What to do with CD Changer faulty in Bose Lifestyle system? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-04-2012, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
houselizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have a Bose Lifestyle system for a number of years and recently, the CD changer is having a problem and it's beyond repair. May I know how can I use the rest of the system,ie. amp/base and 2 speakers, without using the CD Changer? As the CD changer connects the amp/base to the speakers, how I can use another alternate component to replace this changer?

Should I discard the amp/base instead?

Tks!
houselizard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-04-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by houselizard View Post

Hi,

I have a Bose Lifestyle system for a number of years and recently, the CD changer is having a problem and it's beyond repair. May I know how can I use the rest of the system,ie. amp/base and 2 speakers, without using the CD Changer? As the CD changer connects the amp/base to the speakers, how I can use another alternate component to replace this changer?

Should I discard the amp/base instead?

Other than aesthetics, what keeps you from plugging in another media player?

The amp and speakers of a Bose integrated system are generally highly optimized for each other. The amp/base and the speakers should not be separated.
arnyk is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-04-2012, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
houselizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the amp and speakers were great but they are linked up by a CD changer which is not working now. The speaker zone is connected from the CD changer to the amp and amp to speaker. I don't intend to get another Bose CD Changer because it's expensive.

Is there any way to use any CD player but have a connector that suits Bose?
houselizard is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-04-2012, 08:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by houselizard View Post

Yes, the amp and speakers were great but they are linked up by a CD changer which is not working now. The speaker zone is connected from the CD changer to the amp and amp to speaker. I don't intend to get another Bose CD Changer because it's expensive.

Is there any way to use any CD player but have a connector that suits Bose?

All the information available to me suggests that the line in or aux in connectors on Bose systems are standard RCA connectors that consumer audio gear uses.
arnyk is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-05-2012, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 243
If you have an input available with RCA jacks, which I think you do, any CD player can be plugged in there.

The TEAC PDD-2610 is a 5-disc changer that is only $105 on Amazon.
commsysman is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-30-2013, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
SMITHWHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ON THE BACK OF BOSE LIFESTYLE 20 YOU WILL FIND RCA PLUGS FOR CD ON ANY AUDIO INPUT
SELECT THE INPUT TO ACCEP THIS INPUT
SINCERLY J.R. SMITH
OR USE VIDIO INPUT FOR MONO INPUT
SMITHWHO is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-30-2013, 03:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMITHWHO View Post

ON THE BACK OF BOSE LIFESTYLE 20 YOU WILL FIND RCA PLUGS FOR CD ON ANY AUDIO INPUT
SELECT THE INPUT TO ACCEP THIS INPUT
SINCERLY J.R. SMITH
OR USE VIDIO INPUT FOR MONO INPUT
One year later? AND ALL CAPS??rolleyes.gif???
Ratman is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-30-2013, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

One year later? AND ALL CAPS??rolleyes.gif???

And suggesting he use the video input for mono audio???
WilliamZX11 is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off