V.P.
edved1 is offline  
post #79 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post

I don't care about analog outs.


Just because YOU don't care about the analog audio doesn't mean you should dismiss those of us who do.

TrueHD over analog is a very important aspect of this player for all of us who don't want to upgrade our audio equipment.
Brent Madden is offline  
post #80 of 13608 Old 12-14-2007, 11:53 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post

Just because YOU don't care about the analog audio doesn't mean you should dismiss those of us who do.

TrueHD over analog is a very important aspect of this player for all of us who don't want to upgrade our audio equipment.

Completely agree...aren't there lipsynch issues with hdmi 1.3a and some receivers supporting that?
edved1 is offline  
post #81 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cwmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went back and checked again. Under the system - Persistent Storage management -
it shows one device - flash
when you click on that it comes up with internal flash memory with the list below

Category:
required
Slot status:
Non slot
Device name:
flash
Slot Identifier:
----Blank-----
Total Size:
128(MB)
Available Size:
131(MB)
Average Read Rate:
10(Mbps)

The persistent storage management is on page 50 of the users manual, it just talks about deleting files from memory though. I was kind of wondering that myself seeing that bd profile 1.1 requires 256 either built in memory or removable media, such as a memory card or a USB flash memory.
cwmich is offline  
post #82 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 12:04 AM
Senior Member
 
mntwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This unit is supposed to have 256mb of memory. Sating that it has half of that, well, is a bummer....doesn't it need 256 for bd1.1? Also, for your info, when the Samsung combi was announced, and also just a few months ago, they stated that a firmware upgrade will be following for DTS master audio. So I am assuming what was heard is the core track? Still, I don't think it will take long for the firmware, as when the Sammy 1400 blu-ray player came out, it was within 4 days that the upgrade for the 2 sound formats (dolby true and dts master) came out.

Still, it seems strange that it would send Dolby True in 2 channel. What's with that? Geeeeez.

My local Best Buy has one of these, but still, I think I will wait for more in this or other threads on the player, there are others going. Nice to hear it plays dvd+r, happy about the load times, concerned about the hd-dvd playback problems Sileas had, interested in knowing about the 4:3 ratio discs over HDMI at 1080p, on the Sammy 1200 they were stretched, no way to change it but to walk to the player and change to 480p.

I am interested in this unit for everything it does, but on top of the list is the Reon, and the ability to send 7.1 (or 5.1) DTS master and 5.1 or 7.1 Dolby True out the analogs. This will save me from investing in a new receiver for now.
mntwister is offline  
post #83 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 12:20 AM
Newbie
 
tylerdurdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this seems a bit off topic, or at least no one asked this one before.
But how exactly can you watch your Jpegs with the player? I suppose there is no USB port for my external harddisc. Do I need to burn a dvd? Is there a maximum resolution it can display? How long does it take to display a 10 Megapixel picture? And how good is the picture quality..?
tylerdurdon is offline  
post #84 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
scarecrow420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ill throw this question out there in the hope one of the upcoming owners has a suitable disc to test, but us guys in australia would like to know if the unit can handle PAL format SD-DVDs. Obviuosly it wont play our region 4 SD-DVDs but any of our "backups" are region free, which should be OK, but PAL is usually the problem.

So if anyone is able to burn a PAL region free SD-DVD movie, and try it out, Id be eternally grateful!
scarecrow420 is offline  
post #85 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 12:39 AM
Newbie
 
rozel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N.E. England - UK
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just want to know for sure that DTS-MA can be heard via the 7.1 outputs. I can wait - this thing is not yet available in the UK, so a couple more months will not harm. It's just enjoyable reading up on something that you know you can't have right now but will get soon.

Seems starnge though that no DD True, only 2-channel. AND I thought that the DTS-MA output would arrive later via a firmware output?

roz
rozel is offline  
post #86 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
tausifs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sileasresearch, a huge thankyou for taking the time and effort to post about this player.

thanks for confirming about a fixed 100Hz xover, this is a dealbreaker for me regretably. but thanks again.
tausifs is offline  
post #87 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 01:08 AM
sjv
AVS Special Member
 
sjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Orleans' North Shore-beautiful St. Tammany Parish LA
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been asked a dozen times but has it been positively determined that this player will successfully play DVD+R discs that are burned at home?
sjv is offline  
post #88 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 01:08 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
I'm still shellshocked and disappointed at the memory discovery. I thought even a Samsung rep mentioned this would be a 1.1 profile player via firmware upgrade and not obsolete before it was released!
vinnie97 is offline  
post #89 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 01:10 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjv View Post

It's been asked a dozen times but has it been positively determined that this player will successfully play DVD+R discs that are burned at home?

It's also been answered, see the posts from SileasResearch above (and come on, folks, this thread is still short, let's not riddle it with already answered questions so soon in its life cycle!).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #90 of 13608 Old 12-15-2007, 01:50 AM
Senior Member
 
mntwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwmich View Post

I went back and checked again. Under the system - Persistent Storage management -
it shows one device - flash
when you click on that it comes up with internal flash memory with the list below

Category:
required
Slot status:
Non slot
Device name:
flash
Slot Identifier:
----Blank-----
Total Size:
128(MB)
Available Size:
131(MB)
Average Read Rate:
10(Mbps)

The persistent storage management is on page 50 of the users manual, it just talks about deleting files from memory though. I was kind of wondering that myself seeing that bd profile 1.1 requires 256 either built in memory or removable media, such as a memory card or a USB flash memory.

Perhaps then it would work with 1.1 or even 2.0 with flash memory or a card? Not sure how that works.
mntwister is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off