Connecting TV and 2 channel receiver - will this work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm a bit of a newbie and am not sure how to design/wire for my desired setup. I am buying a TV (Panasonic 50PZ85u) and putting in a 2 channel audio setup (Onkyo TX8555 receiver and some Axiom bookshelf speakers). Receiver has ample inputs. The stereo setup is primarily for music.

Generally, this TV is for my wife, who cares little about audio. So 80% of the time, we will want her to be able to turn on the TV, watch TV using the in-TV speakers, and turn it off. No dealing with a stereo receiver, no harmony remote. No need to push sound through the bookshelf speakers. Just a simple "turn on the tv, change channels, turn off the tv" using the Panasonic remote.

However, there will be occasional times when I want better sound through the stereo - watching DVDs, guys watching sports, etc.

Will the following work (I ask now because I have to have some in-wall wiring put in place):
- connect cable box and DVD player to TV via HDMI (note - we may skip the cable box and just connect cable directly to the TV via coax - haven't decided)
- send the audio signal from TV to stereo receiver either via RCA audio out or digital audio out back to the receiver
- set up TV to use its internal speakers as a default
- be able to manually change the TV settings to send audio to Onkyo receiver for the 10-20% of time we want use speakers?
- be able to use the DVD player as a CD player without the TV on if I connect the DVD player to the receiver using RCA cables?

Also, is there a big advantage in a 2 channel setting to using digital audio out vs. RCA?

Thanks in advance.

Frank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 05:40 PM

Yes, and yes, I think.