looking for a quality stereo RCA audio input switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-16-2009, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfiveash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've got a decent Adcom preamp that's run out of inputs for all the sources I want to connect to it. For a while I've been using an inexpensive Radio Shack RCA input switch to extend one of the preamp inputs but I'm concerned about the quality of this switch and it's effect on the audio. Does someone make a high quality switch with at least 3 RCA stereo inputs and one RCA stereo output?
wfiveash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-18-2009, 01:12 PM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


I'm concerned about the quality of this switch and it's effect on the audio.

What's it doing to the audio signal?
duvetyne is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-18-2009, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfiveash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's a pretty cheap switch with inexpensive RCA connectors. This has me concerned that the signal may, and I repeat, may be degraded somewhat through this switch however I do not know this for a fact. Because I'm paranoid I was hoping that someone made one with higher quality components.
wfiveash is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-18-2009, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Try Zektor. I have several of their switches and found them to be quite transparent.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-18-2009, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfiveash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Try Zektor. I have several of their switches and found them to be quite transparent.

Thanks for the tip but as far as I can tell they don't offer a simple audio switch. All the switches involve video and some form of remote control. I'm hoping to find something that is purely audio and straightforward.
wfiveash is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-18-2009, 04:40 PM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If it's a passive switch, it's likely to pass a cleaner signal then an electronic switch...and you haven't noticed any degradation.
duvetyne is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-05-2011, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
coppcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread, but my Google search pointed me to it when searching for a suitable product. The OP needed the same thing I did, but the thread was not as helpful as it could have been. After looking around some more, I found what may be an excellent option for others with the same need.

Hopefully this will save others some time.

Radio Design Labs Part #: EZ-HSX4
coppcar is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-18-2011, 09:45 AM
Member
 
taam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
taam is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off