HELP - B&W / Rotel combo lacks sparkle? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 06-03-2011, 11:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I am fairly new to the world of Hi FI, so any help would be most appreciated!

I am currently running B&W CM1's, a Rotel RC-1550 pre-amp, a Rotel RB-1552 power amp, a Pro-ject RPM 5.1 turntable with a SHURE M97xE cartriadge and a Marantz NA7004 network DAC which I run my Macbook through. All connected with Chord Company banana plugged speaker cables with more Chord Company quality interconnects.

My issue is the sound is just not exciting. The combo is talented with laid back acoustic music, but when I am after something fast and exciting ('Power', from Kanye Wests latest album for example), the combination sems to strip it of any of the sparkle.

The sound is a lot less exciting than on my far cheaper Marantz NR1601 50w AV amp and B&W 685s. From reviews, this should not be the case.

I am thinking that it may be the Rotel equipment (the power amp is a big AB kind - possibly too warm) in combination with the CM1's? Would this be right? I know the NA7004 is supposed to be quite bright, so it doesn't really make full sense to me.

Yet I am thinking of selling the pre/power combo and picking up an 840a Azur integrated amp for a cleaner, faster sound with equal power. If not I was thinking of selling my AB power amp and buying a more efficient, smaller (and presumably less warm) D power amp like the Rotel RB1572?

Perhaps of importance is the fact I am currently in a small bedroom with the speakers about 2 metres apart. My new room I will be moving too later this week will see the speakers 3 or so metres apart. Could this make a difference?

Any answers would be most appreciated!

Thanks,

Alex
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-04-2011, 12:16 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11