Has Samsung said anything about 5000 firmware update at show? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dlgreen561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news from the show people? Nice to hear about the 5500 (no analog outs, and no hqv), but what about further support for the 5000 that is still backordered all over the country?
dlgreen561 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 07:07 AM
Member
 
stuttgartHDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
somone in the other main post on the 5000, said no firmware would fix the issue, it has to do with the chip.(Broadcom)

geez...isnt the PS3 having the same issue? the chip in the PS3 won't let it do the new sound formats..
stuttgartHDfan is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dlgreen561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Again, its all speculation. I want to hear what Samsung has to say about the situation.
dlgreen561 is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 04:28 PM
Newbie
 
justForCuriosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, Hey..
It's not the problem of HW.
BRCM 7440(used in UP 5000) was desinged to do HD Audio.
It's totally S/W issue.
It's just matter of time.
justForCuriosity is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlgreen561 View Post

Any news from the show people? Nice to hear about the 5500 (no analog outs, and no hqv), but what about further support for the 5000 that is still backordered all over the country?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuttgartHDfan View Post

somone in the other main post on the 5000, said no firmware would fix the issue, it has to do with the chip.(Broadcom)

geez...isnt the PS3 having the same issue? the chip in the PS3 won't let it do the new sound formats..

DL there were a few posts on this in the main thread within the last week (actually last few days). There have been 3 different answers from Samsung NONE of them the same. 1 person said end of the month, another said May, the other said not gonna happen. So far it looks like no one "in the know" has been asked. If you keep track of the owners thread you will have the best chance of getting news on this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
justForCuriosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuttgartHDfan View Post

somone in the other main post on the 5000, said no firmware would fix the issue, it has to do with the chip.(Broadcom)

geez...isnt the PS3 having the same issue? the chip in the PS3 won't let it do the new sound formats..

it has to do with Broadcom's firmware, not 7440 chip.
justForCuriosity is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dlgreen561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to Broadcom.com, the 7440 chip is capable of dd+, truehd, and dts-hd. It doesn't specifically say anything about master audio. It seems like it's good to go, but we shall see...
dlgreen561 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently there is a 7440B chip which is the one with full capabilities (from the owner thtrea). "B" is the key. Still not confirmed which one the 5k has.
George Kouzev is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New announcemebt from Broadcom.

Broadcom debuts reference design for HD DVD / Blu-ray SoC:

http://www.betanews.com/article/Broa...SoC/1199745014

Note the last pargraph:

"Those wishing to get their hands on the reference design can do so now, while the software powering the platform will become available in the first half of 2008."

Not sure if 5000 has it or not - a key question.
George Kouzev is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 10:55 PM
Newbie
 
justForCuriosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UP5K is using 7440B.
justForCuriosity is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 01-09-2008, 11:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justForCuriosity View Post

Hey, Hey..
It's not the problem of HW.
BRCM 7440(used in UP 5000) was desinged to do HD Audio.
It's totally S/W issue.
It's just matter of time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justForCuriosity View Post

it has to do with Broadcom's firmware, not 7440 chip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justForCuriosity View Post

UP5K is using 7440B.

You have piqued my curiosity with your responses in this thread. I just don't know what to think.

The optimist in me says you work closely with this chip and chipset, i.e. for Broadcom or Samsung. Then there is the doubting cynic.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ChicagoTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

You have piqued my curiosity with your responses in this thread. I just don't know what to think.

The optimist in me says you work closely with this chip and chipset, i.e. for Broadcom or Samsung. Then there is the doubting cynic.

I agree with you. it appears as he/she might be a broadcom employee.
ChicagoTC is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

You have piqued my curiosity with your responses in this thread. I just don't know what to think.

The optimist in me says you work closely with this chip and chipset, i.e. for Broadcom or Samsung. Then there is the doubting cynic.



does this also imply bitstreaming of all codecs will be enabled ?
halfsane is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

does this also imply bitstreaming of all codecs will be enabled ?

That seems to be what justforCuriousity is implying.

Maybe I'll just run down the Broadcom offices in Irvine, CA (I am only 20 minutes away!!!) demanding to talk to someone about the 7440 chip and 97440 reference design!!!! I wonder if they'll listen???

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent Broadcom an e-mail with questions yesterday. Will see if they respond.
George Kouzev is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

That seems to be what justforCuriousity is implying.

Maybe I'll just run down the Broadcom offices in Irvine, CA (I am only 20 minutes away!!!) demanding to talk to someone about the 7440 chip and 97440 reference design!!!! I wonder if they'll listen???


what are you wating for ?
halfsane is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So perhaps Sammy simply launched this player before Broadcom had the software ready for it?

That could imply it will be fully functioning just like the BD-5500 with on board decoding..
nmcnair is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
GoND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by justForCuriosity View Post

UP5K is using 7440B.

For Sammy's sake I hope you're right. This player would have the "fully functioning dual format player with good upscaling abilities for under $1,000" category all to itself for awhile.
GoND is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ryan Peddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm still a bit confused about the use of the lossless tracks on the 5K player.

As mentioned previously, I have this player connected to a top end setup at work (Pioneer Elite Pro150 and the Pioneer Elite VSX94) via HDMI.

I have sent the receiver the bitstream DDTHD and had Dolby True HD come on the display of the VSX94.

Now, when I switch the setting of the HDMI o/p to PCM, I only get 2 channel sound on the receiver. Obviously because it needs a firmware update to added the internal decoding in.

But I don't understand the big deal. All of us owners have done so many firmware updates on our machines, why is there such childish slamming of the product.

This is a kick ass player all around and with a little patience will probably be the best overall player on the market. The build quality of the XA2, the upscaling of the Reon processor, is a firmware update away from the ability to decode all the new audio formats, and...AND, plays both formats.

For puck sakes guys, realize just how good this player is and be a little patient for goodness sakes.

Custom Home Theater Sales Specialist.
Newmarket, ON.
Ryan Peddle is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Peddle View Post

I'm still a bit confused about the use of the lossless tracks on the 5K player.

As mentioned previously, I have this player connected to a top end setup at work (Pioneer Elite Pro150 and the Pioneer Elite VSX94) via HDMI.

I have sent the receiver the bitstream DDTHD and had Dolby True HD come on the display of the VSX94.

Now, when I switch the setting of the HDMI o/p to PCM, I only get 2 channel sound on the receiver. Obviously because it needs a firmware update to added the internal decoding in.

But I don't understand the big deal. All of us owners have done so many firmware updates on our machines, why is there such childish slamming of the product.

This is a kick ass player all around and with a little patience will probably be the best overall player on the market. The build quality of the XA2, the upscaling of the Reon processor, is a firmware update away from the ability to decode all the new audio formats, and...AND, plays both formats.

For puck sakes guys, realize just how good this player is and be a little patient for goodness sakes.

Have you tried playing 3:10 to Yuma, Sunshine or Resident Evil Extinction on it yet?

Don't get me wrong. I also love the unit, but I'm concerned about being able to play new releases without having to wait for a gorram update each and every time something is released.

Who here likes spending $30-$40 on a movie, only to find that it won't play!? I think what we all need Samsung to do is come through with a "confidence booster" (firmware update) to kick this thing up to a level of respectability equal to it's price range.

Spence

SpenceJT

www.spenceplace.com

"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is online now  
post #21 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
ChicagoTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Peddle View Post

I'm still a bit confused about the use of the lossless tracks on the 5K player.

As mentioned previously, I have this player connected to a top end setup at work (Pioneer Elite Pro150 and the Pioneer Elite VSX94) via HDMI.

I have sent the receiver the bitstream DDTHD and had Dolby True HD come on the display of the VSX94.

If somehow this is true you'd be the first one to ever have this happen. The player in it's current form does not have the ability to bitstream hi-res audio.
ChicagoTC is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
tostitobandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoTC View Post

If somehow this is true you'd be the first one to ever have this happen. The player in it's current form does not have the ability to bitstream hi-res audio.

I don't think that's true. It will decode and bitstream DD TrueHD, but only 2 channels. So, he'd see TrueHD on his receiver but he'd only get sound out of the left and right channels.
tostitobandito is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
ChicagoTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tostitobandito View Post

I don't think that's true. It will decode and bitstream DD TrueHD, but only 2 channels. So, he'd see TrueHD on his receiver but he'd only get sound out of the left and right channels.

I have an HDMI 1.3 receiver and the 5k wouldn't bitstream anything to it. It will decode TrueHD and send as multi-channel PCM(2 channel with the current firmware)
ChicagoTC is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
halfsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If samsung would just acknowledge the problem and say that it will be fixed via s/w then I would go out and buy one right now, I dont understand why they have not done so

it concerns me
halfsane is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 01-10-2008, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
tostitobandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfsane View Post

If samsung would just acknowledge the problem and say that it will be fixed via s/w then I would go out and buy one right now, I dont understand why they have not done so

it concerns me

Yep. That's exactly the reason I'm selling mine. I would be keeping it if they had just said (officially, as a company) "We know that there's problems, they can be fixed with firmware, we will release it as soon as we can, and we will keep our customers updated on any further developments or issues."
tostitobandito is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off