/** * vBulletin 3.8.7 CSS * Style: 'AVSForum-new'; Style ID: 113 */ @import url("http://www.avsforum.com/forum/clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-c10a490f-00113.css"); Stereo System on a budget. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 03-23-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I would like to set up a stereo system of my own, but I'm totally new to this and I hope I could get some advice on setting up a system for ~$1.5k. I used to think CD music sounded like what you got on desktop speakers but having chanced upon an audio store while some people were auditioning stuff, I was like omg. I've trawled through dozens of sites but it's just been totally confusing, with some people highly recommending a certain item yet others totally trash it. I hardly even know what components make a basic system. If I'm playing mostly CDs or FLAC files, do I need a pre-amp? Tube amp? SS amp?

I have a Electro-voice Lotus ES225A Karaoke Mixer/Amp + Speakers left over from a friend, with a link nepro.com.sg/productPDF/229.pdf and I'm not sure if these could be used in a stereo system or should I be selling them to fund the stereo set and how much can they fetch?

So sorry for the wall of text guys, but I really don't know where to begin.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 03-23-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiopadawan View Post

If I'm playing mostly CDs or FLAC files, do I need a pre-amp? Tube amp? SS amp?

All you need is a competent solid state receiver, and a decent pair of speakers. You can definitely get those for $1,500 complete.

--Ethan

RealTraps - The acoustic treatment experts
Ethan's Audio Expert book

post #3 of 20 Old 03-23-2012, 01:16 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Kef XQ20, excellent books at sale price U$ 1200,00
Harman Kardon 3490 (2 x 120W) U$ 300,00
TOTAL SATISFACTION U$ 1500,00