Thinking of geting a turntable... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 28 Old 01-27-2012, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't want to spend a lot of money as this is my first turntable, but I do want quality. I've narrowed my search down to late 70's/early 80's DUAL and Thorens turntables.

From my searches on ebay and other sites, it looks like if i'm patient and don't mind giving a little TLC, I can find some of these units for < $200.

It looks like these units are well built, easily modified, and have a lot of parts/aftermarket available.

My question is this... are there particular models that I should look for?

I was eyeing a Dual 1219 as well as a Thorens TD-125 / TD-160? Not really sure of the differences in the model numbers. If they're all very close, i'd rather be patient and aim for the best unit.

I'm extremely new to turntables, so all help is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 01-27-2012, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter

in a totally different direction... i just noticed some used pro ject debut III turntables that fall around the $250 mark... Advice greatly appreciated
post #3 of 28 Old 01-27-2012, 08:09 PM
ap1
AVS Special Member

Liked: 19
$250 is not exactly a sweet spot in TT prices. If you can allocate a little more (like $400), you will be in better position. I suggest to get AT-LP240, which often can be found for $300 or less, and Shure M97xE or AT-440MLa cartridge. You will be in better shape that way, considering that this table has phono preamp.

If you like vintage stuff, you better get table which was top of the line back then. And get something from late 70th. That was a peak time in TT technology. But they are likely more expensive than you you like, and require some tuning.
post #4 of 28 Old 01-28-2012, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter

If a vintage table gets me better quality for my money, I definitely don't mind hunting for it.