Hook up only 2 speakers to a 5.1 avr - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-28-2012, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Leary Herrinf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a HK AVR 154. Can I hook up only two floor speakers to the front outputs and not hook up any speakers to the center, surround and sub outputs?

I know this will produce stereo only. My concern is, will I damage the reciever?
Leary Herrinf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-28-2012, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
No. I do that with my older AVR in my living room. No troubles. Enjoy the tunes/films.
Ovation is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-28-2012, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
underminded999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nah, you'll be fine.

A lot of people buy their AVR's with the hopes of "future proofing" their purchases, to add more speakers later.

There is no harm, in only using two channels of a 5.1,6.1,7.1,9.1, etc... system.

Enjoy what you have, and know that once you decide to expand, you have the ability, to do so.
underminded999 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-03-2012, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
There is no problem at all with doing that. Not using the other channels also makes more power available for the front 2 channels than might be the case running all 5.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Leary Herrinf View Post

I have a HK AVR 154. Can I hook up only two floor speakers to the front outputs and not hook up any speakers to the center, surround and sub outputs?

I know this will produce stereo only. My concern is, will I damage the reciever?

commsysman is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Member
 
ckcoolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The only downside is that series of HK won't auto calibrate with only two speakers, but I think it only adjusted levels and time delays anyway. If I recall right, that AVR had no room correction EQ so you won't be losing that much functionality. Level matching for a stereo setup can still be done by hand. I ran my old AVR 247 which was the previous model year to yours as a 2.0 and later 3.0 setup for a while.
ckcoolic is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Just in case....

Tube amplifiers can/will be damaged by running with no speakers attached. It has to do with the output transformer being unloaded.

Solid state amps with no output transformer (anything made since about 1970) are fine running unloaded.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off