Stereo PC Speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 12-01-2010, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been roaming the forums for a while now trying to find a definate answer to my question with no luck, so i decided to just ask. My appologies if you have had to answer it 100 times already.

Okay so what im after is a good budget stereo system simply for my pc nothing else but im a complete novice when it comes to audio. It will be used purley for music, i use headphones when playing games and dont watch movies on my pc.

I have a very cheap soundcard but it does have a s/pdif out(no analogue line out). I was thinking of getting an Onkyo A9155 and a set of mission mx1's. However the Onkyo does not have a s/pdif connection. As i understand it this means i need a DAC? would using a small external DAC like a CYP AU-D3 do the job or would i end up with rubbish sound quaility. Also would the fact i have a cheap sound card have any effect on the quaility if im just using the s/pdif out?

I have a budget of around £350 for the whole system and i understand for this money i wont have anything amazing but im just after something more pleasent than my current multimedia speakers for music listening.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-01-2010, 09:37 AM
ap1
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbirley View Post

I have been roaming the forums for a while now trying to find a definate answer to my question with no luck, so i decided to just ask. My appologies if you have had to answer it 100 times already.

Okay so what im after is a good budget stereo system simply for my pc nothing else but im a complete novice when it comes to audio. It will be used purley for music, i use headphones when playing games and dont watch movies on my pc.