Possible damaged power amplifier - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-10-2011, 06:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Subsequence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, long time reader first time poster

I was wondering if any of you would be willing to help me out with a problem i'm having. The thing is there is sound coming from my speakers when my power amp is off even after a couple of hours so it can't be capacitors or something i think.

The sound is very distorted ofcourse but still it has me worried that i might damage more if i keep using it and i'm also wondering what exactly is broken, the power or the pre. They're both from Cambridge audio, the C500 pre and P500 power and about 10 years old, now i know that's not old for quality audio equipment but these were pretty cheap so who knows?

When both are turned on they sound just like they've always sounded maybe the sound has become a bit brighter but i can't say that for certain.

Thanks for any help!
Subsequence is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-13-2011, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
jackbuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I get weird sounds that I've correlated to RF remotes and cell phones when system is shut down, just a thought.

It sounds like a cross between a beep and buzz in a Morse code type pattern
jackbuzz is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-13-2011, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is the power amp still plugged into an AC outlet when this happens?
Does the amp have an automatic turn-on or mute circuit?

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-13-2011, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gizmologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You may well have a ham operator in your vicinity and if he is running serious RF power, that signal can invade just about any AV device. It is, however, illegal for his equipment to do that and by FCC regulations, he is responsible for doing whatever it takes to solve the problem. It may mean adding RF filters, replacing poorly shielded IC cables, reducing his ERP (Effective Radiated Power) etc.
Gizmologist is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off