The 'NEW' YAQIN MS-20L Integrated Vacuum Tube Amp Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 837 Old 08-24-2012, 02:08 AM
Member
 
NZAJTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My speakers are 87dB 4 Ohm and the 20L drives them with no issues. I cant comment on your speakers other than they are 86dB and also 4 ohm
so are similar in spec.
NZAJTG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 837 Old 08-25-2012, 02:26 PM
Member
 
cytowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rntlee View Post

Pot arrived today, Song sent it expedited mail, no charge. For anyone who's thinking about buying a Yaqin, you really need to consider buying through Song. The guy is grade A.
I don't think the pots is Alps'. Looks to be a decent clone though.

I had the same problem with my MS20-L, after having had it for a little over a year, noise in the left channel when adjusting the volume.

I cleaned the pot with isopropanol and it took care of the problem. I used to be a TV repairman in the 70s and that was always the first thing we tried with a noisy pot.

you have to be trusted by the people that you lie to....
cytowing is offline  
post #543 of 837 Old 08-25-2012, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
gwestwoodnurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My volume was a bit scratchie as well but a quick shot of deoxit did the trick
gwestwoodnurse is offline  
post #544 of 837 Old 08-25-2012, 07:35 PM
Member
 
rntlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've never had much luck "cleaning" a pot. Problem always returns in short while. I'm curious how you got the alcohol into this pot without disassembling it, as it's a sealed unit?

CIMG5274.JPG 886k .JPG file
rntlee is offline  
post #545 of 837 Old 08-25-2012, 08:56 PM
Member
 
cytowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rntlee View Post

I've never had much luck "cleaning" a pot. Problem always returns in short while. I'm curious how you got the alcohol into this pot without disassembling it, as it's a sealed unit?
CIMG5274.JPG 886k .JPG file

Removed the knob, then I took the shaft nut off that holds it from the top. Pushed the pot down as far as it would go and used a syringe to squirt a couple of ml or so of alcohol in through the hole for the locking tab, aiming at the base of the shaft. Then turned the shaft a bunch of times and let it dry for a couple of hours before re assembling.

you have to be trusted by the people that you lie to....
cytowing is offline  
post #546 of 837 Old 08-26-2012, 02:54 AM
Member
 
FineArts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dubrovnik,Croatia
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do not smoke in the room where you listen the music.I f you live near roads,high-ways,keep the window closed.....it can help a lot the pot remain clean !
FineArts is offline  
post #547 of 837 Old 08-27-2012, 08:13 AM
Member
 
rntlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cytowing View Post

Removed the knob, then I took the shaft nut off that holds it from the top. Pushed the pot down as far as it would go and used a syringe to squirt a couple of ml or so of alcohol in through the hole for the locking tab, aiming at the base of the shaft. Then turned the shaft a bunch of times and let it dry for a couple of hours before re assembling.

Looking at the pot, there really is no external access to the tracks and wiper. It's sealed up quite tight, but if you're pot is working fine again...who knows?

Mine has mysteriously become silent again, without any intervention on my part! I'm beginning to wonder if it's not a DC offset problem. Yaqin didn't include an input capacitor to prevent the entrance of DC into the amp...or maybe it's leaking back from a higher stage? ap1, is this a possibility?
rntlee is offline  
post #548 of 837 Old 08-28-2012, 03:58 PM
Member
 
cytowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rntlee View Post

Looking at the pot, there really is no external access to the tracks and wiper. It's sealed up quite tight, but if you're pot is working fine again...who knows?
Mine has mysteriously become silent again, without any intervention on my part! I'm beginning to wonder if it's not a DC offset problem. Yaqin didn't include an input capacitor to prevent the entrance of DC into the amp...or maybe it's leaking back from a higher stage? ap1, is this a possibility?

i would think that a cheap pot is the most likely culprit.

I may have gotten lucky and had little alcohol go into the pot, as you say... who knows??

If mine acts up again I may tear it apart and see what happens

you have to be trusted by the people that you lie to....
cytowing is offline  
post #549 of 837 Old 09-03-2012, 11:19 AM
Member
 
FineArts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dubrovnik,Croatia
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would have a question.When biasing amp.,should I disconect CD player and other equipement or leave it conected and just turn volumen pot on 0 ?
FineArts is offline  
post #550 of 837 Old 09-03-2012, 11:41 AM
Member
 
alatham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrifectoChris View Post

I was wondering if there are any members using this amplifier to drive a larger Magnepan speaker like the 1.6 model? If so what what has been your experience?

I am looking to drive Maggie 1.7 with my 20L. Would love to hear feedback on if I am going to toast my speakers or amp if I try that.
alatham is offline  
post #551 of 837 Old 09-03-2012, 05:51 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FineArts View Post

I would have a question.When biasing amp.,should I disconect CD player and other equipement or leave it conected and just turn volumen pot on 0 ?

There is no reason to disconnect anything. You can even leave volume intact, just do not play anything at that time.
FineArts likes this.
ap1 is online now  
post #552 of 837 Old 09-03-2012, 05:53 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by alatham View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrifectoChris View Post

I was wondering if there are any members using this amplifier to drive a larger Magnepan speaker like the 1.6 model? If so what what has been your experience?

I am looking to drive Maggie 1.7 with my 20L. Would love to hear feedback on if I am going to toast my speakers or amp if I try that.

You won't kill the amp, just won't get best sound quality from that combination.
ap1 is online now  
post #553 of 837 Old 09-04-2012, 01:40 AM
Member
 
FineArts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dubrovnik,Croatia
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks ap1 for your quick answer,I was thinking the same but was not sure
FineArts is offline  
post #554 of 837 Old 09-05-2012, 08:02 AM
Member
 
TrifectoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried this amplifer with Martin Logan's ElectroMotion speakers?
TrifectoChris is offline  
post #555 of 837 Old 09-14-2012, 02:21 AM
Member
 
NZAJTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrifectoChris View Post

Has anyone tried this amplifer with Martin Logan's ElectroMotion speakers?

I wouldnt bother, I know someone with Martin Logan Vantage and his gigantic Solid state amp has to work hard to drive them.
The little 20L just wouldnt work, probably sound like crap and the amp would be working way to hard.
NZAJTG is offline  
post #556 of 837 Old 09-14-2012, 09:55 AM
Member
 
rntlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think they'd work fine with the 20L. There's a review on ML's website from a guy running a pair on an 8 watt SET. He loves them.]
rntlee is offline  
post #557 of 837 Old 09-14-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZAJTG View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrifectoChris View Post

Has anyone tried this amplifer with Martin Logan's ElectroMotion speakers?

I wouldnt bother, I know someone with Martin Logan Vantage and his gigantic Solid state amp has to work hard to drive them.
The little 20L just wouldnt work, probably sound like crap and the amp would be working way to hard.

that "gigantic solid state amp" must not have too much inside of it then, because the ml vantages aren't particularly difficult to drive... smile.gif

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #558 of 837 Old 09-17-2012, 06:57 PM
Member
 
TrifectoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping that someone on the forum would have real world experience with it. Maybe I will have to be the first.
TrifectoChris is offline  
post #559 of 837 Old 09-19-2012, 01:33 AM
Member
 
NZAJTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

that "gigantic solid state amp" must not have too much inside of it then, because the ml vantages aren't particularly difficult to drive... smile.gif

Sorry, must be wrong then
NZAJTG is offline  
post #560 of 837 Old 09-23-2012, 03:28 AM
Newbie
 
njpozner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have ElectroMotions that I'm driving with a Yaqin MC-100B without any problems. Turning the volume up to 30% is more than loud enough for my space. I've taken them louder without distortion, but my neighbors would kill me if I did so often!
njpozner is offline  
post #561 of 837 Old 09-24-2012, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Ernstmach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great Mitten..
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone blow a fuse in their MS-20L?
Ernstmach is offline  
post #562 of 837 Old 09-25-2012, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Theonetruegreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by alatham View Post

I am looking to drive Maggie 1.7 with my 20L. Would love to hear feedback on if I am going to toast my speakers or amp if I try that.
I use the MC-100B Kt-88 amp with my Maggie's 1.5, and is the best combo of the amps I've used with them (the big Denon POA4400 class A monos, Emotiva XPA-2). Even though the power output ability is 1/6th of what I'd used previously, at the volumes I listen in my 18x12 room, it sounds beautiful.

TV's ain't theaters buddy.

My junk collection.

Theonetruegreg is offline  
post #563 of 837 Old 09-25-2012, 06:08 PM
Member
 
alatham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks True Greg! I actually ended up getting an older pair of 2.7 maggies and so far it's working fine.
alatham is offline  
post #564 of 837 Old 09-28-2012, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Jeff Aguilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Olympia, WA USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Aguilar
I have blown a couple of fuses in my amp! I turned it off and then on too quickly and pop... I ended up going to a professional electronic supply store to find the correct fuses in case I burned a few out. It is an odd sized fuse
Jeff Aguilar is offline  
post #565 of 837 Old 09-28-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Ernstmach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great Mitten..
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jeff, I was wondering if I were the only person that has had this happen. In my situation it happened while listening to headphones.
I was using my AKG 701's, about an hour into my listening session. The left channel just stopped working. I didn't think that the amp was required to put forth much effort as I wasn't listening at high volume levels.
I contacted Song about it. He responded very quickly and was eager to help. He suggest I look for a blown fuse. I didn't know that each channel was fused.
Replaced it with one of the extras and all is well. Like you I have purchased the correct fuses from a known source to keep on hand.
Thanks!
Ernstmach is offline  
post #566 of 837 Old 09-30-2012, 05:14 AM
Member
 
rntlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What power tubes are you guys running in the amp? Just curious.
rntlee is offline  
post #567 of 837 Old 09-30-2012, 04:58 PM
Member
 
cytowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rntlee View Post

What power tubes are you guys running in the amp? Just curious.

Russian NOS (early 1980s), 6P3S-E

Warning: The 6P3S-E is not a direct replacement, care must be taken when breaking them in.

you have to be trusted by the people that you lie to....
cytowing is offline  
post #568 of 837 Old 10-02-2012, 06:55 AM
Member
 
FineArts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dubrovnik,Croatia
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will be a little bit offtopic but will write any way.If you have turntable with MM cartige then add phono preamp Yaqin MS - 12B to your MS - 20L.Put together this combo sounds so teriffic
that I sold the same day my old preamp from Cayin model Lyric PS 2 that costed me more then 700 $.Yaqin MS - 12B you get for some 300 $ and with stock tubes it beats Cayin in every detail
FineArts is offline  
post #569 of 837 Old 10-02-2012, 09:02 AM
Member
 
rntlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cytowing View Post

Russian NOS (early 1980s), 6P3S-E
Warning: The 6P3S-E is not a direct replacement, care must be taken when breaking them in.

How are they holding up for you? Kinda spec-busting running them in this amp. smile.gif
I've read lots of guys are doing it though. What are you biasing them at?
rntlee is offline  
post #570 of 837 Old 10-02-2012, 04:10 PM
Member
 
cytowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rntlee View Post

How are they holding up for you? Kinda spec-busting running them in this amp. smile.gif
I've read lots of guys are doing it though. What are you biasing them at?

I have been using them for 10 months, no problems.

I am biasing them at .415 - .420

you have to be trusted by the people that you lie to....
cytowing is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

Tags
Yaqin Ms 20l Integrated Vaccum Tube Amplifier , Yaqin , Onkyo Tx Sr806 Receiver , Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier , Yaqin Mc 100b Kt88 Tube Integrated Amplifier 2 Mode New Pushpull , Axiom M3 V3 Bookshelf Speaker , Kef Q900wa Floor Standing Speaker , Yaqin King 2a3 Ms 2a3 Vacuum Tube Hi End Tube Integrated Power Amplifier Pus , Yaqin Ms 300c 300b X2 Vacuum Tube Hi End Tube Integrated Amplifier
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off