Looking for a higher end 2/2.1 system for my new computer- help with deciding? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 04-06-2013, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everybody,

First post here.

I just got a new iMac and am looking to upgrade from my current crappy Altec Lansing speakers to something nicer and higher end (relative to the AL's).

I'll be using the system exclusively with my iMac. Don't really care how it'll perform with movies, will just be using it to listen to music- I spend six+ hours a day doing that while I work (I'm a photographer), so it's important that it's a good sounding system. I also will do some minor music production so it would be cool if it worked well for that and was somewhat neutral (doesn't have to be completely neutral like dedicated studio monitors). I listen to a very wide range of music, which I know isn't an ideal piece of information... If I had to narrow it down, I'd say a lot of electronic music (house, trance, drum and base, etc.) and rock. I like my bass, though not to the point where it sinks everything else.

The space I'll be using them in is somewhat of an acoustic nightmare. It's a finished, L-shaped (give or take a few nooks), basement (with granite floors)- 1100 square feet, very open. My work station sits right at the top of the "L".

One more thing I'd like to mention as a criteria is that I often have people over and would like for the system to fill the space out nicely. They're hardly audiophiles, the people I have over, but still would be nice to have something decent sounding for when company is over. The current speakers I have get very muddy and distorted when louder.

A nice, sleek design wouldn't hurt either!

Ideally, I wouldn't want to spend more than $700-800.

Some speakers I've looked at are:

-Paradigm Millenia CT (top contender at the moment)
-Bowers & Wilkins MM-1
-Auido Engine A5+ (though reports of lack of bass concern me)