No sound with Anthem MRX connected to tv via hdmi 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-11-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this problem is user error but I have the anthem hooked up via hdmi to panasonic tv but I do not get any sound at all.
HDMI 3 to HDMI 3 on both units. What am I missing here? I have a cable box hooked up to HDMI 1 and HDMI 1 on anthem and use bd on the anthem and this works great. It's when try to watch a youtube show that the sound doesn't come through at all. I tried pushing the tv button on the anthem but still no sound.
Any help appreciated. Thank you.
dufferin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-11-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 244
The correct connection is to run an HDMI cable from the HDMI OUT jack on the Anthem receiver to the HDMI 1 input on the the TV / monitor. That should be the ONLY connection to the TV / monitor.

All of your signal sources, including the cable box, DVD player, etc. etc. must be hooked ONLY to the HDMI input jacks on the receiver.

Use only HDMI class 2 cables as specified in your receiver manual.

Do both your TV and receiver support the Audio Return Channel function?

If so, read the manuals to understand how that functions.

As your receiver manual points out, SOME cable boxes do not provide on-screen menus or full functionality when connected to the receiver via HDMI. If this is the case, connect your cable box to the receiver using a set of component-video cables in order to get full functionality, rather than HDMI.
commsysman is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-11-2013, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have the cable box connected to the TV using Class 2 HDMI cables. I do get sound as long as the cable box is on and I am watching cable tv. When I use the wifi function on the panasonic tv to access youtube or netflix (cable box is off then) I do not get any sound.
If I leave the cable box on and access wifi through tv the sound I receive is from the Rogers cable box.

Both tv and Anthem do support Audio Return Channel so I did hook up a set of HDMI cables to this on the tv and then to an HDMI in port. I didn't have any luck. I am trying to understand this manual and am having some difficulty with this.

thank you.
dufferin is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-11-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 114
You might need to run an audio only signal from
Your TV (analog or digital) into the MRX under a separate
Input to get Internet sound thru your AVR.
grasshoppers is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wondered if I needed to run an optical cable to the anthem. I will try this. thank you
dufferin is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Depending on which Panasonic model you have, but I believe ARC channel is enabled on HDMI2. The receiver probably only has one or two HDMI ports you can use for ARC as well. On both ends the devices must be configured somewhere in setup.

Nethawk is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tv is a Panasonic plasma GT50. I am going re-read the manual and focus on ARC again.
Currently he Anthem led readout does tell me there is no communication (no signal) from tv.
dufferin is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
You're in luck. I have the GT55. It is HDMI2. Enable ARC under HDMI Settings in setup menu. Take a look in the manual, somewhere around pg 42.

On the Anthem side you will need to do the same - find out which HDMI ports support ARC, and where in setup menu it needs to be turned on.

You might want to disable HDMI control when playing with these settings, it adds another level of complication that's probably not necessary. Just a thought.

Nethawk is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not see this option in my setup menu on this Panasonic GT 50 Plasma. I do see 4 HDMI ports greyed out so no option to change anything. I do even see ARC in the menu or settings.

What seems confusing on the Anthem is my understand or lack of for what ARC does. I thought ARC was software calibration that finds the best sound for your room acoustics. I did not think ARC had anything to do with sound from your tv and since I am 2 channel sound only I was told that installing ARC would not be needed for this.
dufferin is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Yes, the Anthem "ARC" refers to room correction.

ARC also refers to "audio return channel". Confusing
Isn't it .

Have you tried running the digital cable from TV out
Into the Anthem yet??
grasshoppers is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just trying the optical out on tv to digital in on Anthem. thanks
dufferin is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dufferin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally we have communication between my tv and anthem. Thank you to those who responded to give me input and suggestions.
dufferin is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-12-2013, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Glad you got it worked out. Sorry about the terminology. It turns out Anthem was late to the party in supporting "audio return channel", probably because they couldn't figure out what to call it since they already have ARC (room correction). biggrin.gif

Nethawk is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off