laptop to rotel rb-1050? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a laptop w/windows8 that i would like to connect to a rotel rb-1050 70x2 amp.What would be the best way to do the connection.would appreciate any help.thanks
rocky1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 06:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

I have a laptop w/windows8 that i would like to connect to a rotel rb-1050 70x2 amp.What would be the best way to do the connection.would appreciate any help.thanks

Here's your first step:

http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/mini-stereo-phone-splitter-cable-p/sairtsy6.htm





The little black plug goes into the laptop's headphone jack.

Many other people sell this product including Monoprice, Radio Shack, Best Buy
arnyk is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 08:59 AM
Member
 
miatame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Rotel is a terrific amp. Using a headphone out to RCA cable is going to destroy any idea of good sound quality.

You're going to want to invest in a USB digital out adapter, and then get a digital preamp/processor before sending the analog signal on to that Rotel. It should sound amazing.
miatame is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-10-2013, 09:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
Quote:
Originally Posted by miatame View Post

The Rotel is a terrific amp. Using a headphone out to RCA cable is going to destroy any idea of good sound quality.

I agree that Rotel amps can sound very good indeed.

I don't know about the idea of good sound because that is in people's heads and I can't read minds. ;-)

But I can tell you about what happens to the signal technically.

The performance of audio interfaces in modern computers including laptops are roughly the same as that of a very good CD player.

This is typical:

http://www.ixbt.com/mainboard/intel/dp55wg/rmaa-96.shtml


Frequency response (40 Hz - 15 kHz), dB
+0.02, -0.12

Noise level, dB (A)
-90.4

Dynamic range, dB (A)
90.4

THD,%
0.0022

THD + Noise, dB (A)
-83.4

IMD + Noise,%
0.0083

Crosstalk, dB
-85.3

IMD at 10 kHz,%
0.0087





Bottom line, the OP's laptop might perform worse, but an investment of about $5 in a cable seems like a reasonable risk.

I don't see any purpose in necessarily prejudicing a person against the equipment that they already own. ;-)
arnyk is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-11-2013, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks everyone.I believe i have some of those cables laying around some where.Will probably give it a try.Its going to be for outside use for now anyways.wont hurt to try.
rocky1 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-12-2013, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i tryed and did not work for whatever reason.I know the jack works as i tryed some earbuds to make sure. but the outdoor speakers connected to amp to computer did not.Have to trouble shoot when i have time.Didnt even get a hiss.
rocky1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-14-2013, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me out.This is not working.I connected the cable properly fom headphone jack but i get nothing.Could use the help.Its not the speakers as i tried another set just to make sure.Help pleasePlease
rocky1 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-14-2013, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
disregard something wrong with amp.Hopefully just a fuse even though power light is on.Connected to my marantz front aux to try and it worked.
rocky1 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-14-2013, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Glen B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Old MIll Basin, Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

I have a laptop w/windows8 that i would like to connect to a rotel rb-1050 70x2 amp.What would be the best way to do the connection.would appreciate any help.thanks

Try the Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC, or go wireless with the Outlaw Audio OAW3 wireless audio system. Both products bypass the internal soundcard in your laptop, to provide superior sound. I currently use the OAW3 to playback digital music from one of my laptops to my secondary 2-channel system, and it delivery excellent sound quality without any form of external interference whatsoever.

Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC

Outlaw Audio OAW3 Wireless System

Glen B is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-14-2013, 12:11 PM
Member
 
miatame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post


Bottom line, the OP's laptop might perform worse, but an investment of about $5 in a cable seems like a reasonable risk.

I don't see any purpose in necessarily prejudicing a person against the equipment that they already own. ;-)

I guess I saw Rotel and assumed the OP was going for High Res audio, or at least high quality, but rereading the post I was mistaken. In college I hooked up my laptop through the headphone out to my roomate's mid-fi stereo and it sounded great for parties. If you just want decent to good sound this method is perfectly fine.

If however you are trying to create a high-end solid state music server you'll want to invest in an external DAC and preamp.
miatame is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off