Kenwood Pre/Power Amp Question?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-15-2009, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
etsherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an older two channel Kenwood Pre/Power Amp with 300 watts per channel connected to a set of Bose 901 speakers (really old school here) ... But it's been working since 1985 so why change??

Pre-Amp Model = Basic C1
Power-Amp Model = Basic M2A

The problem I've started having over the past few months is, seems like it's taking longer and longer for the power amp to power up or warm up when it is first turned on. In other words, now I can turn the unit on and it takes something like 10 to 12 minutes before before the amp starts sending any output to the speakers.

Is this something that can be fixed on an amp this old or is it time for me to replace it with another good 2 channel amp?? If so, any recommendations on a good replacement system would be appreciated.

Thanks,

ETSherman
etsherman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-15-2009, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Probably needs to be recondtioned. Relatively easy, but not necessarily inexpensive.

Usually, this consists of cleaning all switches and controls, replacing capacitors, adjusting bias, DC offset, etc.

Whether or not it's worth it depends on how attached you are to the gear.

AudioKarma.org has a large vintage following that would be happy to provide plenty of advice and recommendations on the problem.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-15-2009, 09:08 PM
Member
 
signal path jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whoaru is correct.

also, there are some guys at DIYAUDIO who jump in the the M2 and M2A from time to time.

Terrific amp by the way.
signal path jim is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-17-2009, 02:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You may also want to have the 901's equalizer checked as well as the EQ loop it is connected to.
Gizmologist is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-23-2009, 03:53 PM
bfm
Senior Member
 
bfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: tampa
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by etsherman View Post

I have an older two channel Kenwood Pre/Power Amp with 300 watts per channel connected to a set of Bose 901 speakers (really old school here) ... But it's been working since 1985 so why change??

Pre-Amp Model = Basic C1
Power-Amp Model = Basic M2A

The problem I've started having over the past few months is, seems like it's taking longer and longer for the power amp to power up or warm up when it is first turned on. In other words, now I can turn the unit on and it takes something like 10 to 12 minutes before before the amp starts sending any output to the speakers.

Is this something that can be fixed on an amp this old or is it time for me to replace it with another good 2 channel amp?? If so, any recommendations on a good replacement system would be appreciated.

Thanks,

ETSherman

wow...I used to sell those at an audio store in London Ont CA called Beatons. Brad you still out there? Anyway, we sold Axiom, PSB, Kenwood, B&K, Onkyo, and Studer/Revox. The Kenwoods were nice, but a bit harsh in the mids and kind of primitive, to my ears anyway... The real beauty was the Onkyo Grand Integra M510 dual mono block. Plus the original B&K 200w/ch...Anyone remember that monster?
I think you should upgrade. Not worth reconditioning imho. Get a more 'modern' used anthem or parasound?
bfm is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-27-2009, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
alanl715's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tejas
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it ain't got no highs and ain't got no lows...it must be a BOSE.
Really, how do u get full range outa 9 4" mids...Equalize the hell outa them.
Get the power amp fixed at audio repair facility and then buy new speaks...
alan
alanl715 is offline  
Reply 2-Channel Audio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off