BUG REPORT THREAD - BD-UP5000 Firmware Ver1.0 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 84 Old 01-22-2008, 01:49 PM
Member
 
ephilman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The subtitles aren't showing up on the French HD DVD of Le Pacte des Loups (Brotherhood of the Wolf). The 5000 says they are, but they aren't. And trying to toggle or change them locks it up.

Pan's Labyrinth HD DVD plays fine, with subs. Weird, eh?

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out?
ephilman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 84 Old 01-25-2008, 09:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carljanderson View Post

I have to call Tech Support Level 2 tomorrow.

Well, I ran out of time to call Samsung on Monday, since I had to catch a plane to Dallas.

I call them today, and they have to open another transaction and patch me to level 2. The woman I was working told me that they she knows they are working on a firmware, but doesn't know when it will be released. She said we, the customers, find out about a new firmware before they do.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #63 of 84 Old 01-25-2008, 11:51 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephilman View Post

Pan's Labyrinth HD DVD plays fine, with subs. Weird, eh?

Not that weird...Pan's Labyrinth wouldn't even play prior to the update. My guess is they actively sought to make this one functional due to complaints. Definitely call Samsung about the title you're having difficulties with.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #64 of 84 Old 01-26-2008, 10:24 AM
Member
 
zens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
with anynet+ on the menus go bonkers. I have a samsung 71 series connected to it. also with the reencode feature on the sound drops out all the time. with the audiophile audio on it works fine.
zens is offline  
post #65 of 84 Old 01-30-2008, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Brett_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure if it has been reported by anyone else (though I thought I had seen it somewhere) but I am intermittently getting audio dropouts, like it just mutes for a few seconds with my BD-UP5000.

I have a very basic setup:
A Panasonic plasma directly connected to the BD-UP5000 via HDMI. No receivers or anything.

I have only tested standard DVDs and a few BD, I think the issue is mainly happening with DVD though.

I have updated to the most recent firmware and the issue is still happening.

I am considering taking the thing back and getting the LG BH200 but I am not sure if that may have more problems.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Brett
Brett_L is offline  
post #66 of 84 Old 01-30-2008, 01:47 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zens View Post

with anynet+ on the menus go bonkers. I have a samsung 71 series connected to it. also with the reencode feature on the sound drops out all the time. with the audiophile audio on it works fine.

I have the 61 series from Samsung with Anynet enabled and the same spasmodic menu behavior. Thanks for reporting your findings.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #67 of 84 Old 01-31-2008, 08:25 PM
Member
 
JJ93rx7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sure this has been reported before, but this is the first time that I have noticed it. While watching Sin City, SD DVD, the audio would drop out for a second and then continue to play normally. This happen about a dozen times during the movie. Will the new firmware be addressing this problem? This is the first time that it has happen to me while watching a SD DVD.

Thanks
JJ93rx7 is offline  
post #68 of 84 Old 01-31-2008, 09:32 PM
Member
 
ScottTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ93rx7 View Post

I am sure this has been reported before, but this is the first time that I have noticed it. While watching Sin City, SD DVD, the audio would drop out for a second and then continue to play normally. This happen about a dozen times during the movie. Will the new firmware be addressing this problem? This is the first time that it has happen to me while watching a SD DVD.

Thanks

Which audio track (DD or DTS) was selected?
I tried the DD track and watch for about 15 minutes and had no audio dropouts. I then skipped chapters forward watch a little of each and still no problem.
I then switch to DTS and there was a crackling sound in the background. I skipped chapters forward and the disk froze.

HD DVD: 101 Blu-ray: 39 DVD: 393
Samsung BD-UP5000 - TrueHD & DTS-HD MSTR : HD-D2 : PS3
ScottTX is offline  
post #69 of 84 Old 02-01-2008, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
lalittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottTX View Post

Which audio track (DD or DTS) was selected?
I tried the DD track and watch for about 15 minutes and had no audio dropouts. I then skipped chapters forward watch a little of each and still no problem.
I then switch to DTS and there was a crackling sound in the background. I skipped chapters forward and the disk froze.

I haven't tried this particular disk, but in my experience with DD tracks on SD DVDs, there can be a good half hour or more in between dropouts, and they are not repeatable (like they are with DTS tracks.)

Larry
lalittle is offline  
post #70 of 84 Old 02-01-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
kshipman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Playing 300 on HD-DVD. Frustrated with the 2 channel True-HD audio over HDMI, I tried the multichannel analog outputs to my Denon AVR-3808. The audio was a good 3 to 5 seconds out of sync.
kshipman is offline  
post #71 of 84 Old 02-01-2008, 09:54 AM
Member
 
kshipman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice to note despite all of the issues people are having with this play with all of the disparate titles, Samsung lists only one known issue on their site - 3:10 to Yuma.
kshipman is offline  
post #72 of 84 Old 02-01-2008, 10:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
carljanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshipman View Post

Nice to note despite all of the issues people are having with this play with all of the disparate titles, Samsung lists only one known issue on their site - 3:10 to Yuma.

I don't recall any alerts before the 1st firmware was released on 1/17 or 1/18. I also noticed this is dated the 17th.

Waiting for my 2012 upgrade...
carljanderson is offline  
post #73 of 84 Old 02-08-2008, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Old AV Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even after firmware update, with 24Fs set to on, the UP5000 on my Westinghouse 47" LCD shows "no input signal" & the Input select display stays on, and I still can see the movie. It does not do this when playing regular DVD or 60Fs discs, BD or HD. If I switch the 24Fs off it goes away. I did not have this problem with a Sony BDP-S300 I had set to auto for 60Fs to 24Fs. For the money this thing cost, some of this should not have got to production
Old AV Buff is offline  
post #74 of 84 Old 02-09-2008, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old AV Buff View Post

Even after firmware update, with 24Fs set to on, the UP5000 on my Westinghouse 47" LCD shows "no input signal" & the Input select display stays on, and I still can see the movie. It does not do this when playing regular DVD or 60Fs discs, BD or HD. If I switch the 24Fs off it goes away. I did not have this problem with a Sony BDP-S300 I had set to auto for 60Fs to 24Fs. For the money this thing cost, some of this should not have got to production

??? This looks like more of a connection problem since others have not had this issue with 24fps on their displays. Have you tried using a different HDMI cable? changing the input and going back to reset the handshake?
Ph8te is online now  
post #75 of 84 Old 02-09-2008, 04:01 AM
Member
 
Old AV Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried a couple HDMI,s cables I had. The Samsung has a 1.3 HDMI output. Could there be a problem there? I'm not sure what you mean by "handshake".
Old AV Buff is offline  
post #76 of 84 Old 02-09-2008, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Choptop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshipman View Post

Nice to note despite all of the issues people are having with this play with all of the disparate titles, Samsung lists only one known issue on their site - 3:10 to Yuma.

thats because alot of the problems arent repeatable.

I've yet to have a problem with ANY discs I've played on mine. Including ones that others have claimed a myriad of problems with.
Choptop is offline  
post #77 of 84 Old 02-09-2008, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Old AV Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I swapped the deck & still have the same problem. The TV input & No Signal display go away if I play standard DVD's or an HD disc that is not 24Fs ( doesn't matter if its a BD or HD DVD). I just bought a HDMI cable that is 1.3 compliant and will give it a try. I'll let you know. Just tried it. No difference.
Old AV Buff is offline  
post #78 of 84 Old 02-09-2008, 11:05 AM
Member
 
mike.elmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old AV Buff View Post

Even after firmware update, with 24Fs set to on, the UP5000 on my Westinghouse 47" LCD shows "no input signal" & the Input select display stays on, and I still can see the movie. It does not do this when playing regular DVD or 60Fs discs, BD or HD. If I switch the 24Fs off it goes away. I did not have this problem with a Sony BDP-S300 I had set to auto for 60Fs to 24Fs. For the money this thing cost, some of this should not have got to production

I would doubt that your LCD is capable of 24 fps signal. There is a very short list of tv's that are.
mike.elmes is offline  
post #79 of 84 Old 02-20-2008, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Old AV Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem solved. Went back to BB & traded for a Panasonic DMP-BD10a.
Old AV Buff is offline  
post #80 of 84 Old 02-20-2008, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Laserjock1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old AV Buff View Post

Problem solved. Went back to BB & traded for a Panasonic DMP-BD10a.

I hope it wasn't an even trade.
Laserjock1963 is offline  
post #81 of 84 Old 02-20-2008, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Old AV Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the BD10a for $375.00. Saved me some cash. I'll just use my Toshiba A1 until they get the bugs worked out & the price drops alittle. For a bonus the 10a also plays DVD-Audio discs. Nice.
Old AV Buff is offline  
post #82 of 84 Old 02-29-2008, 06:02 PM
Member
 
ConradWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


The January firmware update did not fix the problems with the Star Trek TV series HDDVD boxed set. Some of the episodes still lock-up the 5000 (as reported in the 5000 Problem Disk thread,

Just for the record because I've seen several Star Trek complaints.

The standard definition (TOS) DVD boxed sets also had problems. Freezing in the menus...not being able to select episodes from the menu...forcing rebooting of the DVD players.

I think Paramount needs to work a little more on quality control and a little less on copy protection.

I haven't had the time to see if the SD disks still exhibit problems in the 5000.

Later, Conrad
ConradWS is offline  
post #83 of 84 Old 03-03-2008, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Laserjock1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 1.1 on website now. Looks like some playback issues of some movies may be fixed.
Laserjock1963 is offline  
post #84 of 84 Old 03-04-2008, 04:15 AM
Member
 
kshipman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally broke down and returned my 5000 over the weekend. For the money, it was simply too temperamental and it was just not what Samsung committed to. I finally broke down when I still could not play Ratatouille without difficulties, and had the reset the player three times trying to play standard DVD's for family members who were in town visiting. I'm going to invest in a Pioneer Elite player. Good luck to all who hold on to these units.

Ken
kshipman is offline  
Reply Dual Format Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off