Building my first 2.0/2.1 system and need help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 05-27-2012, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

This is my first crack at putting together a 2.0/2.1 speaker system. I am a complete newb when it comes to this so any advice will be greatly appreciated!

I was originally planning on purchasing a Bose Cinemate II system but after reading unfavorable reviews on this site, I've decided I'd be better off building my own system. I will be using it mostly for tv/movie watching as well as playing music. I want to spend somewhere between 600-800. The only HD sources will be a cable box and panasonic 3d blu ray (possibly an xbox360 down the road).

I would like to have the airplay feature so that i can stream music from my computer or iphone. I figured the Denon AVR-1613 would be a good start. I just have no idea what type of speakers and sub I should pair with this. I like my music and movies loud with good bass. Any suggestions? Is the Denon a good start or am I going in the wrong direction?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Denon is a fine starting point, I have the 3311ci with airplay and like the feature alot. You might can find a 12 model like 2112 discounted pretty heavily since it is last years model. It will have audyssey multieq XT and airplay. Amazon shows 488. Electronics expo shows the 2312 for 600, with free shipping and usually calling customer service will get you an additional 20-30 percent off. They had last years 1612, albiet no airplay for 200 bucks prior to any customer service rep discount. But shop around. I'd try a couple of denon factory authorized refurb sellers. You might find something real good there. assessoriesforless. Check denon's website for factory authorized refurb sellers