Connecting TV and 2 channel receiver - will this work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hanfrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm a bit of a newbie and am not sure how to design/wire for my desired setup. I am buying a TV (Panasonic 50PZ85u) and putting in a 2 channel audio setup (Onkyo TX8555 receiver and some Axiom bookshelf speakers). Receiver has ample inputs. The stereo setup is primarily for music.

Generally, this TV is for my wife, who cares little about audio. So 80% of the time, we will want her to be able to turn on the TV, watch TV using the in-TV speakers, and turn it off. No dealing with a stereo receiver, no harmony remote. No need to push sound through the bookshelf speakers. Just a simple "turn on the tv, change channels, turn off the tv" using the Panasonic remote.

However, there will be occasional times when I want better sound through the stereo - watching DVDs, guys watching sports, etc.

Will the following work (I ask now because I have to have some in-wall wiring put in place):
- connect cable box and DVD player to TV via HDMI (note - we may skip the cable box and just connect cable directly to the TV via coax - haven't decided)
- send the audio signal from TV to stereo receiver either via RCA audio out or digital audio out back to the receiver
- set up TV to use its internal speakers as a default
- be able to manually change the TV settings to send audio to Onkyo receiver for the 10-20% of time we want use speakers?
- be able to use the DVD player as a CD player without the TV on if I connect the DVD player to the receiver using RCA cables?

Also, is there a big advantage in a 2 channel setting to using digital audio out vs. RCA?

Thanks in advance.

Frank
hanfrac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
loopguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, and yes, I think.

I'm doing 2 channel via RCA cables myself, through an old preamp, and it sounds great. I imagine it would only sound better with a digital link.

Check your cable box preferences, if you go that route, to be sure the sound is set to 'wide'.
loopguru is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I would recommend getting and using a hd cablebox for hd and audio use.

Connecting the cablebox and dvd player to a new surround receiver via hdmi and using a splitter before the cablebox and sending the other rf directly to the tv will accomplish everything you want without having to go into the menu of the tv.

For the dvd and cablebox, the tv will only have to be on 1 input for operation.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ifor is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hanfrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's another $20-25 a month to comcast to add a box when we already are paying for 2 elsewhere in the house, which is why we're resistant to renting another box.

so if we don't get another cable box and i'm connecting coax from the wall straight to the television and i'm connecting a DVD player via HDMI, is running the RCAs back to the stereo receiver going to do what I want?
hanfrac is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
yes, but you will have to get into the tv menu to switch the audio output for your needs. either tv or receiver.

or just keep the receiver on at all times and keep the tv audio set for the receiver.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ifor is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-23-2009, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hanfrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I don't mind having to navigate the TV menu's for the handful of times where we'll want sound out of the stereo speakers. I just wanted to make sure it would work and that I wouldn't get these cables in the walls to find out it didn't work.
hanfrac is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-24-2009, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
loopguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it's simpler; at least here it is. If I don't turn on my stereo gear, I use the TV speakers. When I turn on the stereo stuff, and choose the input the TV is on, I turn down the volume on the TV speakers.
loopguru is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-25-2009, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 101
It's just that easy, isn't it?

I have a similar setup for the BR. When I want 'just' tv the receiver stays off, when I want quality sound, I turn on the receiver and turn the tv volume all the way down. As the receiver isn't connected to the tv, its connected directly to the satellite receiver, it isn't dependent on the tv for sound. I can listen to music with the tv off.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off