Adcom GFA-555II Now What? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Long story short, a coworker asked me if I wanted to help him make some space in his basement, and asked if I would mind taking some "old stereo equipment off his hands" - So I say sure. The next day he shows up at work with a practically brand new Adcom GFA-555II in the original box!!

So what to do now?

I currently own a Pioneer VSX-60 and wondered if I should preamp the Adcom from it? Or should I go a different route?

This may be a dumb question, but is there any way to simply just hook a cd player to the Adcom, and bypass my pioneer?

Thanks for helping a total Noob-wink.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 08:43 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
You really need to use some sort of pre-amp with that Adcom. I used to have that amp and it was a beast. Sounded good, but I didn't really need it so I sold it. If your Pioneer has pre-outs, hook it up and see how you like it.
post #3 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 10:17 AM

Yes you can hook it up to a cd player if the player has a built in volume control. Or better yet a blu-ray universal player that plays most formats plus streaming netflix etc. But I like having a modern preamp with all the connections and room correction. I have several Adcom amps and love them. As the previous poster said give it a try, if not you can hook it up in a different room. A matching preamp can be had on craigslist or ebay.
post #4 of 10 Old 05-02-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter

Well thank you for posting such quick replies. I guess I have several options after looking into it this morning
• Option 1- Use the Zone 2 pre-amp feature from my VSX-60
• Option 2- Try going directly from my Sony BDPS380 ( I think it has a volume control on it )
• Option 3- Find an independent preamp to use.

Again thanks for all the help!