Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 03-14-2012, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
kbn

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I just recently sold my stereo system ( Martin Logan Vantage / Marantz AV7005 + MM7055 ) and in the process of picking out a new preamp. I'm fairly new at this so... I'm very willing to learn and open to suggestions.

I'm waiting currently waiting for these guys to come in:
Martin Logan Montis
2x Martin Logan Descent I
Mcintosh MC452
Oppo-95

Taking a long time for Mcintosh to really give me a solid date... It's been a month. What's up with that?

I plan on only doing a 2-Channel system for my music and movies. The problem I'm having is choosing a preamp. I'm one of those people who really like to have a nice system that matches so naturally I'm looking at the Mcintosh C50 or Mcintosh MX-121.

I've been leaning towards the C50 since day one, but my question is... Since its a stereo preamplifier, would I run into problems when I want to watch movies? I was planning on using balanced cables from the oppo directly into the c50 and running an hdmi to the tv separately. Would it be a better choice to go with the MX-121? I like the C50 becuase it has much better DACs than the MX-121...

I also am considering the Anthem D2V 3D or Integra 80.3.

Can someone please help me out? Maybe explain why one choice is better than the other?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 03-15-2012, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Hi; sounds like you are going to put a good system together.

First of all, I would like to mention that IMO the OPPO BDP-95 is the engineering triumph of the century! It sounds better playing CDs or SACDs than my $6000 Ayre SACD player. For only $1000? Amazing.