Optical to Stereo for my TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
subzero27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,
My first post here , so please be kind

I had purchased a samsung d5000 40" LED TV sometime ago and now i want to connect my stereo amp to this tv. I couldn't see any stereo out other than headphone out ( which sucked ). My TV has a optical out only.

I want to know is there any way i can add a convert this optical signal to stereo which will be fed to my stereo amp.

I don't have a home theater and don't want to use it. Just want to connect my TV to my stereo amp. Any ideas?

If yes what should i use and what kind oa optical wire will fit.

Thanks for the help.
subzero27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 07:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

get yourself one of these, and you'll be set to go....

spdif to analog converter

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Subzero,

There is a potential problem with that unit that Chris recommended: It only decodes stereo.

If the TV broadcast contains surround-sound (Dolby-Digital 5.1), my TV (Samsung) would only output that on the optical cable. There is no way to force it to output stereo instead. In that situation, I would hear no audio at all.

My solution was a Technics SH-AC500D ($40 on eBay), as recommended by Kal. It decodes the DD-5.1, and then down-mixes it to stereo.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Hi Subzero,

There is a potential problem with that unit that Chris recommended: It only decodes stereo.

If the TV broadcast contains surround-sound (Dolby-Digital 5.1), my TV (Samsung) would only output that on the optical cable. There is no way to force it to output stereo instead. In that situation, I would hear no audio at all.

My solution was a Technics SH-AC500D ($40 on eBay), as recommended by Kal. It decodes the DD-5.1, and then down-mixes it to stereo.

Or a optical->stereo converter that handles DD, like:

http://www.markertek.com/Audio-Equip...ml?GTV-DD-2-AA
domino92024 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
If you are not using the the TV's internal tuner, the device in post #2 will probably work fine.
Ratman is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Or a optical->stereo converter that handles DD, like:

http://www.markertek.com/Audio-Equip...ml?GTV-DD-2-AA

Now that's a find! It's about time somebody did that.

I wish that existed a few years ago when I was looking. However, it is more than twice the price of what I paid for the SH-AC500D.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

If you are not using the the TV's internal tuner, the device in post #2 will probably work fine.

But many TVs will only output on S/PDIF when using the tuner. TVs typically don't have the hardware/firmware to down-mix to stereo.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
I would disagree.
When not using the internal tuner, most TV's will output (downmix) PCM stereo via the optical output from externally connected sources.
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Now that's a find! It's about time somebody did that.

I wish that existed a few years ago when I was looking. However, it is more than twice the price of what I paid for the SH-AC500D.

It's 80 bucks including shipping at Amazon.
domino92024 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 06-04-2012, 10:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

I would disagree.
When not using the internal tuner, most TV's will output (downmix) PCM stereo via the optical output from externally connected sources.

Yup, they gotta do it for the TVs speakers, so while downmixing for them...
domino92024 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 06-06-2012, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

When not using the internal tuner, most TV's will output (downmix) PCM stereo via the optical output from externally connected sources.
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Yup, they gotta do it for the TVs speakers, so while downmixing for them...
Your right. They do need to downmix for their internal speakers. But none of my Samsungs output anything on the optical except from the tuner. And then, it is only what is broadcast. Are the Samsungs simply lame? (I suppose so).


Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss 
However, it is more than twice the price of what I paid for the SH-AC500D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

It's 80 bucks including shipping at Amazon.
OK, then it is exactly twice what I paid for my SH-AC500D. But it is a good deal. Where else can you decode Dolby for under $100.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 06-06-2012, 02:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

But none of my Samsungs output anything on the optical except from the tuner. And then, it is only what is broadcast. Are the Samsungs simply lame? (I suppose so).

Nah... Samsung's aren't lame. I bet you may have overlooked an audio setting in the TV(s). Some have options to set to PCM only, DD only or "both".
Ratman is online now  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-06-2012, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Last time I checked, this forum is for 2-channel only, so why even bring up 5.1?

The device in post #2 seems like a perfect choice for all of these TVs that have only an optical audio out.
commsysman is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-06-2012, 03:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

Last time I checked, this forum is for 2-channel only, so why even bring up 5.1?
The device in post #2 seems like a perfect choice for all of these TVs that have only an optical audio out.

Because we're trying to differentiate between broadcast TV (which is DD, not necessarily 5.1) and trying to help the OP get the optical working for stereo.
Ratman is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-06-2012, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

Last time I checked, this forum is for 2-channel only, so why even bring up 5.1?
The device in post #2 seems like a perfect choice for all of these TVs that have only an optical audio out.

And that device will output NOTHING if the OP uses his TV to tune any SD or HD signal on either cable or OTA. See...the OUTPUT going to his stereo IS 2-channel only. It's the input that could be DD or PCM.
domino92024 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 06-07-2012, 06:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
You can tell most TV's that can do multichannel to stick to 2 channels. It is a menu option.
arnyk is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 06-07-2012, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
^^^
As suggested in post #12. wink.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #18 of 21 Old 06-07-2012, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

You can tell most TV's that can do multichannel to stick to 2 channels. It is a menu option.

I challenge your use of the word "most." I cannot on my Sony, nor can I on my Mitsubishi. Many TVs have caveats warning users of the PCM/Dolby Digital dilemma, similar to ..."digital output might be Dolby 5.1 or PCM depending on what input source is used." No menu options given.
domino92024 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 06-08-2012, 03:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
oOOBillO0o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the move..
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by subzero27 View Post

Hello All,

My first post here , so please be kind



I had purchased a samsung d5000 40" LED TV sometime ago and now i want to connect my stereo amp to this tv. I couldn't see any stereo out other than headphone out ( which sucked ). My TV has a optical out only.


I want to know is there any way i can add a convert this optical signal to stereo which will be fed to my stereo amp.


I don't have a home theater and don't want to use it. Just want to connect my TV to my stereo amp. Any ideas?


If yes what should i use and what kind oa optical wire will fit.


Thanks for the help.

Its called a Digital to Analog Converter. or DAC for short. They can be outrageous or affordable. I use the Audioengine D1 and it works great.

McIntosh Labs! What am I listening to?
oOOBillO0o is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 06-08-2012, 07:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

I challenge your use of the word "most." I cannot on my Sony, nor can I on my Mitsubishi.

Without model numbers, the above comment is impossible to verify.

For example, my Mitsubishi TV has no menu options for stereo versus multichannel. It's always in stereo. You are right about the exact details (no menu option), but the outcome contradicts the thrust of your post (My TV worked perfectly with a simple DAC).
Quote:
Many TVs have caveats warning users of the PCM/Dolby Digital dilemma, similar to ..."digital output might be Dolby 5.1 or PCM depending on what input source is used." No menu options given.

Without making claims that would take an industry-wide survey supervised by a major accounting firm to confirm, I'm willing allow for the existence of TVs that lack the menu option, and would need a multichannel decoder to work with all TV programs.

People should read their manuals. ;-)
arnyk is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 06-08-2012, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

I challenge your use of the word "most." I cannot on my Sony, nor can I on my Mitsubishi.

Without model numbers, the above comment is impossible to verify.

For example, my Mitsubishi TV has no menu options for stereo versus multichannel. It's always in stereo. You are right about the exact details (no menu option), but the outcome contradicts the thrust of your post (My TV worked perfectly with a simple DAC).

So any DD 5.1 contained in ATSC signals had to be transported to an AVR via analog. Or how?
Quote:
Many TVs have caveats warning users of the PCM/Dolby Digital dilemma, similar to ..."digital output might be Dolby 5.1 or PCM depending on what input source is used." No menu options given.
Quote:
Without making claims that would take an industry-wide survey supervised by a major accounting firm to confirm, I'm willing allow for the existence of TVs that lack the menu option, and would need a multichannel decoder to work with all TV programs.

But you were quite comfortable saying "most" had menu options ?? rolleyes.gif
domino92024 is offline  
Reply 2-Channel Audio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off