Stereo Receiver for my Paradigm Atom v7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-15-2012, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man I can't decide what receiver to get for a music only setup with my Atom v7 bookshelf speakers. They are rated for 75w at 8 oms, though I'm a novice at audio equiptment.

Harman Kardon HK 3490 120 Watt Stereo Recei... http://amzn.com/B00198F89A

- Is this too much power? I like that there is a phono preamp so I can add a record player later. Only 1 optical input but I could live with that.

Onkyo TX-8050 Network Stereo Receiver (Bla... http://amzn.com/B004UR486G

- This Onkyo is 80w and has 2 optical inputs, but the reviews lead at the fact that I'd have to buy a phono preamp. The wattage is a good match.

Thoughs on the 120w with my 75w Atoms? Is that out of the question? Other suggestions or advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-15-2012, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Don't worry about the wattage. Concentrate on the features you need (or might need in the future).

If you don't have a turntable now, I'd lean toward a receiver with more digital inputs. You can always get a phono preamp (they start around $50) when you buy the turntable (and many budget turntables have them built-in). I'd also look for a subwoofer pre-out. Eventually, you're going to want more bass than those Atoms can produce (which is almost none).

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

post #3 of 6 Old 12-16-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurephonic View Post

Man I can't decide what receiver to get for a music only setup with my Atom v7 bookshelf speakers. They are rated for 75w at 8 oms, though I'm a novice at audio equiptment.

Harman Kardon HK 3490 120 Watt Stereo Recei... http://amzn.com/B00198F89A