understanding itunes 11.02... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
i must be missing something here...

after "updating" to the latest version, itunes seems to be messin with my music...

for example...albums that were once 420MB are now 311MB

i just imported a cd, and during the import itunes stated "16 songs, 1hr, 494MB

after ripping was complete itunes displayed "16 songs,1hr, 408MB...

i don't recall this happening with earlier itunes versions...

what am i missing?
lefthandluke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
i just finished ripping paul simon's "so beautiful or so what"...

during import 385.9MB...after imort 236.3MB
lefthandluke is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Maybe it's saying the file in WAV format (CD format) is 385 MB and after you rip it in apple lossless the new file size is 236 MB.

Apple lossless takes less space than WAV.
lulimet is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
citizen arcane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At the gates of delirium
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 799
What's itunes? tongue.gif

¿lɐɯɹou ǝq ʎɥʍ

citizen arcane is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Burn it back to music cd and see it's the same size as the original disc.
glangford is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Double post
glangford is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
All I can say is that this rings a vague bell. I think I read something about iTunes changing the way it calculated file sizes.

At any rate, merely upgrading your version of iTunes does nothing to the files themselves, so they haven't changed.
Quote:
i just finished ripping paul simon's "so beautiful or so what"...

during import 385.9MB...after imort 236.3MB
I have no idea what you mean by "during import." But whatever you're looking at should not be a problem.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnarus View Post

I have no idea what you mean by "during import." But whatever you're looking at should not be a problem.



sorry...should have said before import. intunes asks if i would like to import this cd...file size is, say 450MB

after replying "yes"... file size is shown to be 320MB


in previous itunes versions, the file sizes remained the same
lefthandluke is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 03-31-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My.guess is that new version defaults to apple lossless (lossless compressed format), whereas your previous version did not.

Bigus is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Check your import settings.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
fellas I appreciate all the help...

but does anyone actually use iTunes 11.02 here....?
lefthandluke is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefthandluke View Post

fellas I appreciate all the help...

but does anyone actually use iTunes 11.02 here....?

What codec do you use to import your CD's? That is why you were asked to check your import settings. iTunes defaults to AAC (128k I believe), but you could also be using Apple Lossless, WAV, AIFF, or MP3. As has been suggested, if you are using a compressed codec, the file size will be smaller.

I do use iTunes 11.0.2 on a Mac. I can say though that I never paid attention to file sizes. I rip everything to Apple Lossless, and call it a day.

If you can tell me what codec you use, I could rip a CD and see if I match your observation.

Brian
BGLeduc is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ysay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefthandluke View Post

i just finished ripping paul simon's "so beautiful or so what"...

during import 385.9MB...after imort 236.3MB

I just ripped Kenny wayne Shepherd Band "Trouble Is...." CD. I'm using iTunes 10.0.2.25 on a Windows 7 machine. I'm importing the CD using AIFFencoder. Both pre and post rip file size are the same for me.
Ysay is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
i am also ripping to apple lossless for about 3-4 years now...

unless directed otherwise, itunes defaults to 256k. prior to 11.02, itunes displayed the bitrate of ripped music...i cannot find this displayed with 11.02

also, prior to 11.02, after inserting a cd to import (rip) itunes displayed the file size in MB (eg. 440MB) and after import was complete, the file size was the same as before importing (440MB)

i have my library (457GB) backed up on 3 different external drives...all 3 are version 10's, not 11.02

i would like to keep 11.02, but if it's downsizing in anyway, i don't think i will.

i'm surprised this hasn't come up before...unless it's something i can remedy.

i miss the bitrate display for this reason...

BGLeduc...you might just check your file sizes
lefthandluke is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ysay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm still confused on what you're trying to say and still can't figure out the problem you're having. I'm using iTunes 11.02.25 on Windows and Mac machines and don't have any problem at all. Just like what I have mentioned earlier, I import using AIFF encoder (uncompressed) on all my recent rips. No problem with the file size at all. Of course, file size will be smaller if I use loseless encoder and even less if I use AAC or MP3. As far as I can remember, iTunes has kept my preferences when I updated to the newest version.
Ysay is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Ysay...you are using itunes 10 correct, not itunes 11.02?

i had no problem until i "upgraded" to 11.02...itunes versions 10 worked fine
lefthandluke is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ysay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry for my error on my earlier post. I am using iTunes 11.0.2.25.
Ysay is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ysay View Post

Sorry for my error on my earlier post. I am using iTunes 11.0.2.25.


ok...would you consider doing me a favor?


look at your "just ripped" kenny wayne shepherd album...note the file size (how many MB)


now put the disc back in as if to rip it again...when itunes asks you if you want to add disc to your itunes library, note the file size listed at bottom (along with number of songs, minutes etc)

are they the same...?
lefthandluke is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefthandluke View Post

i am also ripping to apple lossless for about 3-4 years now...

unless directed otherwise, itunes defaults to 256k. prior to 11.02, itunes displayed the bitrate of ripped music...i cannot find this displayed with 11.02

also, prior to 11.02, after inserting a cd to import (rip) itunes displayed the file size in MB (eg. 440MB) and after import was complete, the file size was the same as before importing (440MB)

i have my library (457GB) backed up on 3 different external drives...all 3 are version 10's, not 11.02

i would like to keep 11.02, but if it's downsizing in anyway, i don't think i will.

i'm surprised this hasn't come up before...unless it's something i can remedy.

i miss the bitrate display for this reason...

BGLeduc...you might just check your file sizes

A lot changed with 11 as far as displays, but if you re-enable the column browser (it is not on by default), you can enable bit rate and codec types to appear.

Brian
BGLeduc is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ysay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is what it looks like before the import...


Here is what it looks like after the import as shown on my iTunes library...
Ysay is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
i would like to keep 11.02, but if it's downsizing in anyway, i don't think i will.
This makes no sense. Apple Lossless is supposed to reduce file sizes. That's what it's for.

If you don't want reduced file sizes, rip to AIFF (as Ysay does) or WAV. Not sure why you'd want to, since Apple Lossless gives you the same quality while taking up less disk space.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 217
I just ripped a CD which will remain nameless to avoid forum ridicule...it is one of my daughters :-).

Inserted the disc - 19 tracks, 778.9mb

Ripped to Apple Lossless, it now shows in the library as 19 tracks, 508.1mb.

Re-inserted the disc in the drive, iTunes reports it as 19 tracks, 778.9mb.

And that is exactly what I would expect to see with a lossless rip.

Brian
BGLeduc is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post

A lot changed with 11 as far as displays, but if you re-enable the column browser (it is not on by default), you can enable bit rate and codec types to appear.

Brian

i must be missing this brian...

i used to be able to go to "view options" and check "bitrate" to be displayed...don't see that option listed anymore
lefthandluke is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ysay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just right click on the column header and a popup window will appear. Just check whatever you want to see.
Ysay is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
iTunes 11 changes around a lot, and one general trend is to de-emphasize ripping and burning disks. (CDs are just so-o-o 20th century!) So it's no wonder you're finding some frustration using it. I haven't switched over yet, for that very reason.

But I still don't think the problem you say you're having is really a problem. If I understand you, iTunes is behaving exactly as I would expect it to behave.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I have been ripping in Apple Lossless for the past few years, never paid attention to the file sizes.

I have noticed that after upgrading to 11.02, AirPlay to and from my PC library no longer works. I have 4 Airplay devices in the house and from my computer I get "An unknown error occurred while connecting to the Airplay device." With Homeshare on, I'm also unable to play my library from my Apple TV. Anyone else experiencing this?

ht Panasonic 60" ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, Radius 90HD; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D
2ch Sony KDL-32W650A, Sony BDP-S1000ES, Marantz PM8004, JVC T-X3 tuner, Monitor Audio Silver RX1, REL T3, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT, Sennheiser HD598
lr Panasonic 50" ST60, Sony BDP-S5100, Apple TV
pc Energy CB-5, Audioengine D1, FiiO A1
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ysay View Post

Just right click on the column header and a popup window will appear. Just check whatever you want to see.


found it!

thanks Ysay
lefthandluke is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnarus View Post

iTunes 11 changes around a lot, and one general trend is to de-emphasize ripping and burning disks. (CDs are just so-o-o 20th century!) So it's no wonder you're finding some frustration using it. I haven't switched over yet, for that very reason.

But I still don't think the problem you say you're having is really a problem. If I understand you, iTunes is behaving exactly as I would expect it to behave.


ok...so you are still using a pre 11 version of itunes?

do you happen to use apple lossless as well...?
lefthandluke is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatuglyguy View Post

I have been ripping in Apple Lossless for the past few years, never paid attention to the file sizes.

I have noticed that after upgrading to 11.02, AirPlay to and from my PC library no longer works. I have 4 Airplay devices in the house and from my computer I get "An unknown error occurred while connecting to the Airplay device." With Homeshare on, I'm also unable to play my library from my Apple TV. Anyone else experiencing this?


well, not exactly...

but i use an ipad to as a remote to control my itunes library (use "remote" app) and have experienced "skipping" incidents since using 11.02.

after hearing the skip, i replay the song and skip is gone...
lefthandluke is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 04-02-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
ok...so you are still using a pre 11 version of itunes?
Yes.
Quote:
do you happen to use apple lossless as well...?
Yes, I rip into my main library with Apple Lossless. Then I copy the files into a second library and convert them to AAC. I stream from the main library, but load iPods with the smaller files in the other one.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
Reply 2 Channel Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off