HK3490 optical audio input? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-28-2009, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
analogue900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
these is probably the dumbest question that's been asked here recently, but here's my problem: I bought an HK3490 amp about 2 weeks ago, but I'm unable to select the optical digital audio in. I hooked up both, an HD-DVD player and a regular DVD-player; the digital outs from both devices have worked with my old amp. So, either I'm too dumb to select the input, or is the darn thing broken?
Many thanks in advance

P.S. I did check the manual. Several times. Couldn't find it there.
analogue900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-28-2009, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nixonrsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hook up one of the players with an optical cable. Hold down the video1 button on the unit and hit the t-mon button at the same time..it should change between optical, coax and analog. Lemme know if that works.

edit... found it in the manual. Page 19, third paragraph on the left. I love my hk 3490 btw, its hooked up to some Klipsch KG4's and they sound awesome.
nixonrsx is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-29-2009, 12:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
analogue900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixonrsx View Post

Hook up one of the players with an optical cable. Hold down the video1 button on the unit and hit the t-mon button at the same time..it should change between optical, coax and analog. Lemme know if that works.

yesss!!! It works. Thanks so much!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixonrsx View Post

edit... found it in the manual. Page 19, third paragraph on the left. I love my hk 3490 btw, its hooked up to some Klipsch KG4's and they sound awesome.

Oh man, I cannot believe I missed that in the manual.
Anyway, thanks again! Works beautifully.
analogue900 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-29-2009, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
nixonrsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no problem....
nixonrsx is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-03-2009, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
natchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Retro-Metro
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to see there are a few of us HK 3490'ers around. I love this amp too. Recently, however, I found a strange feedback from the bass frequency when I stacked my turntable on top of the amp. Maybe that was the problem as it was a temporary set up and I never had the feedback before.

Cheers
natchie is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-03-2009, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:


Recently, however, I found a strange feedback from the bass frequency when I stacked my turntable on top of the amp.

Never, ever do this. Amps need to vent heat. If they don't, feedback will be the least of your worries.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-03-2009, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
natchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Retro-Metro
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I did already...like I said, very temporary situation. Was wondering more about the bass feedback problem...but I guess it's a moot point due to the amp needing breathing space....thanks for the reminder!
natchie is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-13-2011, 11:50 AM
Member
 
plata90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to plata90
up
plata90 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-08-2013, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
khisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank God for AVS Forums. Bought this old school stereo receiver (not a 5.1 guy, sorry) and I promise I read the manual but must have missed that little paragraph on page 19. AVS Forum (and Google) to the rescue. Thanks, all!
khisel is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-08-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 253
You'd better study harder; the exam is coming up soon!!

biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif
commsysman is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-08-2013, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Tweaked05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Another very satisfied 3490er here as well. OP don't feel too bad, I am willing to bet that most of us had to do some digging to us the Optical or Coax inputs. I no I did.
Tweaked05 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-09-2013, 10:30 PM
Member
 
Interspy24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a big fan of the 3490, great stereo receiver with good amp section as well!
Interspy24 is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off