Recommended, or not, max length for RCA audio cables? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-15-2012, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kelemvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have my Media PC in a room in the basement and need to get the music up to the stereo in our family room upstairs. I took a quick measurement and would need around 55' of cable.

The PC would just have a standard 1/8" jack out that splits into the two RCA ends. I'd then run a long RCA cable from there up to the stereo.

I see Monoprice has a 75' cable for $15. Am I going to get any noticeable loss of quality with this? I've never had to run cables that far as things used to be much closer together.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


Thanks.
kelemvor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-15-2012, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Kelemvor,

There is nothing inherent that will prevent a 55 foot run, especially if good quality cable is used.

One potential problem would be picking up noise along the way. When I have to use long analog runs, I put the cables through a grounded steal conduit for the added shielding. It also lets me add/subtract/replace cables later.

Another problem could be ground loops. With the two systems on different electrical circuits, there is a possibility of the grounds being at different potentials. The loud 60hz hum will make this problem obvious.

And look for cable with low capacitance, as too much capacitance will attenuate higher frequencies.

Professional installations could be much longer than 55 feet, but would use a balanced line, which is much more noise-immune.

If you can, you should consider an optical link instead of coax. All of the above mentioned problems would go away. Here is a 75 foot optical cable for under $24. They also have 50 foot cables.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 05:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kelemvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the tuner it's going to get hooked up to is an older one and doesn't have any optical ports. (The good tuner is downstairs in the theater area). So the standard red/white RCA cables is my only option.

I guess I'll just give it a shot and see what happens.

The cables will just be running through the drop ceiling in my basement and then up through the wall so it shouldn't be too bad.

Thanks.
kelemvor is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 07:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,577
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelemvor View Post

The cables will just be running through the drop ceiling in my basement and then up through the wall so it shouldn't be too bad.

Keep the audio cable as far as possible from fluorecent light fixtures and AC power lines.
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Keep the audio cable as far as possible from fluorescent light fixtures and AC power lines.

+1
. . . even if that means taking a more circuitous route with a longer cable.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Get some audio baluns. I use some from Niles that work well and I have a Xantech kit if you are looking to buy one.

B.
Brian B is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 109
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articles/rg6.htm

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-16-2012, 11:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Have you considered a wireless solution?

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Running an unbalanced cable more than ten feet is asking for trouble; all kinds of problems can occur with that kind of setup. You definitely don't want to run an unbalanced (RCA) cable 50 feet!!

There are two solutions that will work.

#1 is to get a piece of pro audio or high-end gear that has balanced outputs; very expensive. You might check a pro-audio site for a device that will send balanced signals and receive them though. You can run balanced cables 100 feet with no problem at all.

#2 is to spend about $40 on a decent wireless router and set up a home network, and then use a receiver in your family room that has wi-fi and can receive the audio from the computer through the wireless link/router.

Most devices that receive internet radio will also access any music that is stored on your computer, so get one of those boxes and receive wirelessly with it.

The Vtech IS9181 is $100 from Amazon. That will wirelessly access internet radio and anything from your computer through your router.





Quote:
Originally Posted by kelemvor View Post

So I have my Media PC in a room in the basement and need to get the music up to the stereo in our family room upstairs. I took a quick measurement and would need around 55' of cable.

The PC would just have a standard 1/8" jack out that splits into the two RCA ends. I'd then run a long RCA cable from there up to the stereo.

I see Monoprice has a 75' cable for $15. Am I going to get any noticeable loss of quality with this? I've never had to run cables that far as things used to be much closer together.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


Thanks.

commsysman is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 01:57 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:


Running an unbalanced cable more than ten feet is asking for trouble;

Not really, it's done often, give it a shot first.

BTW, video signals are unbalanced. CATV is unbalanced and they use cables much longer then 10 feet.
SAM64 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OtherSongs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago-ish
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelemvor View Post

So I have my Media PC in a room in the basement and need to get the music up to the stereo in our family room upstairs. I took a quick measurement and would need around 55' of cable.

The PC would just have a standard 1/8" jack out that splits into the two RCA ends. I'd then run a long RCA cable from there up to the stereo.

I see Monoprice has a 75' cable for $15. Am I going to get any noticeable loss of quality with this? I've never had to run cables that far as things used to be much closer together.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Thanks.

Why not just buy it and find out? Should be under $20 with the shipping.

For slightly more money there's 75' XLR cables at under $30 see: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

If top quality sound is your priority then go with two of these 60' cables at $112 total: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

The best is the enemy of the good. Voltaire (1694-1778)

OtherSongs is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 94
In my old place (apartment) I bought a 50' cable from monoprice. I used it to run component video from my computer around a room, through a doorway, and up the wall to the TV. I didn't need 50' of run, but that's the length I bought at the time. Worked like a charm.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 02:06 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:


For slightly more money there's 75' XLR cables at under $30 see:

He doesn't have a balanced source or load, there no point in using balanced cables in an unbalanced connection.
SAM64 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-17-2012, 06:26 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Instead of running cables, maybe look at a solution that uses dlna, such as a blu-ray, or such. If you really want to send music to the other end of the house, there is always Sonos, and other solutions.
gregzoll is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off