What's this I hear about Power Cord upgrade? - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 378 Old 11-23-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Yes. Like any forum they send an email to validate your joining. They didn't send me the email.
More likely a software glitch somewhere than a deliberate snub. The email confirmation thing is only a tool to confirm that you are meatware. I mean, hell, they let me on, and they didn't even kick me off after i started posting!

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 378 Old 11-23-2013, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My DAC came with a MASSIVE power cord, and my 200W/ch. power amp came with a power cord that looks thin compared to the one on my computer. That's not right.

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #363 of 378 Old 11-23-2013, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Daemon View Post

My DAC came with a MASSIVE power cord, and my 200W/ch. power amp came with a power cord that looks thin compared to the one on my computer. That's not right.

Is the cord on the amplifier getting warm? I have a 18 AWG lamp cord on a space heater, the cord doesn't even get warm. Unless the cord has a high resistance there's no reason to use a thick cord. Another reason to use a thicker cord is if the manufacture thinks that cord will be exposed to a harsh environment.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #364 of 378 Old 11-24-2013, 01:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My best guess is that Emotiva wants their products to appeal to people who tend to buy aftermarket power cords. Makes them feel special. wink.gif

If the amp's power cord is warm, it's because the baseboard heaters came on. It's a chilly night! So far I've barely gotten the signal lights blinking, and that's been plenty loud. I'm sure the cord it came with is more than adequate, but I do wonder if the amp feels less macho. smile.gif

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #365 of 378 Old 11-25-2013, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Daemon View Post

My best guess is that Emotiva wants their products to appeal to people who tend to buy aftermarket power cords. Makes them feel special. wink.gif

If the amp's power cord is warm, it's because the baseboard heaters came on. It's a chilly night! So far I've barely gotten the signal lights blinking, and that's been plenty loud. I'm sure the cord it came with is more than adequate, but I do wonder if the amp feels less macho. smile.gif

Heavy duty cords are nice to have on amplifiers because it would have to go through hell before it breaks. My Technics has a removable power cord so I don't care if the cord breaks. I might put a 16 AWG cord on it just to feel more comfortable, or get a 105 c 18 AWG cord because I'm guessing the cord gets a little warm if it's pushed hard.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #366 of 378 Old 11-25-2013, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Both components use IEC connectors, so I can change them easily. Whenever I find my box o' IEC cords, I'll probably find one of the beefier ones to use with the amp. I have some very nice ones that came with Sun computers that should be ideal for the task.

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #367 of 378 Old 11-25-2013, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Daemon View Post

Both components use IEC connectors, so I can change them easily. Whenever I find my box o' IEC cords, I'll probably find one of the beefier ones to use with the amp. I have some very nice ones that came with Sun computers that should be ideal for the task.

That's what I would do. Computers, for some odd reason, always seem to come with heavily insulated cords with ground. The only computers, that I've seen, that don't have those beefy cords are laptops. Doesn't make sense because most computers use 200W power supplies...

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #368 of 378 Old 11-25-2013, 04:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbeam418 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Daemon View Post

Both components use IEC connectors, so I can change them easily. Whenever I find my box o' IEC cords, I'll probably find one of the beefier ones to use with the amp. I have some very nice ones that came with Sun computers that should be ideal for the task.

That's what I would do. Computers, for some odd reason, always seem to come with heavily insulated cords with ground. The only computers, that I've seen, that don't have those beefy cords are laptops. Doesn't make sense because most computers use 200W power supplies...

In some cases computer power cords are shielded, probably to reduce radiation from their switchmode power supplies.

I've built and repaired literally thousands of computers over the past 25 or so years and thus built up a big stash of IEC power cords. As part of the installation of a digital lighting system at church we ended up needing a lot of power cords stripped back on one end, 3 prong plug on the other. Voila, my big box of power cords and a pair of wire strippers and... Along the way I took note of the internal construction of the cords and a goodly fraction of them were shielded. I didn't notice how much thicker the shielded ones were as a rule, but some thick ones just had thicker plastic insulation.

My comments about crest factor and audio also relates to power amplifier power cords. On the test bench when they are grunting away makiig full power pure sine waves, a thick power cord will at least avoid heating up. In actual use with music the usual 16-18 guage power cord will no doubt do the job.
arnyk is offline  
post #369 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

In some cases computer power cords are shielded, probably to reduce radiation from their switchmode power supplies.

I've built and repaired literally thousands of computers over the past 25 or so years and thus built up a big stash of IEC power cords. As part of the installation of a digital lighting system at church we ended up needing a lot of power cords stripped back on one end, 3 prong plug on the other. Voila, my big box of power cords and a pair of wire strippers and... Along the way I took note of the internal construction of the cords and a goodly fraction of them were shielded. I didn't notice how much thicker the shielded ones were as a rule, but some thick ones just had thicker plastic insulation.

My comments about crest factor and audio also relates to power amplifier power cords. On the test bench when they are grunting away makiig full power pure sine waves, a thick power cord will at least avoid heating up. In actual use with music the usual 16-18 guage power cord will no doubt do the job.

I've noticed some computers these days have external power supplies. I used a Xbox 360 power cord for an interconnect for my church's sound system; it had a nice shield too, no ground though.

Behringer's inuke amplifiers are in famous for tripping 15 amp breakers and only have a 15 amp iec connector. The amplifier had it's own circuit.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #370 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 07:58 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
it had a nice shield too, no ground though.

What was the shield connected to?
SAM64 is offline  
post #371 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

What was the shield connected to?

Nothing.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #372 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 12:18 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbeam418 View Post



Ground if I remember correctly..

You just edited your post.....
SAM64 is offline  
post #373 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

You just edited your post.....

Ya I was thing of a normal power cord that has a ground, the Xbox's didn't. You can't connect shield to neutral or hot.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #374 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 12:37 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
You can't connect shield to neutral or hot.

I would hope not.
A floating shield is useless as well.
SAM64 is offline  
post #375 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
kbeam418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

I would hope not.
A floating shield is useless as well.

I used it for an un-balanced 1/4 connector so it didn't matter. I had a friend who bought a shielded power cable without ground she claimed it made a difference rolleyes.gif I dumped her just for that biggrin.gif

I keep making typo errors today for some odd reason.

"Then one day you find ten years have got behind you no one told when to run you missed the starting gun."
kbeam418 is offline  
post #376 of 378 Old 11-26-2013, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Kevin,
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbeam418 View Post

I've noticed some computers these days have external power supplies.
I try to always use an external power-supply for equipment that I design. The reason is simple: UL compliance.

With an external supply, all of my design is low voltage, and I don't need UL testing. All I need to do is buy a power-supply that has UL certification already.

It also helps some with FCC compliance.
Gizmologist and Speed Daemon like this.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #377 of 378 Old 11-27-2013, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbeam418 View Post

That's what I would do. Computers, for some odd reason, always seem to come with heavily insulated cords with ground. The only computers, that I've seen, that don't have those beefy cords are laptops. Doesn't make sense because most computers use 200W power supplies...
The computer power cords that I have run the gamut. But the ones that shipped with older, more power hungry data center machines (servers) often came with a far better power cord than a desktop PC. The fans alone in those old Compaqs really gobbled up power!

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #378 of 378 Old 11-27-2013, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

In some cases computer power cords are shielded, probably to reduce radiation from their switchmode power supplies.
I sure hope not! No power supply should feed anything back into the AC line! If it does, it shouldn't be in service.

Switching power supplies, just like any RF circuit should be shielded. IME most are. Most also have EMI filters inside the chassis, and before the power supply. There shouldn't be an appreciable amount of RF on any AC power line. The EMI filters inside the gear, the EMI filters in a good power distribution system and keeping the conductors of AC cords close together should take care of that. I can see using RF shielding to keep external RF energy out of an AC cable in extraordinary situations, but not to seal it in.

Quote:
My comments about crest factor and audio also relates to power amplifier power cords. On the test bench when they are grunting away makiig full power pure sine waves, a thick power cord will at least avoid heating up. In actual use with music the usual 16-18 guage power cord will no doubt do the job.
Another reason to use overrated power cords is because they do (or should) use stranded wire. Normal wear and tear will eventually cause one or more strands to break, putting the whole load on fewer strands. Since those other strands are still working, it's hard to notice until it gets really bad. Using cable with conductors a couple gauges fatter than necessary is cheap insurance against that.

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
Reply 2-Channel Audio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off